$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satlue
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great location, excellent hotel

Great hotel and location. If I'll go again defenitly I'll choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BandK
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Received room upgrade

We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our kids surprised us by arranging for a fruit and cheese plate on our arrival and the hotel went a step further and upgraded our room at no additional charge. Staff are all very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saxxerouen
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Evening Out!!!

Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2011

Fantastic getaway

A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

The Westin St. Francis was conveniently located 3 blocks from the BART Powell Street Station, which made it easy to catch the train to the hotel from the San Francisco airport. As is typical, the Westin staff was gracious and accomodating. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Located directly across from Union Square, there are numerous restaurants and shopping galore within walking distance as well as a cable car stop directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed with details from the orignal era with gorgeous marble floors and vanity in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We arranged in advance for a 1/2 day tour to the Muir Woods, Sausalito and the Golden Gate Park, which included pick up at the hotel. In addition, I highly recommend a visit to Alcatraz Island, which should be booked on-line, in advance, as those cruises sell out most days. Chinatown was within a short walk of our hotel, but Fisherman's Wharf and the Piers are several miles away. We walked, as the lines for the cable cars were quite long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. ROR
Business
VA
May 13, 2011

Not quite as expected

The great: my room was lovely, clean, and had a fabulous view (Coit tower on one side and Golden Gate bridge on the other). The bad: I ordered room service three times. The first time, the food was un-exciting (though still edible). The second time, the food was still unimpressive (though still crazily expensive). The third time, both my silverware and the stemware was dirty. After that, I gave up and found other SF places to eat. Also, although the staff was very friendly, they were not particularly competent or attentive. Long stories (too long for this review) but just not what you would expect from a Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stand in the typical tourist line for the cable car and instead walk one block (either up or down the street) and catch it there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Business
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
May 2, 2011

Classic San Francisco Hotel

Great location, nice room with beautiful views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks at top of Grand Hyatt or Top of the Mark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovelygirl
Business
OC CALIFORNIA
Apr 26, 2011

Best San Fran HOtel

It is located at the center of San Francisco Union Square, great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: Use BART to get from the hotel to the airport it will save you time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovelygirl
Business
OC CALIFORNIA
Apr 26, 2011

Best San Fran HOtel

It is located at the center of San Francisco Union Square, great hotel for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tip: Use BART to get from the hotel to the airport it will save you time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top