$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr Dick
Business
Huntsville, ALabama
Aug 3, 2010

Room near the elevator

Great location, beautiful lobby. The 1st room was very small, but clean. The 2nd room was in the towers and much larger, but, RIGHT NEXT TO the bank of 5 elevators. Horrible noise all nite long and when we complained, no other rooms were available. Never again !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's excellent Italian food.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferrygate
Business
North Berwick, East Lothian
Jul 30, 2010

Great Location

This beautiful hotel was recomended to us and didn't disappoint. The location was fab, the staff were very helpful and our room in the old part or the hotel overlooked Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferrygate
Business
North Berwick, East Lothian
Jul 30, 2010

Great Location

This beautiful hotel was recomended to us and didn't disappoint. The location was fab, the staff were very helpful and our room in the old part or the hotel overlooked Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2010

excellence

every thing about the hotel was excellent, i had no problem and would go back again whenever i am in San Francisco, i also commend the entire staff as well. my experience with the Westin St. Francis was one of the Best in hotel stay that had. Thanks to you guys for my great stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All in walking distance

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 26, 2010

Perfect location, great rooms - worth it

The location doesn't get any better if you're interested in seeing the sights - we were able to walk to all of our points of interest from the hotel, including Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Presidio - and more. We did take a bus to Haight-Ashbury and Golden Gate Park, but getting back was easy given Muni. And, getting to and from the airport was no problem on BART. The room was also very nice, but really, location location location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kartanze
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

A Classic, great service

I'm a former long-time San Franciscan, transplanted to NYC, and love returning for a long drink of this world-class city. The St. Francis is always my choice when staying in a hotel there, and it always satisfies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 23, 2010

The good, the bad, the really ugly...

Admittedly, I am v. fussy about the room I am assigned. It can make or ruin my stay in a hotel. I told the woman signing us in that we were expecting a tower room floors 17-20, and that I would like a front view over Union Square of the bay and bridge. She gave us room 2095 which was roof level with another building and looked north with no good view. I went back to the desk and the staff had changed, so I had to deal with another woman and explained the view I wanted. She managed that but put us three floors lower in room 1783 which was blocked by the old part of the hotel. Room 2083 would have been perfect, but by moving us down three floor she screwed me. Intentional, or not, we will never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to SF in the summer, be preparted to dress warmly. It was overcast, foggy and windy for our three day stay. Mark Twain said, "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in SF", and it can be v. true!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 20, 2010

Anniversary stay

We had a great time at the Westin St.Francis. We stayed in a grand deluxe room located in the modern tower. The view was great! It was extremely quiet which was good! The location is fantastic I don't know where else I would have wanted to stay. Advice: be specific when you are asking the concierge for restaurant recommendations. He recommended two for us which ended up being a little to fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going to Napa or Sonoma I highly recommend Goldengategetaways! [...] was our guide and he was wonderful!! Couldn't have been better--well worth the money

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOL Law
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 20, 2010

Nothing Special

Overall the stay was fine, but not what we usually get from such a highly rated hotel. There was only one towel in the room when we got there (at 2 am), and our door key stopped working prior to the end of our stay - the security guy was slow and not helpful getting us back in our room. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job during our stay either - they left used glasses in the room every day and didn't replace them with clean ones. The concierge staff were terrific though and went way above our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's about a block away was terrific.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
63melpha
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 20, 2010

Rip Off!!!

Even though I paid over $300 for a room at this hotel for one night, the staff put me in a room "with a view" which it had. What it didn't have was a queen bed but a Murphy bed about 3" thick on top of a sheet of plywood. Unbelievable! I would have had a better night's sleep if I had slept on the floor. At least the floor didn't squeak. It was a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top