$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
372 reviews
Perfect Location!!

Great Stay in the heart of San Francisco. Hotel staff were friendly and rooms were very modern in... See full review

  • Christopher Travel Extrod
  • Sep 10, 2014
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Aug 14, 2009

Great hotel!

I was traveling by myself for a conference and found this hotel to be quiet, clean and safe. It's in a great location -- Central Union Square surrounded by shops, restaurants, and 3 blocks from the BART. My room was small for a family but the perfect size for me. I got in super early because I flew from the East Coast and they let me check into my room at 11am (even though check in was at 3pm). They also held my bag the day I left since my flight didn't leave until the evening. The concierge was extremely helpful in giving me maps and making plans to walk around the entire city. Excellent service by the hotel and front desk staff. I wish I could've had access to wireless and the gym for free instead of having to pay fees for both (which I chose not to do). Other hotels (i.e., the Hilton) allow free internet access for conference attendees. Despite this, overall, it was a great stay and I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanfranyay
minneapolis, mn
Aug 14, 2009

Big hotel; just want we needed

we were going on our honeymoon. we arrived late and since it was a busy night our reserved room was not available so they gave us a similar room but with a nice corner view on the 27th floor! the only draw back was that the bed was a pull down (still with the "heavenly" mattress. in the morning we called to ask if brkfst was included and they said that it wasn't but that they could send me two coupons anyways. the coupons covered our buffet brkfst at "the oak room". it was delicious! we even took some for the road. when we came back from touring, they had changed us to another room with a king sized bed! It is also located across from one of the main cable car rails. great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a FANTASTIC sushi restaurant half a block from the hotel (on the east side). it is called "the sushi boat". it has amazing sushi and the prices are very low. we paid $14 for 8 delicious rolls. order the "lion king rolls" they will make your day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Sign of the times

I have stayed and enjoyed Westins from Melbourne, Australia to San Francisco; Victoria, Canada to Palm Springs. This was the first time I felt "slippage" in the chain. Is it a sign of the times or unique to the Westin St. Francis? A lovely hotel but light on in-room amenities - the little things I've become accustomed to. No paper and pen, no q-tips, cotton balls or shower cap to name a few. Over a 4 night stay, housekeeping replinished coffee and coffee supplies twice and only left the two of us with one bath towel. All-in-all it just wasn't the Westin experience I expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy All the galleries on Geary Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
offal
Chicago
Aug 12, 2009

Nice Lobby -- Not So Nice Room

The lobby was quite lovely, but the room was small, kind of dingy, loud, and claustrophobic. Also, the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything -- internet, computer use, printing, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Square is a mass of people and tourist traps -- it is worth walking, in just about any direction, a few blocks to find a more SF-esque experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cresskill NJ
Aug 12, 2009

wonderful experience

Everything was perfect-we were able to check into our room early and that was wonderful because my wife has RA and the flight from NJ was tiring. Staff was beyond accommodating and so friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and had real charm. Loved every minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable Location

Liked everything about hotel but was disappointed when upon check-in, I was told that my 5 nights stay at the Westin St. Francis were not eligible for Starwood points since I booked the hotel through Orbitz, a third party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Poor Management

If the Westin St. Francis is "renowned for their legendary service" this must mean legendarily poor service. We booked our room at the Westin St. Francis and HAD ALREADY PAID FOR IT through Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel they told us that Orbitz cancelled our reservation and they didn't have a room for us! We had just flown into San Francisco and didn't have a flight out for 3 more days. We were desperate as the city was full and asked if they could please find us a room. They gave us a room but said we were responsible for payment to them directly at 3 times the rate we already paid through Orbitz. I didn't worry as I thought one phone call to Orbitz would straighten out the problem and the hotel would surely not charge us a second time for the room we already paid for. NO SUCH LUCK. I called Orbitz right away and talked to a supervisor who said he would look into the matter and call me back the next day. He never did. I called back two times trying to reach him and nobody would transfer me to him and he still never called back. On the last night of our stay, the Westin St. Francis automatically charged our credit card for the stay at 3 TIMES the rate we had already paid. After FIVE phone calls to Orbitz and a combined total of 2-1/2 hours of my vacation spent on the phone with them, a supervisor told me that the hotel cancelled our room but never advised Orbitz about it and now refused to honor our original reservation that was already paid for. Orbitz told us there was nothing they could do about it. Orbitz best offer was that they would reimburse us what we already paid them for the hotel and half the difference of what the hotel rate should have been and what we actually paid, so the hotel ended up costing DOUBLE what we had orginally agreed to when we booked our trip. And Orbitz has not reimbursed us anything yet, so right now, we have paid FOUR times what we agreed to. We called the manager at the hotel that Orbitz said they talked to in order to try to sort things out on that end. The front desk said he was helping a customer and would call us back. He never did return our call. On the second day of our stay, the water in all the faucets in our room was dark brown for a few hours. We couldn't even use the facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price we ended up paying was definitely not worth it. The person at the Registration Desk was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The only good service was from the housekeeping staff who were exceptional. I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. They should have held their "partner" hotel to their agreement. It was certainly not our fault about the lack of communication between the hotel and Orbitz, but the bill fell in our lap anyway and neither the hotel nor Orbiz sees the injustice in that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Dreamin' PCH-1 Traveler
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Driving up PCH-1 Vacation

The hotel was generally good, but it was completely a business-professional hub. I would not recommend it to anyone vacationing who is looking for quaint boutique hotel. It was too big, too busy, and not enough for the price that we paid for our one night stay. The hotel (though historical) is very big and the room finishes, although upscale, were bland and almost depressing, especially since we were in a room with a view of a brick wall (there are a lot of rooms with such views, so beware). It's in a good location if you want to do a lot of shopping but a bit far from the Fisherman's Wharf, and the diniing/lounges. Their parking is horrendously expensive -- $50 per night! However, the parking manager was very nice when he saw my New Yorker eyes fall out of face due to the price and gave me a discount at their sister garage up the street for $30 a night rate. Even in New York you don't get such ridiculously high rates. We had just come off of a stint of cozy Inns that we stayed at through our drive on PCH-1, so we were disappointed at the "commercial" aspect of the hotel, but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners2009
Colorado
Aug 9, 2009

Fantastic Honeymoon in a great location!

The Westin St. Francis was a great hotel if you want to stay in the heart of San Francisco! It was close to BART and great restaurants and shopping. The people at the hotel were very friendly. The smaller rooms in the older section of the hotel were very charming but adequate in size for the stay...it was a great experience and if I ever get back there I will for sure stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here eat at Lefty O'Douls...it is great food for a cheaper price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Aug 7, 2009

Great location

Excellent location great staff, just need more power points to charge camera phone etc otherwise very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top