$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Bum Barb
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 25, 2012

In the middle of everything

Our first trip to San Francisco won't be our last! We loved the Westin St. Francis at Union Square. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and amenities. Our room was great, with a fantastic view of the city and the Bay beyond. When we return to S.F., we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is either at the Westin St. Francis or a short walk away. The concierge will be happy to help you with any questions and is your best source for booking travel and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dsiney Family
Business
Novato, CA
Nov 22, 2010

As expected

Spent one night in order to go to a charity event. Hotel treats guests well, and the hotel bar was the place to be. Only drawback was the small room and older building - something you can't get away from in SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in a beautiful and fun location - Union Square. Don't stay 5 blocks away and try to walk. Stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wasington, DC
Nov 3, 2010

Great hotel

A VERY nice hotel in a great location. I like it better than the Fairmont. Checking in and out was a breeze. My room was quiet and comfortable. I will stay here on my next trip to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take BART to and from the airport and get off at the Powell Street station -- you are just a short stroll from Union Square. From Union Square you also can easily walk to the Ferry Building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, Washington
Oct 12, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Lots of shopping and going to the DeYoung Museum. Hotel were very helpful with getting tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Maryann Street just off Union Square for unique specialty shops....especially fine imported fabrics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaVinci74
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Oct 12, 2010

Excellent upscale hotel! Great location!

The Westin is located in a great location convenient to downtown San Francisco. The hotel is located facing Union Square and there are many restaurants in this historic area. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 5, 2010

Great location, service lacking

Spent ten minutes in line to check in. Room was ready two hours later. Spent 15 minutes in line to pick up key after room was ready.Reception area very disorganized!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 4, 2010

Good Location

The location is great - right in Union Square, with a lot of shopping in the area. Also it's not a bad walk down to the Ferry Building if you are so inclined. The hotel room is nice in the new towers, and just OK if you get into the older towers. I'd stay here again if I could guarantee to stay in the new towers, I was not a fan of the older rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Sunny San Francisco

It was adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensbury, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel and terrific location

A terrific hotel in a great location; I would stay here again and recommend to others, but two quibbles: 1. If you elect to go 'green', maid service does not enter your room, so no clean towels, no emptied waste baskets, and no more coffee packets and cups for the in-room coffee maker. I reverted. 2. The minibar fridge has automatic sensors (or so they told me) that register charges if the contents are disturbed. We kept our own water and soda in the fridge and were surprised by a $120 charge upon checkout. Upon explanation these charges were immediately reversed without the slightest hassle. As an aside - the price of a 12-oz can of soda from the minibar is $9.10 - not a quibble in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm reluctant to label this 'Recreation Attraction' but for a rare enjoyable experience attend a Sunday service at the Glide Memorial Methodist Church. It's a bit of a contrast to a solemn Catholic mass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensbury, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel and terrific location

A terrific hotel in a great location; I would stay here again and recommend to others, but two quibbles: 1. If you elect to go 'green', maid service does not enter your room, so no clean towels, no emptied waste baskets, and no more coffee packets and cups for the in-room coffee maker. I reverted. 2. The minibar fridge has automatic sensors (or so they told me) that register charges if the contents are disturbed. We kept our own water and soda in the fridge and were surprised by a $120 charge upon checkout. Upon explanation these charges were immediately reversed without the slightest hassle. As an aside - the price of a 12-oz can of soda from the minibar is $9.10 - not a quibble in my book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm reluctant to label this 'Recreation Attraction' but for a rare enjoyable experience attend a Sunday service at the Glide Memorial Methodist Church. It's a bit of a contrast to a solemn Catholic mass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Aug 30, 2010

The Westin, St. Francis

The Westin's great location in the center of Union Square was worth the price. The service was excellent and the Concierge desk was valuable help in finding things we needed to get to. I highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again. We had a 30th floor room, which provided the most magnificent view of the city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right in the heart of the greatest shopping areas and a short walk from Chinatown and Little Italy...perfect

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top