$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. ROR
Business
VA
May 13, 2011

Not quite as expected

The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Business
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
May 2, 2011

Classic San Francisco Hotel

Great location, nice room with beautiful views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks at top of Grand Hyatt or Top of the Mark

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovelygirl
Business
OC CALIFORNIA
Apr 26, 2011

Best San Fran HOtel

It is located at the center of San Francisco Union Square, great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: Use BART to get from the hotel to the airport it will save you time and money.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovelygirl
Business
OC CALIFORNIA
Apr 26, 2011

Best San Fran HOtel

It is located at the center of San Francisco Union Square, great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: Use BART to get from the hotel to the airport it will save you time and money.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico city
Mar 21, 2011

The Westin St. Francis

lovely, except for the valet, it was so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

all teh boutiques, trendy shops and bif department stores are located justa a few steps away

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monkberry
Business
portland maine
Feb 21, 2011

Clean, friendly, and classy!

You know...stuff worked. Staff was helpful. Room was clean. Great location. I'll be back there for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Feb 20, 2011

nice hotel

pleasant environment, historic hotel, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 16, 2011

valentine

great room and service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top