$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

The Westin San Francisco Market Street

4 stars
50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Great combo trip-business/personal

The hotel staff were excellent and the location was perfect. The hotel is right off of Market... See full review

  • Neal East Coast
  • May 5, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Everything from the customer service to the quality of the rooms to the room service were... See full review

  • Maude Knows
  • Apr 29, 2014
Sophisticated urban oasis with sweeping views in SoMa's Museum Row

Formerly known as the Argent, the Westin San Francisco Market Street has been rebranded over the course of the last decade. The result: a sophisticated, urban oasis in the middle of what locals call Museum row, a stretch that includes the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Both the lobby and guest rooms are sleek and modern; art in public areas is from Roy Lichtenstein and other iconic artists. Ducca, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary Northern Italian food and has a lively bar scene on weekends.

Highlights
  • Impressive array of public art by artists such as David Hockney and Roy Lichtenstein
  • Within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center
  • Cocktails and Italian cuisine at Ducca, the on-site restaurant
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations -- 676 rooms, including 24 suites -- feature sweeping city views and floor-to-ceiling windows through which to enjoy them. Rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, mini bars and in-room safes. Most of the corner units are suites. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Francisco Market Street abuts a public park that sits between San Francisco's Contemporary Jewish Museum and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts. The Moscone Convention Center is within walking distance, as well.

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Grab a bite at Ducca, which specializes in Northern Italian cuisine and has a boisterous bar scene on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines, as well as televisions. The hotel also provides massage service at a modest day spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • On-site business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 9,000-square-foot Metropolitan Ballroom

The Westin San Francisco Market Street Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Francisco Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.4029
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.60, MI; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.50, MI; San Jose International Airport, (sjc), 46.70, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 297
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taneasducati
Seattle, WA
Jul 9, 2014

Great location

We were able to walk down to AT&T Ballpark in one direction or the ferry terminal going another direction. The hotel is close to the BART, bus and trolly lines which can take you any where you may want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johill
North Bay
Jul 8, 2014

Very nice location- great convenience to anything in SF

A wonderful hotel, great room, bigger than the Hyatt's which cost a lot more for the Union Square/ Market Street location. Great bar and restaurant, but a little too spendy - get your late night drinks at Dave's or Cask across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Fifth and Mission Garage - their Valet is very expensive and almost twice as much. Just 5 minutes away.

Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neal East Coast
Culpeper, VA
May 5, 2014

Great combo trip-business/personal

The hotel staff were excellent and the location was perfect. The hotel is right off of Market Street, close to the public transit, within walking distance to Union Square and the piers. The concierge were helpful, providing us with useful info of places to visit. Overall, this was great business trip mixed with a little personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

#9 Fishermen's Grotto

Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevo
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2014

Great stay

Westin San Francisco is a great place to stay. We have stayed there several times. Great location close to Union Square. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irundik
Vancouver , Canada
Mar 3, 2014

Great location

Great hotel, location, clean rooms. But for the price I paid I would expect breakfast and in room internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use cable car to go to Golden Gate Bridge

Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breezy007
Albany, NY
Feb 19, 2014

San Francisco Visit

It was very nice for the location and price. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabe831
Monterey, California
Feb 16, 2014

Nice big window but be ready to sit on the floor

This Westin's claim to fame is their floor to ceiling windows, yet there is a catch! The only way to take in the city view is from the single chair or from the. We walked in room and immediately loved the view. My GF and I admired and ended up sitting on the floor. Then it occurred to me, I payed too much to be sitting on the floor to take in the view. I called the front desk to see if there was another room that was more accommodating for more the one guest. They quickly hit the transfer button to housekeeping. Housekeepings only solution was to bring me stackable banquet chair. Now at this point I was getting bothered. I called back to front desk. They had no other solution. They finally suggested that they could move us to a room further up with a better view and give a couple ticket to their buffet breakfast. I accept. We get to the room. What a let down! Same set up yet slightly smaller room. I came to terms with being compensated with a downgrade and told myself I WILL NEVER COME HERE AGAIN. Negotiating with the front desk and packing and and unpacking was got us behind schedule for dinner. Here are a few things to be aware of: -the charge 150 up front for incidental. -the super mini fridge has no room for anything other than their beverages -if beverages are moved around or taking out of fridge a sensor inside applies it to your room. -there is only one chair no table -if you and a guest take food to the room be prepared to enjoy that food either on the bed or on the floor -Their buffet breakfast is extremely Foul Do yourself a favor stay at the W or parc55 at the similar rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catsj
Orange County, CA
Jan 7, 2014

Great Location

The hotel is nice and located near most tourist attractions. However, the room is very small and feels cramped. I have stayed at another hotel nearby that is cheaper and more spacious. If it wasn't a good deal, we would have booked elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Near Hog Island Oyster, top dining on Yelp SF.

Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cbkidder
Orange, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Keep looking for a better stay elsewhere

Overall a good hotel experience. Staff is five star except for the valet team. That is such a complete circus it drags the whole rating down. The a/c unit in our room didn't work well, and it was at times uncomfortably warm. I don't want to stay there again; there are other good inexpensive motels nearby. Pros: location, on-site parking. Cons: Numerous. 1--They charge $14 a day for internet access, $18 for more than one connection. 2--The dresser and fridge in the room are unusable because they're stuffed with insanely overpriced snacks and drinks. 3--$54 a day for valet parking is excessive, and it took 45 minutes to get our car out. There was no answer multiple times at the valet extension; we left a message, told three separate guys we wanted our car, and then watched 17 different groups come out after us and get their cars before us. 4--Overpriced unimpressive menu in the hotel restaurant. 5--no jacuzzi or hot tub to relax in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself time and money by parking off-site. You can drop off your companions and luggage at the hotel and then park within a block of the hotel.

Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny and Ritha
Lima, Perú
Aug 19, 2013

Experience at Westin in SFO

Eveything OK, just two few commentaries: I would have rated the hotel with 5 stars on Staff, but when we arrive, I consider that the person who attended us, needs more carism, smile a little bit; us when we made our check out, where we were attended by C.Pinzas. The fare of the room is to high. The room was ok, but not big, and it must include breakfast. You must have a service shuttle to/from the airport. Regards, Luis D. Bouroncle ROOM 821

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top