$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
633 reviews
Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel... See full review

  • Y Patel
  • May 13, 2014
Great Location!

We love it! teh location, the rooms, beds are like sleeping with angels! See full review

  • Miri Schie
  • May 8, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmjw1
Bay area
Sep 12, 2012

Medical

It was great. Prices are a little high. Bed was very comfortable. Room was very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out of hotel. Room service is very expensive.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
May 3, 2008

very elegent hotel

the st francis was one of the nicest experiences i've ever had. the staff were extremely helpful with any of my questions or concerns. the location was great, in the middle of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
edmonton, *
May 23, 2008

Luxury at Great Price

Our Conceige was exceptional. Gave us tips on fabulous resturants, sites, tours, made our stay exciting and so much fun.. All the staff from the valet greeting us from our taxi, to the front desk was beyond service.. Our room in the tower was clean, designer looking iron, ironing board, the bathroom was huge two shower heads, we women loved it all. Plasma tv, chairs, desk, phones, computer jacks all available.. What a wonderful experience and we look forward to a return visit in the future. Location was supberb, trolleys outside, told us to buy the pass which saved dollars, shopping was terrific, everything was so easy and we felt safe. theatres, resturants shopping transport,, wow great .... Go and have a super time.. fabulous city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great deals at Ross', we had macy's, tiffanys, william sonoma, shoe stores, house hold stuff oh it was fab.... enough to say we had to pay for excess baggage, and then got a deal with the person at the desk cos we were telling him about our shopping trips, Oh and Sauselito had fab shops, you need a day there...

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usajane
Pasadena, CA
Feb 13, 2011

San Francisco Weekend

nice hotel in THE BEST location. It's close to everything: shops, restaurants, San Francisco MOMA. We would definitely stay here again. The view was fantastic from our LARGE room on the 16th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great Chinese restaurants and we had one of the best meals that we had in a long time.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington
Oct 13, 2008

Wonderful hotel with a lot of history

I stayed at the St. Francis from Thursday through Monday during Fleet Week. The room, view, location, and class of the hotel were second to none. I'll definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a lot of great retailers and are all within a block or two of the front door of the hotel.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great for truly experiencing downtown San Francisco

It was one of the most fun trips I have ever been on! My fiance and I truly got the feel of downtown San Francisco. It was great because you could take a $5 cab to any district or hop on the trolley to anywhere! We had such an amazing time and will be back for sure! Also, the service was amazing! Everyone took such great care of us. We loved the feel of the hotel and that it was more historic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you turn when you walk of the hotel is shopping. Right across the street is Macy's and every street has amazing shopping. Sort walk or long walk San Francisco is the place for shopping!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islaygirl
Desert Southwest
May 28, 2009

My favorite hotel

I love the St. Francis. When i was a student in San Francisco, i would always duck into the lobby restroom on my way home, so I'm predisposed to think of it as a place of refuge. We had a great rate thanks to an air/hotel package from Orbitz, made even better by a coupon code (thanks, Orbitz!). The hotel was obviously nowhere near capacity, and we were able to check in at 11 a.m. on our day of arrival, and were upgraded to a huge corner room in the modern building. (Thanks [...] at the front desk!)An aside -- I've stayed in both the original building and the modern tower, and there are pluses and minuses to both - the 'charm' of the original building can fade when the room seems small and dark, and the newer building can be rather anonymous. Anyway, any impersonal elements in the modern building were far offset by the amazing view from the room. Large flat-screen tv (maybe 40"? Not sure), clean, a bit worn in the finishings, but the Westin Heavenly Bath and Bed were much in evidence. Mini bar (pricey, of course) and small fridge was available, perfect for a family saving some money on snacks). Room service was fast and tasty, never waited more than 15 seconds for an elevator, and there's nothing like blowing through the revolving door and having friendly faces greet you. Can't beat the location, literally everything you need is steps away. Love, love, love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food court at San Francisco Center is perfect for families where everyone wants something different. Also, a Bristol Farms grocery is there -- pricey, but cheaper than restaurants and lots of to-go items.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommy Alan
Houston, Texas
Jun 6, 2009

Best location for a vacation in San Fran

Everyone including the maids are very helpful and provide the best service that can be had. The location was fantastic during our stay. We did not bother to even rent a car. We traveled throughout San Francisco on public transportation. Went on many guided tours. It felt that we were in the center of the hub of the city. Everything seemed so close to the hotel. We literally hopped on the cable cars right outside our door from our room in the hotel. We came to San Francisco without any plans other than to see the city and have a great time. This hotel not only made are stay comfortable, it made our whole trip fantastic because of the recommendations we recieved at the hotel from the people that work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a public transportation pass for the days that you are going to stay. You can get all around the city very cheap that way and you don't have to walk very far at all.

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Dimas
Oct 6, 2009

Had a great time

Had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeSport
Glendale AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Absolutely superb!

Great location, we got a complimentary room upgrade as we stayed for a week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The views from the 30th floor are stunning! The concierge staff were excellent, so helpful, personable and very friendly. Their advice,service and suggestions were excellent. Definite stay again when we go back to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restautants to choose from, we need to go back to check out the rest!

Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2007

Luxuriously comfortable

The Westin St. Francis offered one of the most comfortable rooms I have ever experienced, with luxurious double shower-massage heads, pillows, mattress and bed linens. There was a huge walk-in closet(but no dresser drawers). I enjoyed the casual lobby dining, especially at breakfast, and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. The Union Square location was not as central as I had hoped -- it was a long bus trip to the Golden Gate bridge and a very long cable car ride to Fisherman's wharf -- but it's ideal for shopping and the theatre, and a manageable walk to the Museum of Modern Art. It was very busy, with a lot of business/convention activity as well as tourists, but my room was quiet at night. It was a bit surprising to be charged $2.00 for a toll-free telephone call, but that's a quibble. It is definitely a splurge, but I'd go back if my budget could handle it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by the city's major shopping centers, and the theatre district.

Back to menu Return to top