The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super San Francisco
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Dec 24, 2009

San Francisco

Beautiful hotel,centrally located everyone was friendly and helpful! We had an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hock Family
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 21, 2009

Enjoyed Our Stay

Overall, our stay was great. The only problem we encountered was the lack of taxis available on a Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan on eating anywhere else but at the hotel. Too expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Dec 17, 2009

Excellent service and great location.

The hotel, the staff and the surroundings captured the holiday spirit. This is a historic, but updated, hotel that is close to great shopping; theaters, exccellent restaurants and embodies the San Francisco experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable walking shoes. Become familiar with the public transportation rates and parking garage fees.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern colorado
Dec 17, 2009

very nice location

if you like shopping or just walking and seeing the sights this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn.
Dec 16, 2009

westin St.

We would never stay at this hotel again. The morning following our first nite, we discovered the bedding was very bloody all over the sheets. we were horrified as we pulled back the covers. Check bedding in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Dec 16, 2009

Birthday romatic getaway

Nice place to stay while visiting SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful location

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Dec 8, 2009

Good

It's nice Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 3, 2009

St. Frances...Westin Hotel. San Francis

the hotel is nice and the staff is professional....however the room was one of the smallest I havd had in a long time, the window opened to three walls of other rooms windows, the cheap radio did not get reception except for one station, the wall plugs by the desk did not work and the tv did not work for all the stations...for instance CNN was just dots and line and no picture or sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Boulevard Restaurante has fine food down by the ferry terminal at the beginning of Market Street. The area is a nice place to walk before or after dinner.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl.
Nov 28, 2009

Nice hotel with expensive amenities

The hotel has a great location and the staff was generally very good. However, they gouge you for amenities, for example, $12 to use the health club, $49 a night for parking, and very expensive restaurants in the hotel. There are no water/soda machines in the building, so you either have to go out nearby or pay through the nose at the in-room refreshment center. The center even has sensors, so that if you want to put your own bottles/food in the refrigerator, it shows that you have used their's and they charge you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf is a short cab ride, but don't expect to spend less than $10 on any cab ride.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Nov 20, 2009

A Birthday Get-Away Surprise

When we got there was informed our room was ready. However, when the found out it was my birthday trip (65) we were provided with a corner room with a king size bed which was very nice. The staff was extremely friendly and assisted us in printing our e tickets upon leaving. All in all a wonderful stay. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you allow enough time the Super Shuttle saves dollars going to and from the San Francisco airport

Back to menu Return to top