$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super San Francisco
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Dec 24, 2009

San Francisco

Beautiful hotel,centrally located everyone was friendly and helpful! We had an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hock Family
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Enjoyed Our Stay

Overall, our stay was great. The only problem we encountered was the lack of taxis available on a Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan on eating anywhere else but at the hotel. Too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Dec 17, 2009

Excellent service and great location.

The hotel, the staff and the surroundings captured the holiday spirit. This is a historic, but updated, hotel that is close to great shopping; theaters, exccellent restaurants and embodies the San Francisco experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable walking shoes. Become familiar with the public transportation rates and parking garage fees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern colorado
Dec 17, 2009

very nice location

if you like shopping or just walking and seeing the sights this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn.
Dec 16, 2009

westin St.

We would never stay at this hotel again. The morning following our first nite, we discovered the bedding was very bloody all over the sheets. we were horrified as we pulled back the covers. Check bedding in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Dec 16, 2009

Birthday romatic getaway

Nice place to stay while visiting SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Dec 8, 2009

Good

It's nice Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 3, 2009

St. Frances...Westin Hotel. San Francis

the hotel is nice and the staff is professional....however the room was one of the smallest I havd had in a long time, the window opened to three walls of other rooms windows, the cheap radio did not get reception except for one station, the wall plugs by the desk did not work and the tv did not work for all the stations...for instance CNN was just dots and line and no picture or sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Boulevard Restaurante has fine food down by the ferry terminal at the beginning of Market Street. The area is a nice place to walk before or after dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl.
Nov 28, 2009

Nice hotel with expensive amenities

The hotel has a great location and the staff was generally very good. However, they gouge you for amenities, for example, $12 to use the health club, $49 a night for parking, and very expensive restaurants in the hotel. There are no water/soda machines in the building, so you either have to go out nearby or pay through the nose at the in-room refreshment center. The center even has sensors, so that if you want to put your own bottles/food in the refrigerator, it shows that you have used their's and they charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf is a short cab ride, but don't expect to spend less than $10 on any cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna Gene
Business
Kansas City
Nov 22, 2009

The Westin St. Francis was great

The hotel was great, we did upgrade to the new tower with a veiw (which I would recommended it was 27 extra dollars per night but well worth it) There was some remodling going on but it did not bother us at all. The hotel concierge's were wonderful they helped us out even two nights when we didn't know what we wanted to do at all. They sent us to this place just around the corner called Biscuits and Blues the food and show were both great. You could catch the cable cars right outside the front door. For 11.00 (one pass) you could ride most of the different transportation all day to many of the attractions. For 22 dollars we took one day on a sight seeing tour bus that you could get on and off the busses. They ran every 40 min. and went to all the main attractions including The Golden Gate Bridge.The parking fee at the hotel was ridicules it was 50 dollars per night. We caught the shuttle to and from the airport and rented a car for one day to drive down the coast hwy 1 (this is a must there is a car rental located in the hotel). We drove to Monterey and went to the aquarium. We then continued down the coast to Carmel, we took hwy.101 back just in time to turn in the rental car. We also took a boat to Sausalito Island lots of shopping (very over price)but fun. The best meal we had was on the Island. But all the food on the trip was good over all. [...] And we would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top