$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson, NV
Jun 7, 2010

Absolutely best location!

The hotel makes up the West side of Union Square, so when you walk out, you're on Powell St looking at Union Square with cable cars going by. It's absolutely the best location. From the 28th floor, I looked out over Union Square, surrounding city and the bay beyond. The room was surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of the city - you couldn't hear anything. I had to open the window to hear the trolley cars. You are literally surrounded by the best restaurants in the area ... Morton's Steakhouse, Daily Grill, Scala's Bistro, Restaurant Santorini, Sears Fine Foods, etc. And of course, all of the shopping is right there in Union Square. The hotel was very elegant with a upscale Clock Lounge (try the drink, Sophia's Kiss with lavendar). It was only a block or two away from Market St, so I took the Bart to/from the airport for $8.10 each way. Another tip ... it's only $11 plus tip to go to Fisherman's Warf by taxi ... the trolley is $5 each way per person, so it's fun to do the cable car at least once, but don't think it's cheaper than taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go to San Fran without seeing Alcatraz. It's worth it. Miur Woods is also nice and so is the wine tour - I would recommend both. Civic Center is worth seeing ... city hall is amazing. And of course, you've got to see the seals on Pier 39. Enjoy!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2009

All class

This historic hotel is truly something special. The gorgeous lobby and attentive staff really raise your expectations, the room and amenities meet them completely. Our room was spotless, the bed sooo comfortable, and the restaurants exceptional. My only complaint would be the thin walls. We were staying in the older part of the hotel and woke to the sound of our neighbors televisions as well as the closing of doors every morning. Overall we had a wonderful time and will definitely look for a room at the St Francis next time we're in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Year's Eve Travelers
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2009

Luxury Hotel at a good cost

It was a great room at a very good price, right in the middle of Union Square. Right in the middle of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 27, 2009

Location, location

We had previously lived in the Bay Area for fourteen years, and this was our first extended visit back to the area in 9 years. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect for shopping trips, short excursions outside the immediate area, and for dining. Friends staying at the hotel walked to Chinatown, Japantown, the Wharf and to the Embarcadero. Location is everything when visiting this great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 28, 2009

Super Location!!

I was there for just a quick overnight. Great location (except for parking costs)! If you want to be able to walk everywhere, this is perfect. Lovely hotel, pretty clean, a little noisy in the early AM! Definitely recommend it, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kickbox MaMa
Business
Riverside,CA
Oct 20, 2009

Perfect location

A perfect location to see a play at the Curran Theater, take the trolly to Fisherman's Warf or go Shopping at Macy's. Taxis right outside as well as tour buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upstairs at the Biscuit and Blues is the Union Room that has great live bands on the weekend and it is free. A great way to spend and evening close to the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego Ca,
Mar 23, 2010

looking at college's

very nice helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanetMarie
Business
Asheville, NC
May 15, 2009

Fantastic Location

Our trip included attending our son's graduation from CCA. We also included some tourist activities that were of easy access from our location. You are really right in the heart of SF. The service was wonderful and rooms were adequate. We actually got to get an upgrade since our AC was not working in our really small room. The staff was more than happy to upgrade our accommodations with a free breakfast as well. I would hope to stay there again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 17, 2009

Good as expected

Spent a short while. But it was as good as expected. Service was at par with expectations. Location could not be any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Jun 27, 2010

oasis in the city

Great central location. Easy to navigate anywhere on public transportation from this hotel. A nice oasis in a busy city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be touring around all the sites of the city, get a MUNI passport to ride all forms of public trans. Saves money and time!

Back to menu Return to top