$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
370 reviews
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TB traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 14, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

This was my first time at this hotel. It was in a great location right on union square and close to the convention center for my business meeting. My only complaints were that the room was on te small side and we had NO view. It looked out on a brick wall which was very disorienting. I would stay here gain but would probably book through the front desk to know better what I am getting. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the hotel was absolutely beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Fang and had a wonderful experience! The owner sat us and then ordered for us. Delicious!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cristobal414
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Relaxing

It was a mini vacation to get away from reality. It was nice to be in the city. The hotel was in a great location, near everything and everywhere I needed to go. The hotel disappointed me in its cleanliness and size. The walls had noticeable stains. Our morning was interrupted by our neighbors' loud conversations. The bathroom needed more toiletry such as lotion. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetMarie
Asheville, NC
May 15, 2009

Fantastic Location

Our trip included attending our son's graduation from CCA. We also included some tourist activities that were of easy access from our location. You are really right in the heart of SF. The service was wonderful and rooms were adequate. We actually got to get an upgrade since our AC was not working in our really small room. The staff was more than happy to upgrade our accommodations with a free breakfast as well. I would hope to stay there again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
Oct 22, 2009

St. Francis Stay

Overall, the rooms were nice, but small. Room service was excellent. The location is ideal for catching transportation, such as the cable car, Muni, bus tours, BART, and lined with taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 8, 2010

great but hate internet charges

Great location need free internet nowdays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitchenbabe
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Lovely

What a lovely venue. We spent 5 nights in a beautiful room with amazing details. Union Square is right outside the door everything else seems to be in walking distance. The staff was accommodating when I was unhappy with the first room we were given. The old part of the hotel is where you want to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indigovic
south carolina
Dec 14, 2012

san francisco

every thing u need in a great hotel EXCEPT, as a swimmer i would have loved to have an indoor pool. The hotel has so much history and interesting artifacts to keep you busy. Food great and the service exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Marin peninsula and Sausalito are a must.Take the drive off of RT 1 as soon as you cross over the Golden gate bridge heading North. Winding road high over the pacific

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Whisperer
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 2, 2012

Always a favorite!

A trip to SF always starts with a reservation being made at the beautiful Westin St Francis, Union Square. Smack dab in the middle of the action, this hotel is exactly where I want to be... located within a stone's throw of amazing shopping, and with Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak downstairs, life is good indeed. The staff is stellar, the hotel top notch and the experience consistently memorable. Definitely worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOJO Traveler
Denver, CO
Sep 8, 2009

Westin St. Francis

This was a great room. The bed was as comfortable as my own which says quite a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking in the Hotel is VERY expensive. Find somewhere else to park as the $49 a night plus tax is a bit over the top.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search