$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
372 reviews
Perfect Location!!

Great Stay in the heart of San Francisco. Hotel staff were friendly and rooms were very modern in... See full review

  • Christopher Travel Extrod
  • Sep 10, 2014
Outstanding!!

Great hotel, amazing location, good staff, everything was great!! Would without any doubts... See full review

  • Federico11
  • Jul 30, 2014
Renowned for its legendary service, the historic Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square boasts luxurious guest rooms and world-class dining. Overlooking Union Square in downtown San Francisco, Westin's historic flagship hotel is just minutes from Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, and the city's financial district. At The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, your convenience is our top priority. A rental car counter as well as comprehensive fitness and business centers are available on site. Alexandra's, an elegant private party venue situated 32 floors above the city, promises spectacular views. You'll quickly see why we were named to Conde Nast Traveler's 2007 Gold List.

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4084
Area served
Alameda, Napa Valley, Burlingame, Concord, Castro Valley, Halfmoon Bay, Hillsborough, Hayward, Berkeley, Sausalito, Menlo Park, Muir Beach, Palo Alto, Redwood City, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Jose, Walnut Creek
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.00, MI; Norman Y. Mineta San José International Airport, (SJC), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy jam Niners
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2013

stupendous

The staff was professional, prompt, polite, well trained, and all around very helpful. Rooms are very nice and quiet. Bathroom was updated and clean. I would be proud to stay with you again and again. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Karen
Business
Grover Beach, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Always enjoyable!

Great central location with easy access to cable cars, shopping, restaurants, and theaters. The St. Francis is always our first choice when staying in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ml123
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Way too pricey!

This hotel was a huge disappointment. I waited 12 minutes to check in and 18 minutes to check out. The room was the size of a Manhattan hotel. You could not run a bath without the shower running the entire time. The air conditioner came on with a loud bang so that I was awakened every half hour. There was nothing special about this Westin and the price was way to high for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelissaK
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Nostalgic, great location, old-timey rooms

in town for a week on business. I knew the hotel wAs "old", but I didn't realize how old. Although the heavenly bed was nice, as with all Westins, the room itself was kept in old fashioned style. Beautiful crown moulding etc, but a little too old timey for my tastes. I am used to the more modern westin hotels. Location was fantastic, worth the higher price of the hotel for sure. Right on union square, tons to do even after the sun goes down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't wait for the main elevators, head down the hall and take one of the three older elevators. Save a Ton of time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohrob76
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location, that's about it.

I spent one night here and I loved the fact that it is very near Union Square and the heart of the downtown area. The room seemed pretty clean and the bathroom was great. What bugged me about this place is that they charged me $57 for parking overnight and they had the nerve to ask for $15 for WiFi access when I paid $331 to stay there. Pretty weak if you ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyss
Business
Soledad, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Loved it

I booked at the Westin overnight to have a nice night away from home. My girlfriend and I picked up her younger sister for dinner for her 18th birthday and we decided to stay in the City. The outside is impressive. The lobby is rife with beautiful chandeliers, a mini snack bar, and several eateries. There are a lot of elevators, which I liked, because I didn't have to wait very long. The valet was quick to take my car and quick to get it back upon checkout. Inside the room, the sheets were thick and warm, the beds are extremely soft and roomy, and the television was a good size. Anything not provided in the room can be sent up (we asked for utensils and a toothbrush). There were plenty of towels, pillows, and wall outlets. Aside from a refrigerator for personal beverages, I had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not drive anywhere if you are staying here, it is too difficult to get in and out of the garage due to the one way streets. However, automobiles do not matter, the hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance (tops) of the Westfield shopping mall and many restaurants, coffee shops, and standalone stores are on the same block. The Cheesecake Factory/Macy's is maybe 50 yards away. Very close. When exiting the elevator, you can actually walk through Victoria's Secret to get onto Powell street, as the back entrance is in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJhop
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Other than the fact that the choice of food in the one bar that was open and the prices for a drink were very high it was o.k. Would go back again but not to the bar. The reservation clerk was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't go in for a drink unless you have lot's of extra money to spend just for the fun of it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satlue
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great location, excellent hotel

Great hotel and location. If I'll go again defenitly I'll choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BandK
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Received room upgrade

We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our kids surprised us by arranging for a fruit and cheese plate on our arrival and the hotel went a step further and upgraded our room at no additional charge. Staff are all very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saxxerouen
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Evening Out!!!

Great Hotel, Great Dining (Bourbon Steak), Great Night out. I've become famous for my one day vactions, and this one did not disappoint! The room was comfortable and came with all the trimmings expected in a fine hotel. Bourbon Steak lived up to the anticipation...everything my other half and I had was top notch. This will more than likely be a regular occurance for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon & Branch Bar... It's a reservation only speakeasy style of place that you need a password to get in. Very cool 20's decor and beverages. Highly Recommend!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2011

Fantastic getaway

A four star hotel, so beautiful and right at the shopping center with so many restaurants, close to everything & all the attraction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top