$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest
Feb 22, 2010

"Very Nice Hotel"

Great location, wonderful view from our hotel, adn we were granted a late check out to accomodate our flight time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grayson, GA
Jan 19, 2010

San Francisco, CA

We only slept at the hotel. We found it very nice and had a nice stay. The only problem was hearning the elevator, which sounded like thunder. We were there very little in the day time, and therefore did not find the noise a great problem as it occurred less at night than during the day. It did not keep us awake, or even make too much sound when watching TV, but it was not something we really liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase of the City Pass was a good idea. The trolley and the cable car were the main transportation and the Pass saved a bunch of money.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jake's bammi
Business
Mojave Desert
Jan 18, 2010

Perfect weekend in great location!

My husband and I were in San Francisco for a wedding, with the reception at this hotel. The room was amazing with the most spectacular views...we could see the Golden Gate from our room! However, the mini bar was over the top expensive....as was the parking fees..$50.oo a day...this was not noted in the info when I checked out hotels. However, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take good walking shoes, you will need them...and have a great time.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila, PA
Jan 16, 2010

Comfy and friendly

Perfect location. Friendly, efficient staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie & Jason B.
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 15, 2010

fantastic, would stay again

A 5 minute walk from the BART station from the airport, getting there was a breeze. It is right on the trolley car ride, and near good shopping. A few minutes walk from Sushi Rika where we got great sushi, a new Thai place off of Geary St. just north of Jack in the Box that was really good, and Peary's; a 24 hour diner with great omlets. Recommend this hotel, they upgraded our room to a king bed with a corner view from a queen with no view, and they had noon check out time which you almost never see. The concierge can arrange any sight seeing for you free of service except the alcatraz trip because the gov't won't let them. They do give you detailed information how to do so though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bremble
Business
Somersworth, NH
Jan 4, 2010

Great location - price comes with *

I mostly travel for business, so many amenities are included (gym, internet, etc). Everything at the Westin had an additional cost. True - price was cheap compared to other hotels in area - more [...]than Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF CA
Jan 4, 2010

NYE 2009

Nice clean, old style room - small, but comfortable enough for us. Thin walls, though - you can hear everything going on anywhere near you. It was NYE so the noise went on past 4 AM, could have been a bit quieter but hey, its all in good fun. Out-of-acceptable price range for food within the hotel, but anything you want is a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jan 2, 2010

The Westin, one of the best in.

My family and I vacationed in San Francisco after Christmas and stayed at the Westin St. Francis. We were very pleased with our experience there. The location is superb for easy access to public transportation and easy transfer to points of interest. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to transportation was short for good restaurants, shopping and access to major attractions in San Francisco.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Trip to SF

I reserved and paid for two adjacent or adjoining rooms but they didn't have any. So they gave me one room with two beds - which was fine for us.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's for breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top