$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
376 reviews
WONDERFUL!

A first class operation all around. Great location. Great service. Great hotel. Best value. Thank... See full review

  • EDWARD K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Oak Room Restaurant
Enjoy a full menu of American favorites at the Oak Room Restaurant. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Oak Room offers tasty à la carte delights, a sumptuous buffet, Westin Kids Club items, and healthy SuperFoodsRx™ options.
BOURBON STEAK
A modern American steakhouse situated in our celebrated landmark lobby, BOURBON STEAK offers fresh, contemporary cuisine with a focus on organic, hormone-free beef, just-caught seafood, and seasonal West Coast ingredients.
Caruso's
Caruso’s offers specialty coffee drinks, homemade pastries, wines by the glass, panini sandwiches, salads and a full bar. Located in the Tower lobby, this is a great place for casual dining, an afternoon snack or quick bite with the family.
Clock Bar
Created by Michelin chef Michael Mina, Clock Bar takes the cocktail lounge concept to heady new heights. Savor handcrafted cocktails, gourmet finger foods, sumptuous entrées, and sample vintages from our 300-label wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kartanze
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

A Classic, great service

I'm a former long-time San Franciscan, transplanted to NYC, and love returning for a long drink of this world-class city. The St. Francis is always my choice when staying in a hotel there, and it always satisfies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 23, 2010

The good, the bad, the really ugly...

Admittedly, I am v. fussy about the room I am assigned. It can make or ruin my stay in a hotel. I told the woman signing us in that we were expecting a tower room floors 17-20, and that I would like a front view over Union Square of the bay and bridge. She gave us room 2095 which was roof level with another building and looked north with no good view. I went back to the desk and the staff had changed, so I had to deal with another woman and explained the view I wanted. She managed that but put us three floors lower in room 1783 which was blocked by the old part of the hotel. Room 2083 would have been perfect, but by moving us down three floor she screwed me. Intentional, or not, we will never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to SF in the summer, be preparted to dress warmly. It was overcast, foggy and windy for our three day stay. Mark Twain said, "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in SF", and it can be v. true!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
63melpha
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 20, 2010

Rip Off!!!

Even though I paid over $300 for a room at this hotel for one night, the staff put me in a room "with a view" which it had. What it didn't have was a queen bed but a Murphy bed about 3" thick on top of a sheet of plywood. Unbelievable! I would have had a better night's sleep if I had slept on the floor. At least the floor didn't squeak. It was a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realtor Chick
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 20, 2010

Enjoyed immensely

Loved the city. Would definitely go back. The Westin St. Francis was a grand old hotel steeped in history and located centrally. The front desk and conscierge staff (especially [...]!) were friendly and efficient, very helpful. The cleaning staff were friendly, but often did not take dirty glasses, did not leave clean ones, didn't replenish coffee or tea products, and never left enough towels. Otherwise, great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 20, 2010

Anniversary stay

We had a great time at the Westin St.Francis. We stayed in a grand deluxe room located in the modern tower. The view was great! It was extremely quiet which was good! The location is fantastic I don't know where else I would have wanted to stay. Advice: be specific when you are asking the concierge for restaurant recommendations. He recommended two for us which ended up being a little to fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to Napa or Sonoma I highly recommend Goldengategetaways! [...] was our guide and he was wonderful!! Couldn't have been better--well worth the money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOL Law
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 20, 2010

Nothing Special

Overall the stay was fine, but not what we usually get from such a highly rated hotel. There was only one towel in the room when we got there (at 2 am), and our door key stopped working prior to the end of our stay - the security guy was slow and not helpful getting us back in our room. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job during our stay either - they left used glasses in the room every day and didn't replace them with clean ones. The concierge staff were terrific though and went way above our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's about a block away was terrific.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 19, 2010

A Special Place

My wife and I spent a week exploring San Francisco and the surrounding bay area. We found the Westin St. Francis to be an ideally situated home base from which to explore. Union square is a short walk/MUNI/cab ride from almost every major attraction in the city which is a real plus. The hotel itself is historic and beautiful with the excellent signature and trendy Michael Mina restaurant and clock cocktail lounge. We had bruch at the signature and it was excellent with great service. The rooms are smaller but clean with HD tvs, complimentary Starbucks coffee and a mini fridge for purchasing overpriced beverages of all kinds! The only major problem we had was a neighbor who smoked intermittently for a couple days straight. The smaller rooms have a connecting door and the smoke went right under the door and into our room. We called security our first night and they stopped it but our neighbors continued to disrespect us so I went down and complained in person. The concierge handled the situation professionally and appropriately and immediately offered us an upgrade to the top floor with a nice view of union square. The concierge also helped us with renting a car and suggested some nice places/shows to see. He was really top notch. The only other minor hiccups we had were that they didn't answer the phone when we dialed zero one night and there is no microwave minifridge which would have helped save some cash (but I suppose they aren't in the business of saving me cash!). It was an excellent stay overall and I would give 4.5 stars if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get a MUNI pass! This will save you money on cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savtrav
Business
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to par

Great location on Union Square but not up to our expectations based on previous experience with Westin Hotels. The room was quite small and very noisy; doors could be heard opening and closing loudly and we could clearly hear conversations from the adjacent rooms. The room was clean but one day they did not come at all so we called for room cleaning as we were on our way to dinner and it was still not cleaned when we came back. When we called again, they said they had called us and we had never called them back which was untrue. Also a bad system re getting boarding passes printed; there is one computer for this but it was overrun by people doing banking and checking e-mails. I had to go down very late at night to get on it; the alternative was pay $10 to get online. On the plus side, the hotel lobby is beautiful and the concierge was very helpful in getting us restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very fine dining, try Fleur de Lys which is a short walk away. It is an extremely beautiful and romantic restaurant and the food was just delicious. Also try Cafe Mason, also a short walk away, for breakfast; it is much better than the much touted Sears and features pumpkin crepes and pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jtm2300
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2010

Small room

Stayed overnight with the wife. Room was surprisingly small for the price paid, guess this is to be expected for the location at the heart of San Francisco. Still, a bit claustrophobia inducing. Otherwise, service was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clock Bar seems to be one of the few hotel bars in the area open seven days a week until late. 24-hour Lori's Diner located just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2010

Can't beat the location and pice

Equally a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top