$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
376 reviews
WONDERFUL!

A first class operation all around. Great location. Great service. Great hotel. Best value. Thank... See full review

  • EDWARD K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Oak Room Restaurant
Enjoy a full menu of American favorites at the Oak Room Restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Oak Room offers tasty à la carte delights, a sumptuous buffet, Westin Kids Club items, and healthy SuperFoodsRx™ options.
BOURBON STEAK
A modern American steakhouse situated in our celebrated landmark lobby, BOURBON STEAK offers fresh, contemporary cuisine with a focus on organic, hormone-free beef, just-caught seafood, and seasonal West Coast ingredients.
Caruso's
Caruso’s offers specialty coffee drinks, homemade pastries, wines by the glass, panini sandwiches, salads and a full bar. Located in the Tower lobby, this is a great place for casual dining, an afternoon snack or quick bite with the family.
Clock Bar
Created by Michelin chef Michael Mina, Clock Bar takes the cocktail lounge concept to heady new heights. Savor handcrafted cocktails, gourmet finger foods, sumptuous entrées, and sample vintages from our 300-label wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 15, 2009

SF

it was great. early checkin was nice too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 15, 2009

Great location near everything in SF

The Saint Francis is close to all the places we wanted to see-China Town, Nob Hill, the wharf. And it was very accessible to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Muni down to the Ferry Building; lots of great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent Stay As Always

As I travel to the San Francisco bay area often for business, it is always comforting to have a hotel as great as the Westin St. Francis to stay. Very nice hotel, great restaurant, great location. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Sign of the times

I have stayed and enjoyed Westins from Melbourne, Australia to San Francisco; Victoria, Canada to Palm Springs. This was the first time I felt "slippage" in the chain. Is it a sign of the times or unique to the Westin St. Francis? A lovely hotel but light on in-room amenities - the little things I've become accustomed to. No paper and pen, no q-tips, cotton balls or shower cap to name a few. Over a 4 night stay, housekeeping replinished coffee and coffee supplies twice and only left the two of us with one bath towel. All-in-all it just wasn't the Westin experience I expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy All the galleries on Geary Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanfranyay
Business
minneapolis, mn
Aug 14, 2009

Big hotel; just want we needed

we were going on our honeymoon. we arrived late and since it was a busy night our reserved room was not available so they gave us a similar room but with a nice corner view on the 27th floor! the only draw back was that the bed was a pull down (still with the "heavenly" mattress. in the morning we called to ask if brkfst was included and they said that it wasn't but that they could send me two coupons anyways. the coupons covered our buffet brkfst at "the oak room". it was delicious! we even took some for the road. when we came back from touring, they had changed us to another room with a king sized bed! It is also located across from one of the main cable car rails. great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a FANTASTIC sushi restaurant half a block from the hotel (on the east side). it is called "the sushi boat". it has amazing sushi and the prices are very low. we paid $14 for 8 delicious rolls. order the "lion king rolls" they will make your day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 14, 2009

Great tourist town

Cheerful, friendly staff MINORITIES AT FRONT DESK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 14, 2009

Great hotel!

I was traveling by myself for a conference and found this hotel to be quiet, clean and safe. It's in a great location -- Central Union Square surrounded by shops, restaurants, and 3 blocks from the BART. My room was small for a family but the perfect size for me. I got in super early because I flew from the East Coast and they let me check into my room at 11am (even though check in was at 3pm). They also held my bag the day I left since my flight didn't leave until the evening. The concierge was extremely helpful in giving me maps and making plans to walk around the entire city. Excellent service by the hotel and front desk staff. I wish I could've had access to wireless and the gym for free instead of having to pay fees for both (which I chose not to do). Other hotels (i.e., the Hilton) allow free internet access for conference attendees. Despite this, overall, it was a great stay and I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cresskill NJ
Aug 12, 2009

wonderful experience

Everything was perfect-we were able to check into our room early and that was wonderful because my wife has RA and the flight from NJ was tiring. Staff was beyond accommodating and so friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and had real charm. Loved every minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
offal
Business
Chicago
Aug 12, 2009

Nice Lobby -- Not So Nice Room

The lobby was quite lovely, but the room was small, kind of dingy, loud, and claustrophobic. Also, the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything -- internet, computer use, printing, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Square is a mass of people and tourist traps -- it is worth walking, in just about any direction, a few blocks to find a more SF-esque experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable Location

Liked everything about hotel but was disappointed when upon check-in, I was told that my 5 nights stay at the Westin St. Francis were not eligible for Starwood points since I booked the hotel through Orbitz, a third party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top