$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2009

Sign of the times

I have stayed and enjoyed Westins from Melbourne, Australia to San Francisco; Victoria, Canada to Palm Springs. This was the first time I felt "slippage" in the chain. Is it a sign of the times or unique to the Westin St. Francis? A lovely hotel but light on in-room amenities - the little things I've become accustomed to. No paper and pen, no q-tips, cotton balls or shower cap to name a few. Over a 4 night stay, housekeeping replinished coffee and coffee supplies twice and only left the two of us with one bath towel. All-in-all it just wasn't the Westin experience I expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy All the galleries on Geary Street!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed in San Francisco
Vacaville
May 9, 2011

Okay..not great

Booked this room for my brother and I for a send-off before he heads back east. Friendly service, the room was unimpressive. I've stayed at the Westin in Denver and Calgary and was looking forward to this stay. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. The room was slightly better appointed than a best western/comfort inn, and probably worst than some of the nicer ones. Hopefully this was an aberration. Again, the service was very professional/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Should Consider

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would consider the Westin St. Francis when returning to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
63melpha
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 20, 2010

Rip Off!!!

Even though I paid over $300 for a room at this hotel for one night, the staff put me in a room "with a view" which it had. What it didn't have was a queen bed but a Murphy bed about 3" thick on top of a sheet of plywood. Unbelievable! I would have had a better night's sleep if I had slept on the floor. At least the floor didn't squeak. It was a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djkirtski
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Fine hotel

Great hotel location, but it was expensive. I was upset that they would not provide free wireless even though we had already upgraded rooms. When I called the front desk the staff was not willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOL Law
Tulsa, OK
Jul 20, 2010

Nothing Special

Overall the stay was fine, but not what we usually get from such a highly rated hotel. There was only one towel in the room when we got there (at 2 am), and our door key stopped working prior to the end of our stay - the security guy was slow and not helpful getting us back in our room. The cleaning staff didn't do a very good job during our stay either - they left used glasses in the room every day and didn't replace them with clean ones. The concierge staff were terrific though and went way above our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's about a block away was terrific.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent fun traveler
Business
Tennessee
Oct 19, 2009

San Francis, Westin?

Check in was a lengthy wait and was done in a business like manner. However, they were not at all helpful for any info @ the area or services offered. The room had no information about the hotel services. It would be nothing for this hotel to offer a few amenities. However, everything has an extra tab- fitness facility, internet, business center, and the parking was outrageous. Everybody was solicitous but had their hand out. Even the bar was pretentious and way overpriced for what was provided. The atmosphere was posh, but you can do much better in SF. The location was great but so are many other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
63melpha
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jul 20, 2010

Rip Off!!!

Even though I paid over $300 for a room at this hotel for one night, the staff put me in a room "with a view" which it had. What it didn't have was a queen bed but a Murphy bed about 3" thick on top of a sheet of plywood. Unbelievable! I would have had a better night's sleep if I had slept on the floor. At least the floor didn't squeak. It was a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savtrav
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Not up to par

Great location on Union Square but not up to our expectations based on previous experience with Westin Hotels. The room was quite small and very noisy; doors could be heard opening and closing loudly and we could clearly hear conversations from the adjacent rooms. The room was clean but one day they did not come at all so we called for room cleaning as we were on our way to dinner and it was still not cleaned when we came back. When we called again, they said they had called us and we had never called them back which was untrue. Also a bad system re getting boarding passes printed; there is one computer for this but it was overrun by people doing banking and checking e-mails. I had to go down very late at night to get on it; the alternative was pay $10 to get online. On the plus side, the hotel lobby is beautiful and the concierge was very helpful in getting us restaurant reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For very fine dining, try Fleur de Lys which is a short walk away. It is an extremely beautiful and romantic restaurant and the food was just delicious. Also try Cafe Mason, also a short walk away, for breakfast; it is much better than the much touted Sears and features pumpkin crepes and pancakes.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2009

Disappointing for a luxury hotel

For a luxury hotel in Union Square, I was pretty disappointed. The hotel is currently going under renovations and my room happened to be next to a suite that was being worked on. At 6am during the week, I woke up to two men talking in the hallway. I eventually got up and politely asked them to be quieter. Secondly, I was surprised to see the lack of technology upgrades- no ipod docking station. Also, there were no shower caps or qtips in the bathrooms. While the location was great, my overall experience was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top