$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, Washington
Oct 12, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Lots of shopping and going to the DeYoung Museum. Hotel were very helpful with getting tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Maryann Street just off Union Square for unique specialty shops....especially fine imported fabrics.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stan W
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Perfect location, great views

Beautiful city views from the tower room. Very comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 5, 2010

Great location, service lacking

Spent ten minutes in line to check in. Room was ready two hours later. Spent 15 minutes in line to pick up key after room was ready.Reception area very disorganized!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super San Francisco
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Dec 24, 2009

San Francisco

Beautiful hotel,centrally located everyone was friendly and helpful! We had an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2010

Can't beat the location and pice

Equally a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe B cool dude
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 6, 2010

Union Square St Francis

I had a nice time at this hotel it is located in a very centrally located position within the city and served our needs fine for the one night stay we had in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Its Everywhere!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab Family of 4
Business
Northern California
Mar 21, 2010

Westin St. Francis

Room was great as expected- valet service was so rude we were appauled. Can't beat the location but don't need to be treated rude by staff who are there to help us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smwadams
Business
Thornton, CO
Mar 7, 2010

Great location! Pleasant stay.

The hotel is beautiful and in a prime location for enjoying the city. We had booked a room with an upgrade, thinking we would be in the tower (newer part of the hotel) with "limited views". When we arrived, our room was in the older part with a view of a building wall. We felt like we were in a closet! I immediately called the front desk and they were able to put us in another room with a wonderful view, so we were pleased! The concierge desk was very helpful - every person we spoke with was very friendly and offered great suggestions! The only problem we had with the hotel is that you get nickel and dimed for everything!! The fitness center is nothing to brag about and they charge you to use it. They don't have Wi Fi, but you can hook up to the Internet, but again, it's for a fee. Our thought was that these things should be perks when you're paying what we paid to stay there! The beds and showers were great - very comfortable and relaxing! We used the BART and the cable cars to make our way around town. Both are fairly easy to use. You can buy multiple day passes for the cable cars (highly recommended if you're going to be around a few days). You don't have to wait in the long lines at the beginning of the routes - just walk up a block or two and catch it at the stops (they're clearly marked along the streets). The hotel was only about three blocks away from the transit area where you get off of BART from the airport and you can buy the multiple day passes for the cable cars. It's very expensive to park your car at the hotel (about $50/night) so we opted to not get a rental car. I hope this was helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We really enjoyed E & O Trading Co. (green onion flat bread), Crustacean (roasted crab and garlic noodles), Max's (great sandwiches) and the Slanted Door (all the food) for lunch and dinner places. Good breakfast was a little harder to find, but we enjoyed Sears and Max's probably serves a good breakfast (we didn't eat there until our last day). All of these places are either within walking distance from the hotel or a cable car ride. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants because they were pricey - but then again, we spent quite a bit of money outside the hotel on food, so it might have been comparable.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
o.c. mom
Business
Southern Cal
Jul 27, 2009

The Westin St. Francis

Everything was great with the hotel stay starting with check in. I only wish the room was a little bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 9, 2007

Great Location

Excellent central location, clean room, pleasant staff, but would not pay the expensive full price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus pass pays off well for tourists.

Back to menu Return to top