$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 3, 2008

very elegent hotel

the st francis was one of the nicest experiences i've ever had. the staff were extremely helpful with any of my questions or concerns. the location was great, in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lory M
Business
Spokane, WA
Jul 16, 2009

Great location, service and beauty!

This beautiful landmark hotel offered everything my husband and I could have imagined. One of the buildings left standing after the 1906 earthquake it is gorgeous! Queen Elizabeth, President Ronald Reagan, Eleanor Roosevelt, and many other famous people have stayed at this beautiful hotel and we felt among them. Friendly, courteous staff provided great service from providing us with a map and directions to locations we wanted to visit, the doorman taking our picture, or holding our bags after checkout until we left for the airport ~ service was great! The Union Square location was awesome - live music, plenty of sitting area for "people watching", public transportation right outside the door, and close to many great restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just engaged
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect for two!

We had a wonderful time. Our trip was very quick and the hotel was very accommadating. The hotel was in a perfect location to be able to walk everywhere, whether it was dining or shopping. I will definitely be reccomending the hotel to my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Dolce Vita
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 25, 2009

San Francisco Adventure

It was absolutely amazing. The room was wonderful and the view priceless. I will definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clift Hotel for drinks, it's just down the road within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heart in SF
Business
Seattle WA
Nov 2, 2009

A fabulous experience

This hotel consistently provides a fabulous getaway in the city. It is very centrally located for take off points around the city. The service is fabulous and the hotel is very clean, quiet and comfortable. There are incredible city views on the higher floors. The duvets and showers are very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna Gene
Business
Kansas City
Nov 22, 2009

The Westin St. Francis was great

The hotel was great, we did upgrade to the new tower with a veiw (which I would recommended it was 27 extra dollars per night but well worth it) There was some remodling going on but it did not bother us at all. The hotel concierge's were wonderful they helped us out even two nights when we didn't know what we wanted to do at all. They sent us to this place just around the corner called Biscuits and Blues the food and show were both great. You could catch the cable cars right outside the front door. For 11.00 (one pass) you could ride most of the different transportation all day to many of the attractions. For 22 dollars we took one day on a sight seeing tour bus that you could get on and off the busses. They ran every 40 min. and went to all the main attractions including The Golden Gate Bridge.The parking fee at the hotel was ridicules it was 50 dollars per night. We caught the shuttle to and from the airport and rented a car for one day to drive down the coast hwy 1 (this is a must there is a car rental located in the hotel). We drove to Monterey and went to the aquarium. We then continued down the coast to Carmel, we took hwy.101 back just in time to turn in the rental car. We also took a boat to Sausalito Island lots of shopping (very over price)but fun. The best meal we had was on the Island. But all the food on the trip was good over all. [...] And we would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferrygate
Business
North Berwick, East Lothian
Jul 30, 2010

Great Location

This beautiful hotel was recomended to us and didn't disappoint. The location was fab, the staff were very helpful and our room in the old part or the hotel overlooked Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fivolks
Business
San Marino, CA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Luxury Hotel!

The Westin St Francis is a great hotel overlooking Union Square! We arrived at 10 am for a one night stay and were immediately upgraded and given a West city view room on the 14th floor in the tower. The total cost including taxes of just under $200 seemed very fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneintheMoon
Business
Charlottesville, Va
Jun 10, 2012

Simply the Best...

Wonderful historic hotel refurshed in keeping with its previous splendor. Fantastic staff; we felt genuinely welcomed. If you can get a good price, stay here! Even if you stay in at night, the digs are sumptuous... If ever again I'm west, I'd want to stay at this at this great, great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Jean Paul Gaultier show at the De Young museum is an absolute mindblower and has just been extened! Just do it if you are at all near SF. A must see... with a twist! Urban Curry, near City Lights Bookstore, has great cheap food... and lots of it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top