$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Dimas
Oct 6, 2009

Had a great time

Had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orley
Business
Moscow
Sep 27, 2009

Westin St Francis, wonderful

Other than being surprised by the rather exciting elevator, it was first class all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the hip on, hop off pass through Orbitz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Known property - bad accomodations!

Very small room, it felt like we were stack in the closet. The first room had an elevator shaft behind us and then after we complained they gave us the street view. Also with the view and sound of the major band. It did not stop playing until 10pm. It is very difficult to get a hold of someone at the front desk, they are just too busy to answer or to listen to the complains. Generally, we were told that we've got what we paid for, in the words of the front desk manager. We will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Recent Traveler Norma
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 14, 2009

A Legendary Hotel

The hotel was outstanding. The staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

the perfect hotel

Very friendly staff. the room was clean and had a beautiful view of the city and union square. The location was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stac-o
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2009

great location

Hotel is in the middle of everything. Great location. Easy to access public transportation. Many tourist attractions within walking distance. Nice clean room, very very tiny, and older so noisy pipes when water is being used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. San Francisco is definitely a walking city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May's 20th Anniversary
Business
Vancouver Wa
Sep 9, 2009

Our 20th Anniversary

Our first night was horrible. We checked in and the hotel was beautiful. They even upgraded our room at no extra cost. After sleeping in the bed we noticed a urine smell that overtook the room. We got up and pulled the mattress pad back and found fresh urine accross the entire king size bed. We were so grossed out. We found the manager and he upgraded us to a new room right away and bought us breakfast. The new room was on the 28th floor and was beautiful but had to repack and unpack and couldnt shake what had JUST OCCURED for a few days. The maid on that floor should be fired! It was a awesome hotel and too bad that had to happen(especially on our 20th anniversay).Otherwise excellent sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Loved Alcatraz and went on a wine tour in nappa. Learned alot about making wine and tasting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trebot
Business
chicago
Sep 8, 2009

Nice, but please, one coffee?

For all the good things, they really skimped on the easy things...with two adults, only one serving of in room coffee, three towels. they begin cleaning rooms way too early, knocking on the door at 8am on a saturday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOJO Traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 8, 2009

Westin St. Francis

This was a great room. The bed was as comfortable as my own which says quite a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking in the Hotel is VERY expensive. Find somewhere else to park as the $49 a night plus tax is a bit over the top.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Very nice hotel

Although the room and bathroom could have been cleaner, the service was friendly, the room was quiet and the bed and bedding were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Public transportation is great in San Francisco - buy a bus pass to get around and ride the trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top