$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
372 reviews
Perfect Location!!

Great Stay in the heart of San Francisco. Hotel staff were friendly and rooms were very modern in... See full review

  • Christopher Travel Extrod
  • Sep 10, 2014
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Feb 28, 2010

Better job cleaning toilets

I was in town for a small convention at the Palace Hotel. Both hotels were quite large and somewhat ancient. I preferred the St. Francis. Apparently there is a newer part of the St. Francis that I didn't see. I'd go back, but for the money you charge I would like a nicer room. Room service very expensive but impeccable. Otherwise, I enjoyed the St. Francis. Good survey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I "struck it rich" at Macy's two day sale. Sorry I missed Chinese New Year parade. Had a great Hot Dog on street corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful Hotel, B+ Stay

The Location is Great. If you are coming to tour the City, it couldn't be better. The hotel is a beautiful historic building. If you are a shopper, you've arrived at the pearly gates. From dinning to sight seeing, nightlife to shopping, you couldn't be in a better location than Union Square. My only disclaimer is my experience at check-in. Cheap tickets did not offer the option of choosing 2 queen size beds in the room; instead offering only a king. Traveling with a friend, this wasn't going to work. At check in i had to pay extra for this option. Not to worry though, i was told that i would also be upgraded to the 18th floor (a room with an amazing view.) Turns out, the woman at the front desk thought "amazing" would be the best word to describe the side of a brick building. If things couldn't be more inconvenient, i was charged an additional upgrade fee that i had to call in to the accounting department to have removed. Long story short, stay above the 18th floor if you want a view. Other than that it was a memorable experience and i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you haven't dined at Millennium, i highly suggest it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, California
Jun 11, 2010

Lovely hotel

Perfect location and deserving of its position as one of San Francisco's premier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is an exciting place to be. Don't feel like you need to stay south of Market Street for Moscone Center conventions. It's an easy, colorful walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kookaburra
Business
Ireland
Jun 15, 2010

Great Location -

First trip to San Francisco and the location of the hotel is spot on - hop on/off tour bus outside,get u to the sights - cable car stops outside hotel - Good place to eat called Maxs round the corner unless u wanna pay top dollar in hotel..Cant fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Jun 14, 2010

awesome vaca

very comfortable. loved the bed. cable car right outside of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny T
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 26, 2010

The good, the bad and the dirty.

We enjoyed our stay. However, upon entering any hotel I always check the linens first to make sure everything is clean. I had to request that the housekeeper remove the throw pillow that appeared to be dirty. After that I had we had no complaints. They really should be more conscientious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was absolutely marvelous. The Westin St. Francis is located at the center of many shops and restaurants. However, be prepared spend spend spend!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensbury, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel and terrific location

A terrific hotel in a great location; I would stay here again and recommend to others, but two quibbles: 1. If you elect to go 'green', maid service does not enter your room, so no clean towels, no emptied waste baskets, and no more coffee packets and cups for the in-room coffee maker. I reverted. 2. The minibar fridge has automatic sensors (or so they told me) that register charges if the contents are disturbed. We kept our own water and soda in the fridge and were surprised by a $120 charge upon checkout. Upon explanation these charges were immediately reversed without the slightest hassle. As an aside - the price of a 12-oz can of soda from the minibar is $9.10 - not a quibble in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm reluctant to label this 'Recreation Attraction' but for a rare enjoyable experience attend a Sunday service at the Glide Memorial Methodist Church. It's a bit of a contrast to a solemn Catholic mass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
Dec 27, 2010

Very alive in perfect location,

Very nice helpful staff,totally enjoyed my christmas weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovelygirl
Business
OC CALIFORNIA
Apr 26, 2011

Best San Fran HOtel

It is located at the center of San Francisco Union Square, great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: Use BART to get from the hotel to the airport it will save you time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top