$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Couples
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitchenbabe
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Lovely

What a lovely venue. We spent 5 nights in a beautiful room with amazing details. Union Square is right outside the door everything else seems to be in walking distance. The staff was accommodating when I was unhappy with the first room we were given. The old part of the hotel is where you want to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Coto De Caza, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Great hotel - terrible staff

Staff was rude at check in. Valet staff was rude when leaving. Too bad, it's a great hotel, a world class place to stay but the people just aren't friendly. You would think they would be with the state of our economy. For the $200 and $50 per night in parking, I'll stay at the Hyatt, Fisherman's Wharf next time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellsmom
Single
Carson City, NV
Aug 19, 2009

Lesiure trip

Just didn't seem too safe to go out after dark if you're single.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The BART train.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ohio
Aug 18, 2009

Old World Class, lots of updates !!!

They are still remodeling, but not a problem, central to everything, Union Square, lots to do, Sears, a super great restaurant just up the street. This was one of my best vacations, first trip to San Francisco ! A must visit for breakfast, Lorrie's Diner, near by ! Even the cab drivers were friendly !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to see the different structures of San Francisco walk to the Wharf. It is a hike, but you can see so much when you walk, also Chinatown is real close!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bronx, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great location!!

This was my first time to California. This was a great hotel--the perfect location. Cable car stop right outside the door and in the middle of everything. Great restaurants and shops in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Cable car passport that allows unlimited use of cable cars, buses and other public transportation options. Too congested to drive, as well as expensive. Parking fees for hotel close to 50 dollars a day.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NY
Aug 17, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family with grown up kids
Family
washington DC
Aug 16, 2009

Great Location

Excellent location. Great staff. Concierge was knowledgeable and had excellent suggestions that made our experience more memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Aug 15, 2009

SF

it was great. early checkin was nice too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

union square

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Spokane, WA
Aug 15, 2009

Great location near everything in SF

The Saint Francis is close to all the places we wanted to see-China Town, Nob Hill, the wharf. And it was very accessible to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Muni down to the Ferry Building; lots of great restaurants.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent Stay As Always

As I travel to the San Francisco bay area often for business, it is always comforting to have a hotel as great as the Westin St. Francis to stay. Very nice hotel, great restaurant, great location. You can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top