$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Whisperer
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 2, 2012

Always a favorite!

A trip to SF always starts with a reservation being made at the beautiful Westin St Francis, Union Square. Smack dab in the middle of the action, this hotel is exactly where I want to be... located within a stone's throw of amazing shopping, and with Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak downstairs, life is good indeed. The staff is stellar, the hotel top notch and the experience consistently memorable. Definitely worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melons
Business
Turlock California
Jul 6, 2012

July busness

Very friendly staff and great location. A fun and relaxing bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US101
Business
San Jose CA
Jul 22, 2012

Perfectly satisfactory

Reading light at bedside didn't work, but there were otherwise no surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save $20 per night by self parking in the parking structure underneath Union Sq directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassian
Business
Mountain view, ca
Aug 12, 2012

A date night out on the town

It was a wonderful night. My boyfriend and I booked the hotel room at the st. Francis to be able to stay in the city after seeing a show at the theatre. Since it was in the union square there was a ton of people, but it was nice to drive into their valet with out the worry of other cars or taxis zooming past you. The staff was friendly and helpful and even to time to move our room so it wasn't next to the elevator. We had a great nights sleep because the bed and bedding was so soft and plushy. I can't wait to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonina430
Business
Miami
Aug 10, 2012

Summer Vacation

My wife and I had a great time during our week stay at the hotel. The location was amazing, concierge gave us great dining recommendations, and our 75 min. couples massage was bar none. Room shower was slightly dirty. Valet parking fee was ridiculous at $58/night, I recommend parking across the street in the Union Square parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLynch
Business
Southern California
Sep 10, 2012

Great time

My family had a great 2-nt stay from socal to see the giants/dodgers. We had a great corner room, and the staff was friendly & helpful. This is our 3rd time on union square because you cant top the location. The st. francis edged out our stay last year for 1st place- I would definitly recommend to a friend & of course would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were looking for a little music club to go to Fri. nite, and blithely discovered Biscuits & Blues right behind the hotel! Not one of the cheaper things to do, but definitely fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartinAarestad
Business
Oslo
Oct 10, 2012

In the Heart of San Fran

Just came back from Oracle Openworld in San Fran. Had a great stay and would be happy to reccomend this Hotel. Great Location, but make sure you get a rom with a View of the street and not the back allys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Sky or the lounge in the W hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco's lover
Business
Greenwich, Connecticut
Oct 18, 2012

Friendly

It was my first time in San Francisco and cannot wait to get back. Loved the city and the hotel was great, staff very professional at check in desk and concierge. EXCEPT, FOR ROOM SERVICE THAT WAS REQUIRED AND WE DIDN'T GET IT UNTIL 24 HOURS LATER WHEN WE CALL AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Designer consignment shop: Sui Generis Consignment 2231 Market Street Fantastic And the most exciting of the trip, was renting a bike and riding over the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito And please have Breakfast at Little Griddle on Market Street, to die for if you like chicken, please try Zuni Cafe, on Market Street, you must wait an hour to roast but, it's so worthy the wait, delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler124
Business
CA
Nov 5, 2012

Stay at St. Francis

Happy overall, room was great. On the downside: staff wasn't overly friendly, and the parking was EXPENSIVE ($60 per night!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indigovic
Business
south carolina
Dec 14, 2012

san francisco

every thing u need in a great hotel EXCEPT, as a swimmer i would have loved to have an indoor pool. The hotel has so much history and interesting artifacts to keep you busy. Food great and the service exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Marin peninsula and Sausalito are a must.Take the drive off of RT 1 as soon as you cross over the Golden gate bridge heading North. Winding road high over the pacific

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top