$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Chick
Friends
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2010

Enjoyed immensely

Loved the city. Would definitely go back. The Westin St. Francis was a grand old hotel steeped in history and located centrally. The front desk and conscierge staff (especially [...]!) were friendly and efficient, very helpful. The cleaning staff were friendly, but often did not take dirty glasses, did not leave clean ones, didn't replenish coffee or tea products, and never left enough towels. Otherwise, great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago
Dec 28, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel did not have an airport shuttle. I guess it was my mistake to assume that such a big hotel would definitely have one. There was no one to take the luggage upto the room..it was self service. No newspaper in the morning. The family next door had a verbal fight and I had to listen to their family history for a whole two hours...every single bit...The room was not cleaned on the third day..I had to call room service and they came after an hour to clean up the room in the evening...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even short walk is a long word...you are literally located amongst the shopping world...the hotel is adjoining to union square..

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Montgomery, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was beautiful and wonderfully located in the center of San Francisco. We walked pretty much everywhere we needed to go or rented a taxi which were plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Very Nice!

The weather was perfect so we were glad to be able to have a window open. We had a great view of Union Square, and the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't huge but had a high ceiling and felt very spacious. The decor in the lobby, bar, and restaurant had contemporary touches that didn't detract from the old school classiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you have a lot of luggage, taking the BART train to and from the airport is definitely the way to go.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler connosiuer
Couples
LA
Aug 23, 2009

awesome location!

This place is in a great location (Union square),near reliable transportation and tourist friendly. I would definitly be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love department store shopping, then this is the place. There's a Macys, Neiman Marcus,and Saks fifth right across the hotel.Not to mention a huge mall just 3 small blocks away.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Project Manager
Couples
Houston, TX
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Stay

The location is exceptional , almost a must for any san francisco vistor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been to the Best
Family
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Jul 20, 2009

A Long-time Favorite

I have stayed at this hotel before and it consistently offers an exquisite level of quality and service. Staff are courteous and responsive and follow through promptly on every request. This is one hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend. If you want the whole package - beautiful architecture, well-appointed rooms, and an unfailing commitment to service - this is the place to stay. I particularly love the "workout rooms" which offer a stationary bike, weights, core ball, yoga mat, and DVD player as well as a Yoga/Pilates DVD, a yoga handbook, and other healthy living resources. It was great to continue my workout routine without having to leave my room yet still have access if desired to the first-class fitness facilities on premises. My only negative feedback is: - the hallways on our floor were quite chilly. IF the hotel is doing this as part of a "green" campaign, that's OK as long as they disclose it up front and suggest that guests be prepared for a brisk walk from elevator to room;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss breakfast at Sear's Fine Food - another legend in San Francisco, one block away from the hotel. Arrive before 8 am to avoid the inevitable lines that form in front of the restaurant. Also try Kuleto's Italian Restaurant - their bread basket and olive oil are stand outs, the chef is very adept and the menu items we sampled were delicious. We were so delighted with our first lunch there that we made it a point to return the night before our departure! Don't forget to make reservations - they fill up quickly!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
EUREKA CA
Jul 20, 2009

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

WE STAYED IN THE ORIGINAL PART OF THE HOTEL.THE ROOM WAS VERY SMALL,BUT THE HOTEL IS WONDERFUL.IF YOU'RE GOING TO SAN FRANCISCO TO SHOP THEN YOU CANT BEAT THIS LOCATION.THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND EXTREMELY HELPFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS IS A VERY GOOD TIME TO VISIT.ALL THE STORES ARE HAVING HUGE SALES.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orlando, Fl.
Nov 28, 2009

Nice hotel with expensive amenities

The hotel has a great location and the staff was generally very good. However, they gouge you for amenities, for example, $12 to use the health club, $49 a night for parking, and very expensive restaurants in the hotel. There are no water/soda machines in the building, so you either have to go out nearby or pay through the nose at the in-room refreshment center. The center even has sensors, so that if you want to put your own bottles/food in the refrigerator, it shows that you have used their's and they charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf is a short cab ride, but don't expect to spend less than $10 on any cab ride.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco first-timer
Couples
Chesterfield, VA
Aug 23, 2009

Great price, great room..eventually

This is a lovely old hotel. After visiting the room in the "historic" building that we had been assigned (which was the size of half a postage stamp and right next to the elevator shaft), the very friendly desk clerk offered us a room in the more modern "tower" section. This room was 3 times larger and more comfortable but.....on the weekend and at least one weeknight local musicians gathered to play loudly on the sidewalk until after 1 a.m. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, the accommodations were adequate and a great value for the price.With the help of the WONDERFUL concierge, [...], we were able to get fantastic tickets to "Wicked" at the Orpheum Theatre, 2 excursions:one to Yosemite National Park and one to Monterey and Carmel and City Passes (well worth the money!). He also arranged a table at Michael Mina's restaurant in the hotel. Hotel guests are offered a special pre-fixe menu and, even at half-price, it was a disappointment. Service at the St. Francis was friendly and excellent. It is located in Union Square, a district downtown with fabulous shopping and accessible to streetcars, buses and BOTH cablecar lines. We were able to get anywhere we wanted to go by walking or using the public transportation system and it was free for 7 days thanks to our City Passes. This was our first trip to the West Coast and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Max's for any meal. Service is great and the food is too! If you are looking for normal portion size and fair prices, avoid Michael Mina's at the St. Francis. Teeny tiny "gourmet" portions at inflated prices.

Back to menu Return to top