$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

4 stars
335 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
374 reviews
Amazing!

Love it! Near everything and the hotel is beautiful. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Awesome

I would definitely stay here again. Most everything. Very comfortable rooms. See full review

  • World traveler vision
  • Nov 27, 2014
Legendary Union Square hotel combines comfort, class

The Westin St. Francis is the only hotel that actually sits on Union Square. The main building dates back to 1904, and many public areas boast the ornate columns, intricate woodwork and other design elements from this era. Perhaps the property's most famous feature is its Magenta Grandfather Clock, a popular place for people to meet. Today the property comprises two separate buildings: the historic main building and a newer tower. Three on-site restaurants offer a host of dining options.

Highlights
  • Historic grandfather clock
  • Only hotel situated right on Union Square
  • Three on-site restaurants, including the highly acclaimed Oak Room
  • Sleep in signature Westin Heavenly beds
Rooms

Accommodations are spread across two buildings. In the historic main building, with 629 rooms and 24 suites, standard lodging is accented by crown molding and ornate chandeliers. In the newer tower, with 566 rooms and 35 suites, the experience is more modern. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, plush robes and safes. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The Westin St. Francis has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

The property opened in 1904 but was practically gutted due to damage during the earthquake of 1906. It reopened in 1907 and has been growing ever since. The new tower was completed in 1971.

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines. The hotel also provides massage therapy at an on-site day spa (fees apply).

Dining

Three on-site restaurants provide a number of options for meals. Bourbon Steak, Michael Mina's newest creation, is a West Coast spin on the traditional steakhouse; the Oak Room offers a more traditional menu. Caruso's is the most casual of the three, offering light snacks and coffee in the lobby lounge.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • North Beach
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 56,000 square feet of meeting space
  • The Imperial Floor, located on the 32nd floor of the Tower, with two distinct meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Rooms

Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (374)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lbsd
Business
san diego
Jan 16, 2012

seen much better days

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for the last thirty five years - I used to live in the area and would meet in the lobby every time I was in the city before I started staying there. This used to be a grand hotel. Everyone met in the lobby, which was beautiful. There was seating, a lively bar above and beautiful flower arrangement in the center. Now is it dead and boring. The rooms need repair, the service is slow (waited 30 minutes twice, once for changing rooms, another for coffee). The pillows were not heavenly bed pillows, the heavenly bed was not, and the staff was just ok. Won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Remember that if you take a car to the hotel it is a $50.00 * charge per day in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOSTON, MA
Aug 2, 2009

OTHER THAN LOCATION, NOT SO GOOD

I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AT THE GYM'S COSTING $12/DAY. RIDICULOUS. INTERNET CONNECTION WAS ALSO $14/DAY. UNACCEPTABLE. DO NOT RECOMMEND. GREAT LOCATION, AWEFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. WILL NOT GO BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2010

Not worth it at all!

Considering the price and the fact that the Westin St. Francis is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I was sorely disappointed. This place was probably great about 40 years ago, but if you aren't one of their "platinum members" they are going to treat you like one of San Francisco's homeless people. The room was small and had a large water stain and peeling paint on the ceiling. The staff seemed unsympathetic and unfriendly. Things that many hotels offer for free were very overpriced there. At least the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block south is the Golden Dust lounge. This place is a great, charming place to get a relatively inexpensive drink, enjoy a great low-volume house band, and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Poor Management

If the Westin St. Francis is "renowned for their legendary service" this must mean legendarily poor service. We booked our room at the Westin St. Francis and HAD ALREADY PAID FOR IT through Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel they told us that Orbitz cancelled our reservation and they didn't have a room for us! We had just flown into San Francisco and didn't have a flight out for 3 more days. We were desperate as the city was full and asked if they could please find us a room. They gave us a room but said we were responsible for payment to them directly at 3 times the rate we already paid through Orbitz. I didn't worry as I thought one phone call to Orbitz would straighten out the problem and the hotel would surely not charge us a second time for the room we already paid for. NO SUCH LUCK. I called Orbitz right away and talked to a supervisor who said he would look into the matter and call me back the next day. He never did. I called back two times trying to reach him and nobody would transfer me to him and he still never called back. On the last night of our stay, the Westin St. Francis automatically charged our credit card for the stay at 3 TIMES the rate we had already paid. After FIVE phone calls to Orbitz and a combined total of 2-1/2 hours of my vacation spent on the phone with them, a supervisor told me that the hotel cancelled our room but never advised Orbitz about it and now refused to honor our original reservation that was already paid for. Orbitz told us there was nothing they could do about it. Orbitz best offer was that they would reimburse us what we already paid them for the hotel and half the difference of what the hotel rate should have been and what we actually paid, so the hotel ended up costing DOUBLE what we had orginally agreed to when we booked our trip. And Orbitz has not reimbursed us anything yet, so right now, we have paid FOUR times what we agreed to. We called the manager at the hotel that Orbitz said they talked to in order to try to sort things out on that end. The front desk said he was helping a customer and would call us back. He never did return our call. On the second day of our stay, the water in all the faucets in our room was dark brown for a few hours. We couldn't even use the facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price we ended up paying was definitely not worth it. The person at the Registration Desk was incredibly rude and unhelpful. The only good service was from the housekeeping staff who were exceptional. I will never book a trip through Orbitz again. They should have held their "partner" hotel to their agreement. It was certainly not our fault about the lack of communication between the hotel and Orbitz, but the bill fell in our lap anyway and neither the hotel nor Orbiz sees the injustice in that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary Plunkett
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Sep 20, 2012

Not a great experience for the what you pay.

The fan in the bathroom didn't work. We use two wine glasses on your first night and they two glasses remained unwashed on the desk until we checked out. When we checked in, the front desk accepted my wife's ID even though the resevation was in my name - however on the second day of our stay when my wife needed her room key activiated the front desk wouldn't do it because her name wasn't listed (yet it was her ID they took on check-in)???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
week day traveler
Business
Los gatos, ca
Mar 8, 2014

restaurant and lobby area seriously lacking

Our room was in the OLD section of the hotel. The walls were paper thin and you could hear the guests next door change their mind! The lobby area had NO seating for guests who were waiting for someone to arrive or just wanted to sit and read. The cafe/bar in the lobby was always full, not large enough to accommodate more people. The dining room restaurant was lovely, but a second mortgage would be required to eat there. The hotel ambiance is great, staff was great, the bed was lovely, but other things were seriously lacking. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Small and old

The Westin St. Francis was right in the heart of the Union Station area. Ideal for all the things we wanted to do. Our room was in the original part of the hotel (not the tower). The room was sub-standard when it came to cleanliness. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling. One staffer was not at all accomodating to changing our room. Another person was quite helpful. The city was grand but the hotel was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 23, 2010

The good, the bad, the really ugly...

Admittedly, I am v. fussy about the room I am assigned. It can make or ruin my stay in a hotel. I told the woman signing us in that we were expecting a tower room floors 17-20, and that I would like a front view over Union Square of the bay and bridge. She gave us room 2095 which was roof level with another building and looked north with no good view. I went back to the desk and the staff had changed, so I had to deal with another woman and explained the view I wanted. She managed that but put us three floors lower in room 1783 which was blocked by the old part of the hotel. Room 2083 would have been perfect, but by moving us down three floor she screwed me. Intentional, or not, we will never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to SF in the summer, be preparted to dress warmly. It was overcast, foggy and windy for our three day stay. Mark Twain said, "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in SF", and it can be v. true!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn.
Dec 16, 2009

westin St.

We would never stay at this hotel again. The morning following our first nite, we discovered the bedding was very bloody all over the sheets. we were horrified as we pulled back the covers. Check bedding in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Yelling Front Desk Personnel

As I was standing in line to inquire about a late check out - due to running the SF Marathon the next day - I experienced a front desk employee, who actually appeared to be some kind of manager. I felt uncomfortable and intimidated to ask my accommodation request, but did anyway, and before I could say that I would be willing to pay whatever I had to for a late check out and explain that I was running the marathon next day, she was shaking her head, asking me my room number, and rudely saying she could give me until 1 o'clock without a charge but anything more there'd be a fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top