$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Couples
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, Texas
Nov 20, 2009

A Birthday Get-Away Surprise

When we got there was informed our room was ready. However, when the found out it was my birthday trip (65) we were provided with a corner room with a king size bed which was very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and assisted us in printing our e tickets upon leaving. All in all a wonderful stay. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you allow enough time the Super Shuttle saves dollars going to and from the San Francisco airport

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, CO
Nov 17, 2009

Good as expected

Spent a short while. But it was as good as expected. Service was at par with expectations. Location could not be any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, Il
Nov 16, 2009

Nice but...

The hotel was nice for the most part. The weekend that I stayed there was a convention of young college kids, so they were very loud and over crowded. The hotel and staff was very nice and accomidating, except the conceiere was very rude and unhelpful, the lobby was under construction and the rooms were tiny. The location in also in the center of a tourist trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Orleans. LA
Nov 10, 2009

Westin St. Francis Review

The hotel is fine, your basic room, but they charge you for everything. They wanted $14.95 for internet that I can get free at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gilbert, AZ
Oct 22, 2009

St. Francis Stay

Overall, the rooms were nice, but small. Room service was excellent. The location is ideal for catching transportation, such as the cable car, Muni, bus tours, BART, and lined with taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kickbox MaMa
Family
Riverside,CA
Oct 20, 2009

Perfect location

A perfect location to see a play at the Curran Theater, take the trolly to Fisherman's Warf or go Shopping at Macy's. Taxis right outside as well as tour buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upstairs at the Biscuit and Blues is the Union Room that has great live bands on the weekend and it is free. A great way to spend and evening close to the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent fun traveler
Business
Tennessee
Oct 19, 2009

San Francis, Westin?

Check in was a lengthy wait and was done in a business like manner. However, they were not at all helpful for any info @ the area or services offered. The room had no information about the hotel services. It would be nothing for this hotel to offer a few amenities. However, everything has an extra tab- fitness facility, internet, business center, and the parking was outrageous. Everybody was solicitous but had their hand out. Even the bar was pretentious and way overpriced for what was provided. The atmosphere was posh, but you can do much better in SF. The location was great but so are many other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Greenwood Village, CO
Oct 17, 2009

Great Location

Checkin was quick and efficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle
Oct 13, 2009

Inner Facing Room with Queen Bed

The hotel was in a great location, the hotel room floor was very quiet, and the beds are of course heavenly in nature. The comfort level of the beds really did compensate for the small size of the room.The only downside is that the room was very small and bearly had room for even a queen bed, and that they do not have any views except for those of other room. I have no compliants on either of these points as this was all disclosed in the [...] hotel room description

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top