$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miguel from LA
Los Angeles, California
Feb 19, 2013

Amazing, Great Stay! I would do it again!

Easy access to a lot of great places. Walking distance to public transportation and there are always taxis service outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of near by shopping

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TB traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 14, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

This was my first time at this hotel. It was in a great location right on union square and close to the convention center for my business meeting. My only complaints were that the room was on te small side and we had NO view. It looked out on a brick wall which was very disorienting. I would stay here gain but would probably book through the front desk to know better what I am getting. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the hotel was absolutely beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Fang and had a wonderful experience! The owner sat us and then ordered for us. Delicious!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling fool to SF
Business
San Diego
Feb 1, 2014

amazing location

The room was beautiful and the location could not have been better. What I dont like about the old hotels is the old carpet. They need to rip that stuff out and reveal the hard wood floors that are probably below it. Otherwise an amazing hotel with five star staff. Great historical pictures of all of the famous people and presidents that have stayed there. Really fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotels provides a great list of places nearby that are all great places. 7 story Macy's right next door. So much fun.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Rob
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 8, 2014

Family vacation

The staff was very courteous and professional. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Trolly round trip. It's worth it. Stunning views.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anica M
Business
Vegas
Apr 3, 2014

Perfect location!!

Updated room was great! Stayed on 19th floor and still had a great city view! Some rooms have views of Union Square... The location of the hotel was perfectly nestled in walking distance to several high end shopping stores like Neiman Marcus, BCBG, Hermes, Chanel and Macys! There are also several restaurants right there, so it is in the heart of the city. The staff was nice and accommodating. Updated rooms have pillow top mattresses and rainfall showers, with marble bathroom tubs. Will definitely stay here the next time I am in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Herve Leger is literally next door to hotel entrance!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sega707
Business
Santa Rosa ca
Apr 3, 2014

Night out

Great location. Room a bit small but has everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonpy
Business
SF, California
May 7, 2014

Great location

We have stayed at this hotel several times. The best about this hotel is the LOCATION... besides it is also a SF landmark. The main entrance lobby is beautiful. It has the charm of an old classic European style building... but also note that that comes with the rooms being small. One thing I dislike is that the windows in the room do not open -at least that is the case in the rooms I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

BEAUTIFUL HISTORY

I STAYED IN THE ODL PART OF THE HOTEL, THE ROOM IS BIG AND COMFORTABLE, BUT OLD. I WANTED TO STAY THER FOR THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND BECAUSE OF THE TRADITION OF THIS HOTEL. THE ONLY THING I DIDN?T LIKE IS THAT WE RENTED A CAR AND THE PARKING IN THE HOTEL WAS ALLMOST $50.OO DLLS PER DAY. WE COULDN?T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nins
Business
Linden, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

The Westin St. Francis-7/13-7/16_NBaynos

The Westin St. Francis's staff were extremely friendly, helpful, respectful, and hospitable. In addition, the hotel was centrally located in Downtown San Francisco, and this made reaching tourist sites relatively easy. My room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this particular hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss H
Business
Los Angelels, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Location, location, location

We had a great experience. The staff was extremely pleasant, courteous, and helpful. We did a lot of sightseeing. You couldn't ask for a better location that was close to everything. This ranks high on my list of trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find all sorts of moderately priced restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cristobal414
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Relaxing

It was a mini vacation to get away from reality. It was nice to be in the city. The hotel was in a great location, near everything and everywhere I needed to go. The hotel disappointed me in its cleanliness and size. The walls had noticeable stains. Our morning was interrupted by our neighbors' loud conversations. The bathroom needed more toiletry such as lotion. Overall I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top