The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$179
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016

San Fran

Would recommend Tue, Dec 21, 2010
This hotel is in a great location for transportation options and walking to restaurants, attractions and shopping. The staff is professional and accommodating. The overall interior is clean and tastefully adorned. There is also adequate security in place.

Dining

The Bourbon Steakhouse inside the hotel is incredible. Make your reservations when you book your room if possible, they fill up.

| Ann Arbor, MI Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great hotel

Would recommend Thu, Dec 16, 2010
Lots of charm. Great service. Great rooms. Not cheap but reasonable for the area. Free wireless in the lobby but *not* in the rooms. In my opinion a hotel of this caliber should have free wifi in the rooms. Be sure to ride the elevator up in the new towers -- fantastic view.

Dining

I highly recommend the Daily Grill (across the street) and Max's (a few blocks west on Geary).

| Baltimore, MD Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A wonderful stay!

Would recommend Wed, Nov 24, 2010
The Westin St Francis is absolutely beautiful, and an excellent choice for the price. It's a tiny bit more than others in the area, but well worth it. I picked a room on a higher floor (I had read reviews that the music from the jazz club is loud at night on lower floors, not a problem for me though - I did it for the view), and was very impressed. The bathroom was very nicely done and the shower/bath was huge with an extra deep tub for soaking in after climbing hills all day. I did not have the chance to eat at either of the restaurants on the property, but they looked good. The only complaint I had was that the ice buckets provided by the hotel are ridiculously tiny. Definitely not big enough to chill a decent bottle of champagne. The location was easy to find and not on *so* sharp a hill as others. It is within walking distance of Chinatown, and close to many great restaurants and a lot of shopping. There is a cable car half a block away from the hotel that goes straight through Chinatown to Ghiradelli square. I highly recommend this hotel

Money saver

The cable car stops within sight of the hotel - buy a day or a 3 day pass. Otherwise it's expensive transportation at $5 a ride.

| NH Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

As expected

Would recommend Mon, Nov 22, 2010
Spent one night in order to go to a charity event. Hotel treats guests well, and the hotel bar was the place to be. Only drawback was the small room and older building - something you can't get away from in SF

Shopping hint

This hotel is in a beautiful and fun location - Union Square. Don't stay 5 blocks away and try to walk. Stay here.

| Novato, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great hotel

Would recommend Wed, Nov 3, 2010
A VERY nice hotel in a great location. I like it better than the Fairmont. Checking in and out was a breeze. My room was quiet and comfortable. I will stay here on my next trip to San Francisco.

Money saver

Take BART to and from the airport and get off at the Powell Street station -- you are just a short stroll from Union Square. From Union Square you also can easily walk to the Ferry Building.

| Wasington, DC Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Unbeatable location for the price

Would recommend Tue, Oct 12, 2010
Lots of shopping and going to the DeYoung Museum. Hotel were very helpful with getting tickets.

Shopping hint

Go to Maryann Street just off Union Square for unique specialty shops....especially fine imported fabrics.

| Spokane, Washington Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent upscale hotel! Great location!

Would recommend Tue, Oct 12, 2010
The Westin is located in a great location convenient to downtown San Francisco. The hotel is located facing Union Square and there are many restaurants in this historic area. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

| Wilmington, Delaware Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location, service lacking

Would recommend Tue, Oct 5, 2010
Spent ten minutes in line to check in. Room was ready two hours later. Spent 15 minutes in line to pick up key after room was ready.Reception area very disorganized!!!!!!!!!!!!!

| Florida Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Good Location

Would recommend Mon, Oct 4, 2010
The location is great - right in Union Square, with a lot of shopping in the area. Also it's not a bad walk down to the Ferry Building if you are so inclined. The hotel room is nice in the new towers, and just OK if you get into the older towers. I'd stay here again if I could guarantee to stay in the new towers, I was not a fan of the older rooms.

| seattle, wa Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Sunny San Francisco

Would recommend Mon, Oct 4, 2010
It was adequate

| Princeton, NJ Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5