$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 16, 2011

valentine

great room and service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 15, 2009

SF

it was great. early checkin was nice too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

union square

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanfranyay
Business
minneapolis, mn
Aug 14, 2009

Big hotel; just want we needed

we were going on our honeymoon. we arrived late and since it was a busy night our reserved room was not available so they gave us a similar room but with a nice corner view on the 27th floor! the only draw back was that the bed was a pull down (still with the "heavenly" mattress. in the morning we called to ask if brkfst was included and they said that it wasn't but that they could send me two coupons anyways. the coupons covered our buffet brkfst at "the oak room". it was delicious! we even took some for the road. when we came back from touring, they had changed us to another room with a king sized bed! It is also located across from one of the main cable car rails. great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a FANTASTIC sushi restaurant half a block from the hotel (on the east side). it is called "the sushi boat". it has amazing sushi and the prices are very low. we paid $14 for 8 delicious rolls. order the "lion king rolls" they will make your day!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grayson, GA
Jan 19, 2010

San Francisco, CA

We only slept at the hotel. We found it very nice and had a nice stay. The only problem was hearning the elevator, which sounded like thunder. We were there very little in the day time, and therefore did not find the noise a great problem as it occurred less at night than during the day. It did not keep us awake, or even make too much sound when watching TV, but it was not something we really liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase of the City Pass was a good idea. The trolley and the cable car were the main transportation and the Pass saved a bunch of money.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 15, 2009

Great location near everything in SF

The Saint Francis is close to all the places we wanted to see-China Town, Nob Hill, the wharf. And it was very accessible to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Muni down to the Ferry Building; lots of great restaurants.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Jul 30, 2009

Great location

This was a nice location within walking distance to many sites and restaurants. The rooms were nice but small. The concierge and front desk staff were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Culibre was recommended by the concierge and was an excellent choice.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Joe
Dec 19, 2008

Beautiful Hotel

the St. Francis speaks for itself. Situated in Union Square makes it the best location to be in San Francisco. The staff is friendly, professional. everything is top shelf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the Union Square shops and restaurants are wonderful

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 14, 2009

Great hotel!

I was traveling by myself for a conference and found this hotel to be quiet, clean and safe. It's in a great location -- Central Union Square surrounded by shops, restaurants, and 3 blocks from the BART. My room was small for a family but the perfect size for me. I got in super early because I flew from the East Coast and they let me check into my room at 11am (even though check in was at 3pm). They also held my bag the day I left since my flight didn't leave until the evening. The concierge was extremely helpful in giving me maps and making plans to walk around the entire city. Excellent service by the hotel and front desk staff. I wish I could've had access to wireless and the gym for free instead of having to pay fees for both (which I chose not to do). Other hotels (i.e., the Hilton) allow free internet access for conference attendees. Despite this, overall, it was a great stay and I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 19, 2010

A Special Place

My wife and I spent a week exploring San Francisco and the surrounding bay area. We found the Westin St. Francis to be an ideally situated home base from which to explore. Union square is a short walk/MUNI/cab ride from almost every major attraction in the city which is a real plus. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful with the excellent signature and trendy Michael Mina restaurant and clock cocktail lounge. We had bruch at the signature and it was excellent with great service. The rooms are smaller but clean with HD tvs, complimentary Starbucks coffee and a mini fridge for purchasing overpriced beverages of all kinds! The only major problem we had was a neighbor who smoked intermittently for a couple days straight. The smaller rooms have a connecting door and the smoke went right under the door and into our room. We called security our first night and they stopped it but our neighbors continued to disrespect us so I went down and complained in person. The concierge handled the situation professionally and appropriately and immediately offered us an upgrade to the top floor with a nice view of union square. The concierge also helped us with renting a car and suggested some nice places/shows to see. He was really top notch. The only other minor hiccups we had were that they didn't answer the phone when we dialed zero one night and there is no microwave minifridge which would have helped save some cash (but I suppose they aren't in the business of saving me cash!). It was an excellent stay overall and I would give 4.5 stars if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a MUNI pass! This will save you money on cab fare.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Chick
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2010

Enjoyed immensely

Loved the city. Would definitely go back. The Westin St. Francis was a grand old hotel steeped in history and located centrally. The front desk and conscierge staff (especially [...]!) were friendly and efficient, very helpful. The cleaning staff were friendly, but often did not take dirty glasses, did not leave clean ones, didn't replenish coffee or tea products, and never left enough towels. Otherwise, great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top