The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, Arizona
Aug 18, 2010

Wonderful Wonderland

The St Francis was an absolutely wonderful starting point for all our excursions. After a morning ride up the main elevator, we walked across the street to Union Square, just blocks(downhill walk) to the cable car turnaround plus the Muni transports, we had no need for a car. Take the muni J underground to AT&T Park to see the Giants, take the F line to the Embarcadaro Farmers market, or take any of the buses and see where it takes you! We ate lunch at Lefty O'Douls and ended with drinks at the Clock Bar almost every night! The hotel is host to many people from many countries and most are happy to share their adventure. Don't be afraid to ask for directions or share an adventure with someone...we have made lots of friends here. Check out Chinatown for souveniers and have pasta and coffee at North Beach. Castro has some of the funniest window dressings (Rated R)and beautiful buildings and homes great for walking around. The Mission area has fantastic food and great people. But my favorite was sitting at Union Square and watching the world pass me by! Wonderful weather, wonderful eats, and wonderful city by the Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a muni pass to get around...they are good for cable cars, muni sub, buses and trolley. They come in 1 day, three day and seven day ticket books. Short walk from the hotel at the cable car turn around.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, Arizona
Aug 18, 2010

Wonderful Wonderland

The St Francis was an absolutely wonderful starting point for all our excursions. After a morning ride up the main elevator, we walked across the street to Union Square, just blocks(downhill walk) to the cable car turnaround plus the Muni transports, we had no need for a car. Take the muni J underground to AT&T Park to see the Giants, take the F line to the Embarcadaro Farmers market, or take any of the buses and see where it takes you! We ate lunch at Lefty O'Douls and ended with drinks at the Clock Bar almost every night! The hotel is host to many people from many countries and most are happy to share their adventure. Don't be afraid to ask for directions or share an adventure with someone...we have made lots of friends here. Check out Chinatown for souveniers and have pasta and coffee at North Beach. Castro has some of the funniest window dressings (Rated R)and beautiful buildings and homes great for walking around. The Mission area has fantastic food and great people. But my favorite was sitting at Union Square and watching the world pass me by! Wonderful weather, wonderful eats, and wonderful city by the Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a muni pass to get around...they are good for cable cars, muni sub, buses and trolley. They come in 1 day, three day and seven day ticket books. Short walk from the hotel at the cable car turn around.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferrygate
North Berwick, East Lothian
Jul 30, 2010

Great Location

This beautiful hotel was recomended to us and didn't disappoint. The location was fab, the staff were very helpful and our room in the old part or the hotel overlooked Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2010

excellence

every thing about the hotel was excellent, i had no problem and would go back again whenever i am in San Francisco, i also commend the entire staff as well. my experience with the Westin St. Francis was one of the Best in hotel stay that had. Thanks to you guys for my great stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All in walking distance

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2010

excellence

every thing about the hotel was excellent, i had no problem and would go back again whenever i am in San Francisco, i also commend the entire staff as well. my experience with the Westin St. Francis was one of the Best in hotel stay that had. Thanks to you guys for my great stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All in walking distance

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 26, 2010

Perfect location, great rooms - worth it

The location doesn't get any better if you're interested in seeing the sights - we were able to walk to all of our points of interest from the hotel, including Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Presidio - and more. We did take a bus to Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park, but getting back was easy given Muni. And, getting to and from the airport was no problem on BART. The room was also very nice, but really, location location location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 26, 2010

Perfect location, great rooms - worth it

The location doesn't get any better if you're interested in seeing the sights - we were able to walk to all of our points of interest from the hotel, including Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Presidio - and more. We did take a bus to Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park, but getting back was easy given Muni. And, getting to and from the airport was no problem on BART. The room was also very nice, but really, location location location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kartanze
New York
Jul 25, 2010

A Classic, great service

I'm a former long-time San Franciscan, transplanted to NYC, and love returning for a long drink of this world-class city. The St. Francis is always my choice when staying in a hotel there, and it always satisfies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top