$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Aug 15, 2009

Great hotel for San Francisco vacation!

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hotel location was great for getting around-close to public transportation and great shopping. The hotel staff was very nice. We never had to take a cab. The bus system is amazing and BART is just 3 blocks away. My only complaint was having to pay for extras like internet use, the fitness center, and even the in-room coffee (second cup).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop designer styles this is the place to be. Lots of individual stores and a mall is 3 blocks away. Don't walk alone at night...it's a bit scary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJK
Business
Scottsdale AZ.
Feb 15, 2010

Westin St. Francis

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. Room was small which is typical for an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful at all times. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful Hotel, B+ Stay

The Location is Great. If you are coming to tour the City, it couldn't be better. The hotel is a beautiful historic building. If you are a shopper, you've arrived at the pearly gates. From dinning to sight seeing, nightlife to shopping, you couldn't be in a better location than Union Square. My only disclaimer is my experience at check-in. Cheap tickets did not offer the option of choosing 2 queen size beds in the room; instead offering only a king. Traveling with a friend, this wasn't going to work. At check in i had to pay extra for this option. Not to worry though, i was told that i would also be upgraded to the 18th floor (a room with an amazing view.) Turns out, the woman at the front desk thought "amazing" would be the best word to describe the side of a brick building. If things couldn't be more inconvenient, i was charged an additional upgrade fee that i had to call in to the accounting department to have removed. Long story short, stay above the 18th floor if you want a view. Other than that it was a memorable experience and i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't dined at Millennium, i highly suggest it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, California
Jun 11, 2010

Lovely hotel

Perfect location and deserving of its position as one of San Francisco's premier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is an exciting place to be. Don't feel like you need to stay south of Market Street for Moscone Center conventions. It's an easy, colorful walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kookaburra
Business
Ireland
Jun 15, 2010

Great Location -

First trip to San Francisco and the location of the hotel is spot on - hop on/off tour bus outside,get u to the sights - cable car stops outside hotel - Good place to eat called Maxs round the corner unless u wanna pay top dollar in hotel..Cant fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Jun 14, 2010

awesome vaca

very comfortable. loved the bed. cable car right outside of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny T
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 26, 2010

The good, the bad and the dirty.

We enjoyed our stay. However, upon entering any hotel I always check the linens first to make sure everything is clean. I had to request that the housekeeper remove the throw pillow that appeared to be dirty. After that I had we had no complaints. They really should be more conscientious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was absolutely marvelous. The Westin St. Francis is located at the center of many shops and restaurants. However, be prepared spend spend spend!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensbury, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel and terrific location

A terrific hotel in a great location; I would stay here again and recommend to others, but two quibbles: 1. If you elect to go 'green', maid service does not enter your room, so no clean towels, no emptied waste baskets, and no more coffee packets and cups for the in-room coffee maker. I reverted. 2. The minibar fridge has automatic sensors (or so they told me) that register charges if the contents are disturbed. We kept our own water and soda in the fridge and were surprised by a $120 charge upon checkout. Upon explanation these charges were immediately reversed without the slightest hassle. As an aside - the price of a 12-oz can of soda from the minibar is $9.10 - not a quibble in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm reluctant to label this 'Recreation Attraction' but for a rare enjoyable experience attend a Sunday service at the Glide Memorial Methodist Church. It's a bit of a contrast to a solemn Catholic mass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
Dec 27, 2010

Very alive in perfect location,

Very nice helpful staff,totally enjoyed my christmas weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top