$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Federico11
Mexico
Jul 30, 2014

Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts recommend this great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops around the hotel and surrounding union square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usajane
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 13, 2011

San Francisco Weekend

nice hotel in THE BEST location. It's close to everything: shops, restaurants, San Francisco MOMA. We would definitely stay here again. The view was fantastic from our LARGE room on the 16th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great Chinese restaurants and we had one of the best meals that we had in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Fran, CA
Jan 24, 2011

Great

Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norcal
Jan 11, 2011

Ok

Expensive parking rates they do not tell you about. $50.00 for every day you stay. Room was nice, but housekeeping/maintenance was talking loudly at 04:15 am waking my family. Bell service was outstanding. there ws a conference for JP Morgan during our stay so there were hundreds of people standing in the lobby and blocking access to the bell desk, restaurant, cafe and elevators. Made it very difficult use any of the hotels services and elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marin, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Could not have had a nicer New Year'Eve

The service was excellent right from the start. Right on Union Square, the hotel has that old world style that screams San Francisco. Can not wait till we stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a shoppers dream. Every store you could want within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Westin St. Francis disappointment

We asked for (and paid for) a deluxe room with a "city view". Our room was very nice but our room on the 17th floor (in the tower) did not have a "city view" unless you just like looking at the tops of other tall buildings like the Hyatt. Instead, from the 17th floor you get to look at the back side of the old hotel section(St. Francis)because it is the same height. We could have saved money be selecting a room with "no view" because that is what we ended up with anyway. In Summary, nice rooms but poor management. Next time, I will book a room at the Hyatt or Hilton because their rooms actually have "city views".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
Dec 27, 2010

Very alive in perfect location,

Very nice helpful staff,totally enjoyed my christmas weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Worth, Tx
Dec 27, 2010

Festive and romantic holidaytime getaway

Great service, spectacular views from 30th flr, terrific spa treatment, fabulouse food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Water Bar on the bay for lunches; short walk:Sears cafe for breakfast; taxi or trolly: Fiore D' Italia for dinner; short walk: Fluer D lie and Masa's for dinner; Near De Young Art Museum "Park Chow" for lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver BC Canada
Dec 27, 2010

Very alive in perfect location,

Very nice helpful staff,totally enjoyed my christmas weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinCarbon
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 21, 2010

San Fran

This hotel is in a great location for transportation options and walking to restaurants, attractions and shopping. The staff is professional and accommodating. The overall interior is clean and tastefully adorned. There is also adequate security in place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bourbon Steakhouse inside the hotel is incredible. Make your reservations when you book your room if possible, they fill up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 16, 2010

Great hotel

Lots of charm. Great service. Great rooms. Not cheap but reasonable for the area. Free wireless in the lobby but *not* in the rooms. In my opinion a hotel of this caliber should have free wifi in the rooms. Be sure to ride the elevator up in the new towers -- fantastic view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend the Daily Grill (across the street) and Max's (a few blocks west on Geary).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top