$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smwadams
Business
Thornton, CO
Mar 7, 2010

Great location! Pleasant stay.

The hotel is beautiful and in a prime location for enjoying the city. We had booked a room with an upgrade, thinking we would be in the tower (newer part of the hotel) with "limited views". When we arrived, our room was in the older part with a view of a building wall. We felt like we were in a closet! I immediately called the front desk and they were able to put us in another room with a wonderful view, so we were pleased! The concierge desk was very helpful - every person we spoke with was very friendly and offered great suggestions! The only problem we had with the hotel is that you get nickel and dimed for everything!! The fitness center is nothing to brag about and they charge you to use it. They don't have Wi Fi, but you can hook up to the Internet, but again, it's for a fee. Our thought was that these things should be perks when you're paying what we paid to stay there! The beds and showers were great - very comfortable and relaxing! We used the BART and the cable cars to make our way around town. Both are fairly easy to use. You can buy multiple day passes for the cable cars (highly recommended if you're going to be around a few days). You don't have to wait in the long lines at the beginning of the routes - just walk up a block or two and catch it at the stops (they're clearly marked along the streets). The hotel was only about three blocks away from the transit area where you get off of BART from the airport and you can buy the multiple day passes for the cable cars. It's very expensive to park your car at the hotel (about $50/night) so we opted to not get a rental car. I hope this was helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We really enjoyed E & O Trading Co. (green onion flat bread), Crustacean (roasted crab and garlic noodles), Max's (great sandwiches) and the Slanted Door (all the food) for lunch and dinner places. Good breakfast was a little harder to find, but we enjoyed Sears and Max's probably serves a good breakfast (we didn't eat there until our last day). All of these places are either within walking distance from the hotel or a cable car ride. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants because they were pricey - but then again, we spent quite a bit of money outside the hotel on food, so it might have been comparable.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest
Feb 22, 2010

"Very Nice Hotel"

Great location, wonderful view from our hotel, adn we were granted a late check out to accomodate our flight time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grayson, GA
Jan 19, 2010

San Francisco, CA

We only slept at the hotel. We found it very nice and had a nice stay. The only problem was hearning the elevator, which sounded like thunder. We were there very little in the day time, and therefore did not find the noise a great problem as it occurred less at night than during the day. It did not keep us awake, or even make too much sound when watching TV, but it was not something we really liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase of the City Pass was a good idea. The trolley and the cable car were the main transportation and the Pass saved a bunch of money.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jake's bammi
Business
Mojave Desert
Jan 18, 2010

Perfect weekend in great location!

My husband and I were in San Francisco for a wedding, with the reception at this hotel. The room was amazing with the most spectacular views...we could see the Golden Gate from our room! However, the mini bar was over the top expensive....as was the parking fees..$50.oo a day...this was not noted in the info when I checked out hotels. However, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take good walking shoes, you will need them...and have a great time.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila, PA
Jan 16, 2010

Comfy and friendly

Perfect location. Friendly, efficient staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie & Jason B.
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 15, 2010

fantastic, would stay again

A 5 minute walk from the BART station from the airport, getting there was a breeze. It is right on the trolley car ride, and near good shopping. A few minutes walk from Sushi Rika where we got great sushi, a new Thai place off of Geary St. just north of Jack in the Box that was really good, and Peary's; a 24 hour diner with great omlets. Recommend this hotel, they upgraded our room to a king bed with a corner view from a queen with no view, and they had noon check out time which you almost never see. The concierge can arrange any sight seeing for you free of service except the alcatraz trip because the gov't won't let them. They do give you detailed information how to do so though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top