$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saxxerouen
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Evening Out!!!

Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saxxerouen
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Evening Out!!!

Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2011

Fantastic getaway

A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2011

Fantastic getaway

A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. ROR
Business
VA
May 13, 2011

Not quite as expected

The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. ROR
Business
VA
May 13, 2011

Not quite as expected

The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern CA
May 2, 2011

Classic San Francisco Hotel

Great location, nice room with beautiful views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks at top of Grand Hyatt or Top of the Mark

Back to menu Return to top