$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 27, 2009

Location, location

We had previously lived in the Bay Area for fourteen years, and this was our first extended visit back to the area in 9 years. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect for shopping trips, short excursions outside the immediate area, and for dining. Friends staying at the hotel walked to Chinatown, Japantown, the Wharf and to the Embarcadero. Location is everything when visiting this great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2009

All class

This historic hotel is truly something special. The gorgeous lobby and attentive staff really raise your expectations, the room and amenities meet them completely. Our room was spotless, the bed sooo comfortable, and the restaurants exceptional. My only complaint would be the thin walls. We were staying in the older part of the hotel and woke to the sound of our neighbors televisions as well as the closing of doors every morning. Overall we had a wonderful time and will definitely look for a room at the St Francis next time we're in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Dolce Vita
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 25, 2009

San Francisco Adventure

It was absolutely amazing. The room was wonderful and the view priceless. I will definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clift Hotel for drinks, it's just down the road within walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Dolce Vita
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 25, 2009

San Francisco Adventure

It was absolutely amazing. The room was wonderful and the view priceless. I will definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clift Hotel for drinks, it's just down the road within walking distance.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was beautiful and wonderfully located in the center of San Francisco. We walked pretty much everywhere we needed to go or rented a taxi which were plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, Fl
Aug 23, 2009

Fabulous Hotel, fabulous location

this hotel was in a great location...shopping galore, good restaurants, cable cars, easily accessible. The concierge was wonderful in giving city information and driving directions. The coffee and danish bar in the hotel was great. One problem was, we had booked two rooms, one with 2 double beds and one with a queen or king size bed. We got 2 rooms with 2 double beds. The hotel was booked so we could not change. That was the only downer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler connosiuer
Business
LA
Aug 23, 2009

awesome location!

This place is in a great location (Union square),near reliable transportation and tourist friendly. I would definitly be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love department store shopping, then this is the place. There's a Macys, Neiman Marcus,and Saks fifth right across the hotel.Not to mention a huge mall just 3 small blocks away.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco first-timer
Business
Chesterfield, VA
Aug 23, 2009

Great price, great room..eventually

This is a lovely old hotel. After visiting the room in the "historic" building that we had been assigned (which was the size of half a postage stamp and right next to the elevator shaft), the very friendly desk clerk offered us a room in the more modern "tower" section. This room was 3 times larger and more comfortable but.....on the weekend and at least one weeknight local musicians gathered to play loudly on the sidewalk until after 1 a.m. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, the accommodations were adequate and a great value for the price.With the help of the WONDERFUL concierge, [...], we were able to get fantastic tickets to "Wicked" at the Orpheum Theatre, 2 excursions:one to Yosemite National Park and one to Monterey and Carmel and City Passes (well worth the money!). He also arranged a table at Michael Mina's restaurant in the hotel. Hotel guests are offered a special pre-fixe menu and, even at half-price, it was a disappointment. Service at the St. Francis was friendly and excellent. It is located in Union Square, a district downtown with fabulous shopping and accessible to streetcars, buses and BOTH cablecar lines. We were able to get anywhere we wanted to go by walking or using the public transportation system and it was free for 7 days thanks to our City Passes. This was our first trip to the West Coast and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Max's for any meal. Service is great and the food is too! If you are looking for normal portion size and fair prices, avoid Michael Mina's at the St. Francis. Teeny tiny "gourmet" portions at inflated prices.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 23, 2009

Wonderful Westin

This is a wonderful hotel in San Francisco. It was a perfect location of the attractions we wanted to visit. It's a couple of blocks from the cable car turntable to catch a cable car to Fisherman's Wharf, a full stroll to a great lunch in Russian Hill, or a easy walk to the Ferry Building Plaza's Farmer's Market. Would stay here again in a minute. Only complaint is the hotel was noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top