$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Frequent Traveler
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 22, 2009

Great location, small room, okay service

This is a great location and most of people I interacted with were quite nice. However, my experience was not the best. When I arrived, the room was incredibly small, but it had a small wing chair & coffee maker. There was garbage in both trash cans, the soap dish was dirty with used soap and toilet paper roll was not folded (ie used). I was concerned whether the sheets had been changed so I called. They first stated that the previous visitor must have returned to the room after they had cleaned the room. But when I told them I my concern was whether the sheets had been changed they stated they had other rooms if I wanted a new room and to come down. At the reception desk there was no apology, the person was quite curt and I didn't think it was possible, but they actually gave me a smaller room. It was so small that the coffee maker was in the closet and no wing chair. I was incredibly insulted! I went to dinner and tried to cool off but after a few hours I was still really angry and asked to speak to the reception Manager. He was very nice, but, He did tell me the room was actually within the same class as the 1st room. I went away even more angry. About 20 minutes later the Manager had written a very nice card and sent up some wine, water, with a fruit & Cheese plate. It is a beautiful hotel and a great location for restaurants, shopping and park. Parking costs about $56 with taxes per night and internet connection starts at 14.95 per 24 hours, but is 19.95 for the faster connection. My understanding is there is also a charge for the workout room as well. However, the literature did state it would deliver workout equipment to your room - not sure how much that would cost. Lastly, you will not get any Starwood points for any expense items if you book your room on Orbits. This is a very nice hotel, quite beautiful, but there are a lot of hotels in the area and I like hotels that offer some services that don't cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, Ab
Aug 21, 2009

Greta location, great stay!

The hotel was great in every way except it would have been nice to have a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitchenbabe
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Lovely

What a lovely venue. We spent 5 nights in a beautiful room with amazing details. Union Square is right outside the door everything else seems to be in walking distance. The staff was accommodating when I was unhappy with the first room we were given. The old part of the hotel is where you want to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coto De Caza, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Great hotel - terrible staff

Staff was rude at check in. Valet staff was rude when leaving. Too bad, it's a great hotel, a world class place to stay but the people just aren't friendly. You would think they would be with the state of our economy. For the $200 and $50 per night in parking, I'll stay at the Hyatt, Fisherman's Wharf next time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellsmom
Business
Carson City, NV
Aug 19, 2009

Lesiure trip

Just didn't seem too safe to go out after dark if you're single.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The BART train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 18, 2009

Old World Class, lots of updates !!!

They are still remodeling, but not a problem, central to everything, Union Square, lots to do, Sears, a super great restaurant just up the street. This was one of my best vacations, first trip to San Francisco ! A must visit for breakfast, Lorrie's Diner, near by ! Even the cab drivers were friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to see the different structures of San Francisco walk to the Wharf. It is a hike, but you can see so much when you walk, also Chinatown is real close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great location!!

This was my first time to California. This was a great hotel--the perfect location. Cable car stop right outside the door and in the middle of everything. Great restaurants and shops in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Cable car passport that allows unlimited use of cable cars, buses and other public transportation options. Too congested to drive, as well as expensive. Parking fees for hotel close to 50 dollars a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 17, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with grown up kids
Business
washington DC
Aug 16, 2009

Great Location

Excellent location. Great staff. Concierge was knowledgeable and had excellent suggestions that made our experience more memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Aug 15, 2009

Great hotel for San Francisco vacation!

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hotel location was great for getting around-close to public transportation and great shopping. The hotel staff was very nice. We never had to take a cab. The bus system is amazing and BART is just 3 blocks away. My only complaint was having to pay for extras like internet use, the fitness center, and even the in-room coffee (second cup).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop designer styles this is the place to be. Lots of individual stores and a mall is 3 blocks away. Don't walk alone at night...it's a bit scary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top