$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
View map of 335 Powell Street, 335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y Patel
Princeton, NJ
May 13, 2014

Great hotel in the perfect location!

My husband and I came back from 3 nights at the Westin St. Francis and it was perfect! The hotel itself is breathtaking- an opulent lobby, good spa services, the Clock bar and lobby bar and the restaurants are great. We stayed in the tower and the elevator system ensures safety which was great. Staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were perfection. The location cannot be beat. 3 blocks from the Powell Bart station and literally in the center of union square. The hotel is even on many of the tours! Definitely a highly recommended stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar on the 6th floor of Macys has some of the best burgers Ive ever tasted! And Amber Indian restaurant has a great ambience and even better food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djkirtski
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Fine hotel

Great hotel location, but it was expensive. I was upset that they would not provide free wireless even though we had already upgraded rooms. When I called the front desk the staff was not willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stan W
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Perfect location, great views

Beautiful city views from the tower room. Very comfortable and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george the explorer
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great hotel

Excellent location.nice hotel.If you park your car be ready to pay 50 $ a night.!!.Our room was small.I guesse they keep the nicer rooms for those who didd not make reservations through orbitz or expedia. House keepers are very noisy in the morning.hear doors shut all the times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zoie
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

business

Hotel was very busy and the fitness center was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Karen
Business
Grover Beach, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Always enjoyable!

Great central location with easy access to cable cars, shopping, restaurants, and theaters. The St. Francis is always our first choice when staying in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ml123
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Way too pricey!

This hotel was a huge disappointment. I waited 12 minutes to check in and 18 minutes to check out. The room was the size of a Manhattan hotel. You could not run a bath without the shower running the entire time. The air conditioner came on with a loud bang so that I was awakened every half hour. There was nothing special about this Westin and the price was way to high for the value received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelissaK
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Nostalgic, great location, old-timey rooms

in town for a week on business. I knew the hotel wAs "old", but I didn't realize how old. Although the heavenly bed was nice, as with all Westins, the room itself was kept in old fashioned style. Beautiful crown moulding etc, but a little too old timey for my tastes. I am used to the more modern westin hotels. Location was fantastic, worth the higher price of the hotel for sure. Right on union square, tons to do even after the sun goes down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't wait for the main elevators, head down the hall and take one of the three older elevators. Save a Ton of time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohrob76
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location, that's about it.

I spent one night here and I loved the fact that it is very near Union Square and the heart of the downtown area. The room seemed pretty clean and the bathroom was great. What bugged me about this place is that they charged me $57 for parking overnight and they had the nerve to ask for $15 for WiFi access when I paid $331 to stay there. Pretty weak if you ask me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyss
Business
Soledad, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Loved it

I booked at the Westin overnight to have a nice night away from home. My girlfriend and I picked up her younger sister for dinner for her 18th birthday and we decided to stay in the City. The outside is impressive. The lobby is rife with beautiful chandeliers, a mini snack bar, and several eateries. There are a lot of elevators, which I liked, because I didn't have to wait very long. The valet was quick to take my car and quick to get it back upon checkout. Inside the room, the sheets were thick and warm, the beds are extremely soft and roomy, and the television was a good size. Anything not provided in the room can be sent up (we asked for utensils and a toothbrush). There were plenty of towels, pillows, and wall outlets. Aside from a refrigerator for personal beverages, I had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not drive anywhere if you are staying here, it is too difficult to get in and out of the garage due to the one way streets. However, automobiles do not matter, the hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance (tops) of the Westfield shopping mall and many restaurants, coffee shops, and standalone stores are on the same block. The Cheesecake Factory/Macy's is maybe 50 yards away. Very close. When exiting the elevator, you can actually walk through Victoria's Secret to get onto Powell street, as the back entrance is in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJhop
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Other than the fact that the choice of food in the one bar that was open and the prices for a drink were very high it was o.k. Would go back again but not to the bar. The reservation clerk was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't go in for a drink unless you have lot's of extra money to spend just for the fun of it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top