The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cypress, Ca
Mar 28, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price!

wonderful hotel - great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego Ca,
Mar 23, 2010

looking at college's

very nice helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New jersey
Mar 23, 2010

suitable hotel for business

charge for internet and exercise room was a minus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab Family of 4
Business
Northern California
Mar 21, 2010

Westin St. Francis

Room was great as expected- valet service was so rude we were appauled. Can't beat the location but don't need to be treated rude by staff who are there to help us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Very Classy, awesome service

It was perfect from start to finish. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Diner is a wonderful place to eat breakfast.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Bozzo
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 16, 2010

Great hotel for business travellers

Within walking distance of the main businesses and many touristic places, this hotel offers very clean and comfortable rooms. The only reproach I have is the poor job windows are doing at isolating you from the street noise (high in this part of San Fran).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 16, 2010

Great stay at SF Landmark

The room was immense and was very comfortable. Beds were nice and soft and the staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC
Mar 7, 2010

BEWARE OF PARKING AND OTHER CHARGES!!!

There was absolutely no indication of all the extra expenses that this hotel charges on the [...] website. They hit me with $57.00/day for parking, an extra $7.00/day for misc tax, some ridiculous occupancy tax for $27.86, and also $6.00 for refreshments because I moved one of the soda cans and didn't put it back in 10 seconds. I literally could have bought a round trip ticket for the price of parking and saved myself a 12 hour round trip drive. They also charge $15.00 for 10 minutes of internet service in the business center. The room was really nice and the view was decent, but if I had known about all theses extra charges beforehand I would have stayed somewhere else!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smwadams
Business
Thornton, CO
Mar 7, 2010

Great location! Pleasant stay.

The hotel is beautiful and in a prime location for enjoying the city. We had booked a room with an upgrade, thinking we would be in the tower (newer part of the hotel) with "limited views". When we arrived, our room was in the older part with a view of a building wall. We felt like we were in a closet! I immediately called the front desk and they were able to put us in another room with a wonderful view, so we were pleased! The concierge desk was very helpful - every person we spoke with was very friendly and offered great suggestions! The only problem we had with the hotel is that you get nickel and dimed for everything!! The fitness center is nothing to brag about and they charge you to use it. They don't have Wi Fi, but you can hook up to the Internet, but again, it's for a fee. Our thought was that these things should be perks when you're paying what we paid to stay there! The beds and showers were great - very comfortable and relaxing! We used the BART and the cable cars to make our way around town. Both are fairly easy to use. You can buy multiple day passes for the cable cars (highly recommended if you're going to be around a few days). You don't have to wait in the long lines at the beginning of the routes - just walk up a block or two and catch it at the stops (they're clearly marked along the streets). The hotel was only about three blocks away from the transit area where you get off of BART from the airport and you can buy the multiple day passes for the cable cars. It's very expensive to park your car at the hotel (about $50/night) so we opted to not get a rental car. I hope this was helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We really enjoyed E & O Trading Co. (green onion flat bread), Crustacean (roasted crab and garlic noodles), Max's (great sandwiches) and the Slanted Door (all the food) for lunch and dinner places. Good breakfast was a little harder to find, but we enjoyed Sears and Max's probably serves a good breakfast (we didn't eat there until our last day). All of these places are either within walking distance from the hotel or a cable car ride. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants because they were pricey - but then again, we spent quite a bit of money outside the hotel on food, so it might have been comparable.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest
Feb 22, 2010

"Very Nice Hotel"

Great location, wonderful view from our hotel, adn we were granted a late check out to accomodate our flight time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top