$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savtrav
Business
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to par

Great location on Union Square but not up to our expectations based on previous experience with Westin Hotels. The room was quite small and very noisy; doors could be heard opening and closing loudly and we could clearly hear conversations from the adjacent rooms. The room was clean but one day they did not come at all so we called for room cleaning as we were on our way to dinner and it was still not cleaned when we came back. When we called again, they said they had called us and we had never called them back which was untrue. Also a bad system re getting boarding passes printed; there is one computer for this but it was overrun by people doing banking and checking e-mails. I had to go down very late at night to get on it; the alternative was pay $10 to get online. On the plus side, the hotel lobby is beautiful and the concierge was very helpful in getting us restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very fine dining, try Fleur de Lys which is a short walk away. It is an extremely beautiful and romantic restaurant and the food was just delicious. Also try Cafe Mason, also a short walk away, for breakfast; it is much better than the much touted Sears and features pumpkin crepes and pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtm2300
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Small room

Stayed overnight with the wife. Room was surprisingly small for the price paid, guess this is to be expected for the location at the heart of San Francisco. Still, a bit claustrophobia inducing. Otherwise, service was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clock Bar seems to be one of the few hotel bars in the area open seven days a week until late. 24-hour Lori's Diner located just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2010

Can't beat the location and pice

Equally a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe B cool dude
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 6, 2010

Union Square St Francis

I had a nice time at this hotel it is located in a very centrally located position within the city and served our needs fine for the one night stay we had in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its Everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Business
New York
Jul 3, 2010

Small room; worn furnishings

The location is the best part of the hotel, but the room itself was disappointing. Maybe higher paying business travellers get nicer rooms, but they should really do something to address their smaller accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Not worth it at all!

Considering the price and the fact that the Westin St. Francis is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I was sorely disappointed. This place was probably great about 40 years ago, but if you aren't one of their "platinum members" they are going to treat you like one of San Francisco's homeless people. The room was small and had a large water stain and peeling paint on the ceiling. The staff seemed unsympathetic and unfriendly. Things that many hotels offer for free were very overpriced there. At least the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block south is the Golden Dust lounge. This place is a great, charming place to get a relatively inexpensive drink, enjoy a great low-volume house band, and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auditor, Business Traveler
Business
Asheboro, NC
Jun 28, 2010

Business trip

business travel only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Jun 27, 2010

oasis in the city

Great central location. Easy to navigate anywhere on public transportation from this hotel. A nice oasis in a busy city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be touring around all the sites of the city, get a MUNI passport to ride all forms of public trans. Saves money and time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe NYC
Business
New York
Jun 27, 2010

It is the people that make it the BEST!

Most hotels have a Concierge The St. Francis has people that want to help you have the best possible experence in their city. The front desk has people walking around looking for issues and are extremly helpful. The location is perfect for businees or pleasure and the romms are comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tolley Cars stops right in front of the hotel and union square has every store you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny T
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 26, 2010

The good, the bad and the dirty.

We enjoyed our stay. However, upon entering any hotel I always check the linens first to make sure everything is clean. I had to request that the housekeeper remove the throw pillow that appeared to be dirty. After that I had we had no complaints. They really should be more conscientious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was absolutely marvelous. The Westin St. Francis is located at the center of many shops and restaurants. However, be prepared spend spend spend!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top