$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 20, 2010

Anniversary stay

We had a great time at the Westin St.Francis. We stayed in a grand deluxe room located in the modern tower. The view was great! It was extremely quiet which was good! The location is fantastic I don't know where else I would have wanted to stay. Advice: be specific when you are asking the concierge for restaurant recommendations. He recommended two for us which ended up being a little to fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to Napa or Sonoma I highly recommend Goldengategetaways! [...] was our guide and he was wonderful!! Couldn't have been better--well worth the money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOL Law
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 20, 2010

Nothing Special

Overall the stay was fine, but not what we usually get from such a highly rated hotel. There was only one towel in the room when we got there (at 2 am), and our door key stopped working prior to the end of our stay - the security guy was slow and not helpful getting us back in our room. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job during our stay either - they left used glasses in the room every day and didn't replace them with clean ones. The concierge staff were terrific though and went way above our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's about a block away was terrific.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
63melpha
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 20, 2010

Rip Off!!!

Even though I paid over $300 for a room at this hotel for one night, the staff put me in a room "with a view" which it had. What it didn't have was a queen bed but a Murphy bed about 3" thick on top of a sheet of plywood. Unbelievable! I would have had a better night's sleep if I had slept on the floor. At least the floor didn't squeak. It was a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Chick
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2010

Enjoyed immensely

Loved the city. Would definitely go back. The Westin St. Francis was a grand old hotel steeped in history and located centrally. The front desk and conscierge staff (especially [...]!) were friendly and efficient, very helpful. The cleaning staff were friendly, but often did not take dirty glasses, did not leave clean ones, didn't replenish coffee or tea products, and never left enough towels. Otherwise, great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 19, 2010

A Special Place

My wife and I spent a week exploring San Francisco and the surrounding bay area. We found the Westin St. Francis to be an ideally situated home base from which to explore. Union square is a short walk/MUNI/cab ride from almost every major attraction in the city which is a real plus. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful with the excellent signature and trendy Michael Mina restaurant and clock cocktail lounge. We had bruch at the signature and it was excellent with great service. The rooms are smaller but clean with HD tvs, complimentary Starbucks coffee and a mini fridge for purchasing overpriced beverages of all kinds! The only major problem we had was a neighbor who smoked intermittently for a couple days straight. The smaller rooms have a connecting door and the smoke went right under the door and into our room. We called security our first night and they stopped it but our neighbors continued to disrespect us so I went down and complained in person. The concierge handled the situation professionally and appropriately and immediately offered us an upgrade to the top floor with a nice view of union square. The concierge also helped us with renting a car and suggested some nice places/shows to see. He was really top notch. The only other minor hiccups we had were that they didn't answer the phone when we dialed zero one night and there is no microwave minifridge which would have helped save some cash (but I suppose they aren't in the business of saving me cash!). It was an excellent stay overall and I would give 4.5 stars if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a MUNI pass! This will save you money on cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savtrav
Business
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to par

Great location on Union Square but not up to our expectations based on previous experience with Westin Hotels. The room was quite small and very noisy; doors could be heard opening and closing loudly and we could clearly hear conversations from the adjacent rooms. The room was clean but one day they did not come at all so we called for room cleaning as we were on our way to dinner and it was still not cleaned when we came back. When we called again, they said they had called us and we had never called them back which was untrue. Also a bad system re getting boarding passes printed; there is one computer for this but it was overrun by people doing banking and checking e-mails. I had to go down very late at night to get on it; the alternative was pay $10 to get online. On the plus side, the hotel lobby is beautiful and the concierge was very helpful in getting us restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very fine dining, try Fleur de Lys which is a short walk away. It is an extremely beautiful and romantic restaurant and the food was just delicious. Also try Cafe Mason, also a short walk away, for breakfast; it is much better than the much touted Sears and features pumpkin crepes and pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtm2300
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Small room

Stayed overnight with the wife. Room was surprisingly small for the price paid, guess this is to be expected for the location at the heart of San Francisco. Still, a bit claustrophobia inducing. Otherwise, service was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clock Bar seems to be one of the few hotel bars in the area open seven days a week until late. 24-hour Lori's Diner located just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2010

Can't beat the location and pice

Equally a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe B cool dude
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 6, 2010

Union Square St Francis

I had a nice time at this hotel it is located in a very centrally located position within the city and served our needs fine for the one night stay we had in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its Everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Business
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top