$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS
Jul 25, 2009

excellent hotel.

THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN AND ATTRACTIVE, AND THE UNION SQUARE LOCATION WAS EXCELLENT FOR SHOPPING AND ACCESSING THE FANTASTIC PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION OPTIONS. OVERALL A GREAT PLACE AND A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. A RECURRING ARTIST'S MARKET AND LIVE MUSIC IN UNION SQUARE WERE BONUSES. THE MAIN IMPROVEMENTS WOULD BE BETTER SOUNDPROOFING OF ROOMS(WHICH MAY NOT BE POSSIBLE) AND REDUCING THE COST OF THE IN ROOM REFRIGERATOR ITEMS, WHICH WOULD ENCOURAGE THEIR PURCHASE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kool Dude
Business
Hawaii
Jul 23, 2009

Classic

Historic place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants near by

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shawn&Alison
Business
Toronto, ON
Jul 22, 2009

My San Francisco Vacation

The Hotel offered everything that we needed and more during our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which is nice when you're so far away from home. What a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you take a while away from the "tourist activities" just to walk around town... be it around the block from the hotel or all around the Bay area, you'll find some really great places to eat. We found some restaurants along the fishermans wharf to be very nice in the evening, and only a half hour walk or 15 minute cable car ride up the road.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 21, 2009

My Birthday away from Home

After reading the hotel reviews first, I selected the St. Francis, I was not disappointed the view was excellent, the staff was great, except for the conceigers. I do think that Orbitz should not allow them to book out of town travellers with a room without a view and then pay extra for a room with a view, but other than that, I will always stay at the Western, St. Francis, when visiting San Fransico,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the doormen, about places to eat, and what methods are available for travel cheaply to the sites that you want to see. If you are there more than one day, get the three day pass.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristinopio
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Awesome location

I really liked the hotel. Everybody treated us excellent and the location allowed us to go walking to many tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory at the top of the Macys.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunuck
Business
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Jul 20, 2009

SF Weekend

The Westin St. Francis is in a great location, right across the street from Union Square and the cable car stop. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. [...] at the from desk was great to deal with. We arrived early and he was able to accommodate us and even recommended a restaurant where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. We will definitely stay at the Westin on our next SF trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to the Best
Business
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Jul 20, 2009

A Long-time Favorite

I have stayed at this hotel before and it consistently offers an exquisite level of quality and service. Staff are courteous and responsive and follow through promptly on every request. This is one hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend. If you want the whole package - beautiful architecture, well-appointed rooms, and an unfailing commitment to service - this is the place to stay. I particularly love the "workout rooms" which offer a stationary bike, weights, core ball, yoga mat, and DVD player as well as a Yoga/Pilates DVD, a yoga handbook, and other healthy living resources. It was great to continue my workout routine without having to leave my room yet still have access if desired to the first-class fitness facilities on premises. My only negative feedback is: - the hallways on our floor were quite chilly. IF the hotel is doing this as part of a "green" campaign, that's OK as long as they disclose it up front and suggest that guests be prepared for a brisk walk from elevator to room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss breakfast at Sear's Fine Food - another legend in San Francisco, one block away from the hotel. Arrive before 8 am to avoid the inevitable lines that form in front of the restaurant. Also try Kuleto's Italian Restaurant - their bread basket and olive oil are stand outs, the chef is very adept and the menu items we sampled were delicious. We were so delighted with our first lunch there that we made it a point to return the night before our departure! Don't forget to make reservations - they fill up quickly!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EUREKA CA
Jul 20, 2009

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

WE STAYED IN THE ORIGINAL PART OF THE HOTEL.THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL,BUT THE HOTEL IS WONDERFUL.IF YOU'RE GOING TO SAN FRANCISCO TO SHOP THEN YOU CANT BEAT THIS LOCATION.THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND EXTREMELY HELPFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS IS A VERY GOOD TIME TO VISIT.ALL THE STORES ARE HAVING HUGE SALES.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeSport
Business
Glendale AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Absolutely superb!

Great location, we got a complimentary room upgrade as we stayed for a week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The views from the 30th floor are stunning! The concierge staff were excellent, so helpful, personable and very friendly. Their advice,service and suggestions were excellent. Definite stay again when we go back to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restautants to choose from, we need to go back to check out the rest!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael and Christine from La Quinta
Business
La Quinta, Ca.
Jul 17, 2009

Four Fantastic Days

The St Francis is the place to be! Literally steps from Union Square where the music, art, food, and libations are coupled with a socially and ethnically diverse mix creating an exciting stimulating environment. We caught the Cable Cars from the front door of the St Francis to The Warf, North Beach, and to the Embarcadero allowing us to get a taste of the flavors of many of the small neighborhoods revealing distinct personalities for each respectively. We used Bart (3 blocks from hotel) to get to and from the SF airport and also took a trip to Berkley for a wonderful dinner one evening. The location, the ambiance, the historical significance, the comfort, and the customer service is what makes the Westin St. Francis my top choice when I am visiting the city. One of the best experiences of my life. Michael Madruga La Quinta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where walking shoes and carry a cover-up.

Back to menu Return to top