The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$179
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016

Loved it

Would recommend Mon, Aug 29, 2011
I booked at the Westin overnight to have a nice night away from home. My girlfriend and I picked up her younger sister for dinner for her 18th birthday and we decided to stay in the City. The outside is impressive. The lobby is rife with beautiful chandeliers, a mini snack bar, and several eateries. There are a lot of elevators, which I liked, because I didn't have to wait very long. The valet was quick to take my car and quick to get it back upon checkout. Inside the room, the sheets were thick and warm, the beds are extremely soft and roomy, and the television was a good size. Anything not provided in the room can be sent up (we asked for utensils and a toothbrush). There were plenty of towels, pillows, and wall outlets. Aside from a refrigerator for personal beverages, I had no complaints.

Shopping hint

Do not drive anywhere if you are staying here, it is too difficult to get in and out of the garage due to the one way streets. However, automobiles do not matter, the hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance (tops) of the Westfield shopping mall and many restaurants, coffee shops, and standalone stores are on the same block. The Cheesecake Factory/Macy's is maybe 50 yards away. Very close. When exiting the elevator, you can actually walk through Victoria's Secret to get onto Powell street, as the back entrance is in the hotel.

| Soledad, CA, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Would recommend Mon, Aug 22, 2011
Other than the fact that the choice of food in the one bar that was open and the prices for a drink were very high it was o.k. Would go back again but not to the bar. The reservation clerk was very helpful.

Nightlife hint

Don't go in for a drink unless you have lot's of extra money to spend just for the fun of it!!

| Carmel, CA, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location, excellent hotel

Would recommend Tue, Aug 16, 2011
Great hotel and location. If I'll go again defenitly I'll choose this hotel again.

| Atlanta, GA, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Received room upgrade

Would recommend Sat, Aug 13, 2011
We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our kids surprised us by arranging for a fruit and cheese plate on our arrival and the hotel went a step further and upgraded our room at no additional charge. Staff are all very helpful.

| Houston, TX, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Evening Out!!!

Would recommend Wed, Aug 10, 2011
Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Nightlife hint

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

| Sacramento, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Fantastic getaway

Would recommend Tue, Aug 9, 2011
A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

| San Francisco Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Not quite as expected

Would not recommend Fri, May 13, 2011
The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Attractions

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

| VA Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Okay..not great

Would not recommend Mon, May 9, 2011
Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

| Vacaville Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Classic San Francisco Hotel

Would recommend Mon, May 2, 2011
Great location, nice room with beautiful views

Dining

Drinks at top of Grand Hyatt or Top of the Mark

| Northern CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

The Westin St. Francis

Would recommend Mon, Mar 21, 2011
lovely, except for the valet, it was so expensive.

Shopping hint

all teh boutiques, trendy shops and bif department stores are located justa a few steps away

| mexico city Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5