$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate, San Francisco Lover
Business
Little Rock, AR
Apr 27, 2010

westin st francis san francisco

Took a editing class at Berkley Extension at the Art and Design Center right near the hotel..rest of time was spent as a tourist....including a San Fran Giants baseball game...beautiful weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All price range of restaurants...for breakfast and reasonably priced was Lefty O'Douls....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 19, 2010

Great Location

Can't beat the location. The Westin St. Francis is probably one of the best situated hotels in San Francisco being right across from Union Square. As you step out the front lobby door your are directly in front of the cable car stop which is a plus. The only negatives about this hotel is that if you park on site expect to pay $50 a night for your car (even if you don't come in and out)(NOTE: There is a parking garage, that the hotel fails to mention, around the corner that charges $22 a night.) Also the rooms are a little on the small side. If you are looking for a bigger room I would look into the Westin Market Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
combblai
Business
Pocatello, ID
Apr 19, 2010

Great Experience

Was upgraded to the 27th floor w/o having to ask!Cable Car runs right in front of the hotel. I took one down to fisherman's wharf for dinner. Quite a ride. Staff was very friendly and helpful. [...] I had to say that I needed proof I was there. Took a couple of minutes but they were friendly. Latch was loose on the window and had to use the holder for my key card, fold it a couple of times and put it in the latch so it did not rattle in the wind. There was fine restaurants, fast food, Walgreens within a couple of blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

See previous comments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb Matheson
Business
Phoenix
Apr 15, 2010

good and bad -

it was our fisrt time to San Franscico and we had no idea where we going and the hotel staff spoke to us in a hurried manner and almost as if they were too busy to answer our questions - for as much money as we paid a night - the night time door man acted as if he couldn't be bothered with us when we asked for directions and the concerige wasn't clear when he told us how to get places so we ended up having to ask again- very fustrating - had to call for a room robe - had to ask for coffee stirers - it was as if they hoped we wouldn't ask and just go with it - over all - it wasn't the hotel experience i had hoped and paid for. there was no pampering going on at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get the muni pass in San Fran - but no-one at the hotel told me about it -

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Apr 14, 2010

Good hotel nearby Union square

I stayed for four days in the hotel. It locates very close to Union Square in San Francisco. The hotel is an average rate hotel among 4 star hotels. It is neither impressive nor bad. If you want to stay near Union Square, it could be a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joy the Artist
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 12, 2010

Perfect location to walk around San Fran

Great location with a clean room and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a nice walk to Yerba Buena and the Mordern Art Museum. It was easy to take the BART in from SFO and walk up to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Project Manager
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 8, 2010

Nice Stay

The location is exceptional , almost a must for any san francisco vistor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful Hotel, B+ Stay

The Location is Great. If you are coming to tour the City, it couldn't be better. The hotel is a beautiful historic building. If you are a shopper, you've arrived at the pearly gates. From dinning to sight seeing, nightlife to shopping, you couldn't be in a better location than Union Square. My only disclaimer is my experience at check-in. Cheap tickets did not offer the option of choosing 2 queen size beds in the room; instead offering only a king. Traveling with a friend, this wasn't going to work. At check in i had to pay extra for this option. Not to worry though, i was told that i would also be upgraded to the 18th floor (a room with an amazing view.) Turns out, the woman at the front desk thought "amazing" would be the best word to describe the side of a brick building. If things couldn't be more inconvenient, i was charged an additional upgrade fee that i had to call in to the accounting department to have removed. Long story short, stay above the 18th floor if you want a view. Other than that it was a memorable experience and i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't dined at Millennium, i highly suggest it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cypress, Ca
Mar 28, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price!

wonderful hotel - great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego Ca,
Mar 23, 2010

looking at college's

very nice helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top