$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bremble
Business
Somersworth, NH
Jan 4, 2010

Great location - price comes with *

I mostly travel for business, so many amenities are included (gym, internet, etc). Everything at the Westin had an additional cost. True - price was cheap compared to other hotels in area - more [...]than Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF CA
Jan 4, 2010

NYE 2009

Nice clean, old style room - small, but comfortable enough for us. Thin walls, though - you can hear everything going on anywhere near you. It was NYE so the noise went on past 4 AM, could have been a bit quieter but hey, its all in good fun. Out-of-acceptable price range for food within the hotel, but anything you want is a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jan 2, 2010

The Westin, one of the best in.

My family and I vacationed in San Francisco after Christmas and stayed at the Westin St. Francis. We were very pleased with our experience there. The location is superb for easy access to public transportation and easy transfer to points of interest. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to transportation was short for good restaurants, shopping and access to major attractions in San Francisco.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Trip to SF

I reserved and paid for two adjacent or adjoining rooms but they didn't have any. So they gave me one room with two beds - which was fine for us.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's for breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 28, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel did not have an airport shuttle. I guess it was my mistake to assume that such a big hotel would definitely have one. There was no one to take the luggage upto the room..it was self service. No newspaper in the morning. The family next door had a verbal fight and I had to listen to their family history for a whole two hours...every single bit...The room was not cleaned on the third day..I had to call room service and they came after an hour to clean up the room in the evening...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even short walk is a long word...you are literally located amongst the shopping world...the hotel is adjoining to union square..

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super San Francisco
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Dec 24, 2009

San Francisco

Beautiful hotel,centrally located everyone was friendly and helpful! We had an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hock Family
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Enjoyed Our Stay

Overall, our stay was great. The only problem we encountered was the lack of taxis available on a Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan on eating anywhere else but at the hotel. Too expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Dec 17, 2009

Excellent service and great location.

The hotel, the staff and the surroundings captured the holiday spirit. This is a historic, but updated, hotel that is close to great shopping; theaters, exccellent restaurants and embodies the San Francisco experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable walking shoes. Become familiar with the public transportation rates and parking garage fees.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern colorado
Dec 17, 2009

very nice location

if you like shopping or just walking and seeing the sights this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn.
Dec 16, 2009

westin St.

We would never stay at this hotel again. The morning following our first nite, we discovered the bedding was very bloody all over the sheets. we were horrified as we pulled back the covers. Check bedding in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top