$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TessKeely
Friends
Santa Rosa, CA
May 29, 2012

Classic landmark piece of history

Love this hotel and it's location, and the prices are reasonable. They gave us a free upgrade to a family size, very large room, and they gave us a $50 bar credit because we had to wait an hour for the room. Only drawback is a $200 speaker was stolen from my bedside when I went out to breakfast, obviously by an employee. Definitely use the in-room safes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Scala's Bistro, right down the street. Best meal I've ever had!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desperate dan
Couples
dublin
Jun 5, 2012

First time visit to San Francisco

First time to visit San Francisco stayed in Westin St Francis, a beautifull hotel in a perfect location in a beautifull city, excellent staff very helpfull, lovely big room, very clean big bathroom. We did nt eat in hotel mainly because the choice of quality eating places in the vicinity of hotel was just too good to pass up. Very nice lobby bar. Over all a lovely hotel and we will be back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are using the street cable cars, dont wait for them at their terminus walk a few blocks and pick them up en route because its about a 50 minute wait at the terminus most of the day, every second one has to leave room to pick passengers up on the street,

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melons
Family
Turlock California
Jun 26, 2012

Great location

Check in was easy and the rooms were clean and quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Whisperer
Friends
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 2, 2012

Always a favorite!

A trip to SF always starts with a reservation being made at the beautiful Westin St Francis, Union Square. Smack dab in the middle of the action, this hotel is exactly where I want to be... located within a stone's throw of amazing shopping, and with Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak downstairs, life is good indeed. The staff is stellar, the hotel top notch and the experience consistently memorable. Definitely worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melons
Single
Turlock California
Jul 6, 2012

July busness

Very friendly staff and great location. A fun and relaxing bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US101
Couples
San Jose CA
Jul 22, 2012

Perfectly satisfactory

Reading light at bedside didn't work, but there were otherwise no surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save $20 per night by self parking in the parking structure underneath Union Sq directly across the street.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassian
Couples
Mountain view, ca
Aug 12, 2012

A date night out on the town

It was a wonderful night. My boyfriend and I booked the hotel room at the st. Francis to be able to stay in the city after seeing a show at the theatre. Since it was in the union square there was a ton of people, but it was nice to drive into their valet with out the worry of other cars or taxis zooming past you. The staff was friendly and helpful and even to time to move our room so it wasn't next to the elevator. We had a great nights sleep because the bed and bedding was so soft and plushy. I can't wait to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonina430
Couples
Miami
Aug 10, 2012

Summer Vacation

My wife and I had a great time during our week stay at the hotel. The location was amazing, concierge gave us great dining recommendations, and our 75 min. couples massage was bar none. Room shower was slightly dirty. Valet parking fee was ridiculous at $58/night, I recommend parking across the street in the Union Square parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLynch
Family
Southern California
Sep 10, 2012

Great time

My family had a great 2-nt stay from socal to see the giants/dodgers. We had a great corner room, and the staff was friendly & helpful. This is our 3rd time on union square because you cant top the location. The st. francis edged out our stay last year for 1st place- I would definitly recommend to a friend & of course would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were looking for a little music club to go to Fri. nite, and blithely discovered Biscuits & Blues right behind the hotel! Not one of the cheaper things to do, but definitely fun.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartinAarestad
Business
Oslo
Oct 10, 2012

In the Heart of San Fran

Just came back from Oracle Openworld in San Fran. Had a great stay and would be happy to reccomend this Hotel. Great Location, but make sure you get a rom with a View of the street and not the back allys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Sky or the lounge in the W hotel

Back to menu Return to top