$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest
Feb 22, 2010

"Very Nice Hotel"

Great location, wonderful view from our hotel, adn we were granted a late check out to accomodate our flight time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grayson, GA
Jan 19, 2010

San Francisco, CA

We only slept at the hotel. We found it very nice and had a nice stay. The only problem was hearning the elevator, which sounded like thunder. We were there very little in the day time, and therefore did not find the noise a great problem as it occurred less at night than during the day. It did not keep us awake, or even make too much sound when watching TV, but it was not something we really liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase of the City Pass was a good idea. The trolley and the cable car were the main transportation and the Pass saved a bunch of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jake's bammi
Business
Mojave Desert
Jan 18, 2010

Perfect weekend in great location!

My husband and I were in San Francisco for a wedding, with the reception at this hotel. The room was amazing with the most spectacular views...we could see the Golden Gate from our room! However, the mini bar was over the top expensive....as was the parking fees..$50.oo a day...this was not noted in the info when I checked out hotels. However, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take good walking shoes, you will need them...and have a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila, PA
Jan 16, 2010

Comfy and friendly

Perfect location. Friendly, efficient staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie & Jason B.
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 15, 2010

fantastic, would stay again

A 5 minute walk from the BART station from the airport, getting there was a breeze. It is right on the trolley car ride, and near good shopping. A few minutes walk from Sushi Rika where we got great sushi, a new Thai place off of Geary St. just north of Jack in the Box that was really good, and Peary's; a 24 hour diner with great omlets. Recommend this hotel, they upgraded our room to a king bed with a corner view from a queen with no view, and they had noon check out time which you almost never see. The concierge can arrange any sight seeing for you free of service except the alcatraz trip because the gov't won't let them. They do give you detailed information how to do so though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top