$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensbury, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel and terrific location

A terrific hotel in a great location; I would stay here again and recommend to others, but two quibbles: 1. If you elect to go 'green', maid service does not enter your room, so no clean towels, no emptied waste baskets, and no more coffee packets and cups for the in-room coffee maker. I reverted. 2. The minibar fridge has automatic sensors (or so they told me) that register charges if the contents are disturbed. We kept our own water and soda in the fridge and were surprised by a $120 charge upon checkout. Upon explanation these charges were immediately reversed without the slightest hassle. As an aside - the price of a 12-oz can of soda from the minibar is $9.10 - not a quibble in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm reluctant to label this 'Recreation Attraction' but for a rare enjoyable experience attend a Sunday service at the Glide Memorial Methodist Church. It's a bit of a contrast to a solemn Catholic mass.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cristobal414
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Relaxing

It was a mini vacation to get away from reality. It was nice to be in the city. The hotel was in a great location, near everything and everywhere I needed to go. The hotel disappointed me in its cleanliness and size. The walls had noticeable stains. Our morning was interrupted by our neighbors' loud conversations. The bathroom needed more toiletry such as lotion. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful Hotel, B+ Stay

The Location is Great. If you are coming to tour the City, it couldn't be better. The hotel is a beautiful historic building. If you are a shopper, you've arrived at the pearly gates. From dinning to sight seeing, nightlife to shopping, you couldn't be in a better location than Union Square. My only disclaimer is my experience at check-in. Cheap tickets did not offer the option of choosing 2 queen size beds in the room; instead offering only a king. Traveling with a friend, this wasn't going to work. At check in i had to pay extra for this option. Not to worry though, i was told that i would also be upgraded to the 18th floor (a room with an amazing view.) Turns out, the woman at the front desk thought "amazing" would be the best word to describe the side of a brick building. If things couldn't be more inconvenient, i was charged an additional upgrade fee that i had to call in to the accounting department to have removed. Long story short, stay above the 18th floor if you want a view. Other than that it was a memorable experience and i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't dined at Millennium, i highly suggest it.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Aug 15, 2009

Great hotel for San Francisco vacation!

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hotel location was great for getting around-close to public transportation and great shopping. The hotel staff was very nice. We never had to take a cab. The bus system is amazing and BART is just 3 blocks away. My only complaint was having to pay for extras like internet use, the fitness center, and even the in-room coffee (second cup).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop designer styles this is the place to be. Lots of individual stores and a mall is 3 blocks away. Don't walk alone at night...it's a bit scary.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

BEAUTIFUL HISTORY

I STAYED IN THE ODL PART OF THE HOTEL, THE ROOM IS BIG AND COMFORTABLE, BUT OLD. I WANTED TO STAY THER FOR THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND BECAUSE OF THE TRADITION OF THIS HOTEL. THE ONLY THING I DIDN?T LIKE IS THAT WE RENTED A CAR AND THE PARKING IN THE HOTEL WAS ALLMOST $50.OO DLLS PER DAY. WE COULDN?T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
Dec 27, 2010

Very alive in perfect location,

Very nice helpful staff,totally enjoyed my christmas weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Back to menu Return to top