$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Westin San Francisco Market Street

4 stars
50 Third Street, 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
188 reviews
Great Place to stay in S.F.

We spent 4 niights in an off time and had a great hotel rate. Excellent location and easy in and... See full review

  • page1
  • Dec 3, 2014
Amazing SF Visit

Our visit to San Francisco was perfect! The check in process was quick and easy! Great location! See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 26, 2014
Sophisticated urban oasis with sweeping views in SoMa's Museum Row

Formerly known as the Argent, the Westin San Francisco Market Street has been rebranded over the course of the last decade. The result: a sophisticated, urban oasis in the middle of what locals call Museum row, a stretch that includes the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Both the lobby and guest rooms are sleek and modern; art in public areas is from Roy Lichtenstein and other iconic artists. Ducca, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary Northern Italian food and has a lively bar scene on weekends.

Highlights
  • Impressive array of public art by artists such as David Hockney and Roy Lichtenstein
  • Within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center
  • Cocktails and Italian cuisine at Ducca, the on-site restaurant
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations -- 676 rooms, including 24 suites -- feature sweeping city views and floor-to-ceiling windows through which to enjoy them. Rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, mini bars and in-room safes. Most of the corner units are suites. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Francisco Market Street abuts a public park that sits between San Francisco's Contemporary Jewish Museum and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts. The Moscone Convention Center is within walking distance, as well.

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Grab a bite at Ducca, which specializes in Northern Italian cuisine and has a boisterous bar scene on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines, as well as televisions. The hotel also provides massage service at a modest day spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • On-site business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 9,000-square-foot Metropolitan Ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Francisco Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin San Francisco Market Street Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

MaSo
Meet and mingle in the relaxed atmosphere of MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace while you enjoy delicious bites from sustainable sources, a local wine, or an innovative cocktail. A glass-walled private dining room is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
janine360
Business
Clovis, CA
Apr 8, 2013

Disappointed

The staff is rude and do not know how to treat a hotel guest. There was more than one incidence that took place that has me extremely disappointed with this hotel. For example, the lady at the front desk didn’t think my husband and I could tell the difference between a king size and queen size bed as she tried to put us in a 1-queen size handicap room. We could not easily get an engineer to fix our TV, which did not work. Even housekeeping could not help me in retrieving a coat I had left in the handicap room this hotel initially tried to have us initially take. Lastly, I also noticed that the quality in the amenities at this hotel have gone down. They don’t give you the fancy amenities like sowing kits or q-tips; it’s just the basic shampoo and conditioner and cheap toilet paper that they have now. Other than that, the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabe831
Business
Monterey, California
Feb 16, 2014

Nice big window but be ready to sit on the floor

This Westin's claim to fame is their floor to ceiling windows, yet there is a catch! The only way to take in the city view is from the single chair or from the. We walked in room and immediately loved the view. My GF and I admired and ended up sitting on the floor. Then it occurred to me, I payed too much to be sitting on the floor to take in the view. I called the front desk to see if there was another room that was more accommodating for more the one guest. They quickly hit the transfer button to housekeeping. Housekeepings only solution was to bring me stackable banquet chair. Now at this point I was getting bothered. I called back to front desk. They had no other solution. They finally suggested that they could move us to a room further up with a better view and give a couple ticket to their buffet breakfast. I accept. We get to the room. What a let down! Same set up yet slightly smaller room. I came to terms with being compensated with a downgrade and told myself I WILL NEVER COME HERE AGAIN. Negotiating with the front desk and packing and and unpacking was got us behind schedule for dinner. Here are a few things to be aware of: -the charge 150 up front for incidental. -the super mini fridge has no room for anything other than their beverages -if beverages are moved around or taking out of fridge a sensor inside applies it to your room. -there is only one chair no table -if you and a guest take food to the room be prepared to enjoy that food either on the bed or on the floor -Their buffet breakfast is extremely Foul Do yourself a favor stay at the W or parc55 at the similar rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2010

It was not at all what I expected!!

I booked this hotel because I have a friend in the industry that works at the Hard Rock in San Diego and when I rattled off a few names of hotels she said the Westin would be a nice place. Things started out well. The Concierge that was working on Thursday ([...]) was so nice and extremely helpful! I made my reservation on 4/21 and then called the hotel a week prior to arrival to ensure that the reservation was still there and to let them know we'd be a late arrive due to when our flight got into San Francisco etc. Upon arrival it was clear the woman behind the desk did not have a room for us. She tried to make small talk but it took over then minutes for her to find something. She also tried to put me in a disabled room which clearly both myself and my guest were not disabled in the least. After flying, riding the bart and walking from the station to the hotel as a guest you want it to go as smoothly as possible. The check-in person finally gave us the room. It was #1008. It was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in at ANY hotel. Not only was the shower curtain not put on properly the bathroom was so small two people could not fit in there at the same time. The shower itself was clearly dirty and without getting too graphic I will just leave it at that. What was out our window was a giant parking garage. Unfortunately by this time it was 10:00pm and the last thing after traveling and having to deal with the check-in process we just put our bags down and stayed in the room. The next day we had reservations over at the Exploratium very early so we had no choice but to get up and leave right away. Upon our return in the afternoon I walked past a room with an open door across the hallway from mine 1009 and the room was a regular room. As you can imagine I was greatly disappointed. I alerted one of the concierges of my disappointment. He got the Assistant Manager on duty [...]. He came out...barely looked me in the eye and just said I'm sorry you are disappointed with your room. If you had brought this up sooner then I could have done something and he left it at that. It was very clear that he didn't seem to care that I was dissatisfied and he was the encompassing reflection of the hotel and how they were going to make an attempt at fixing it. He did not offer anything. I had two of the worst night's sleep I have ever had at a hotel. I woke up sore both nights because the bed was not soft and the pillows were extremely hard. Apparently guests are allowed to have parties in their rooms until nearly 4am. Overall I am very dissatisfied with the hotel. I had heard the Westin represented class and was more of a higher end hotel however, I have had a better experience at a Holiday Inn. Maybe if something were to be done to help rectify this awful stay I would consider letting this establishment fix the experience I had however, at this point I will share with everyone I know this experience there and at this point I will avoid staying at another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
indygal
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 15, 2011

Must've been the only room they had left

I was greatly let down with my room at the Westin Market St. I sometimes wonder if booking through discount web sites- they offer you an inferior room. I also arrived relatively late in the evening, but my room was quite small and lacked the luster I expected at nearly $400 a night. I also think they gave me a handicap accessible room. I couldn't shower easily since it was a hand held shower head. In order to get underneath it (I'm only 5'3") I had to squat down. It was extremely difficult to shower and I got water all over the bathroom floor. The bathroom also had some gigantic unit (perhaps a heating or cooling unit) protruding into the bathroom that they just plopped a granite top on to make it look like high-up counter space. Although I wanted to change rooms, due to my late arrival and early morning meetings I didn't have to do it. If I would've had time to fight about it, I woud've asked for a refurnd, or at minimum a room change. My experience was likely not represenatative of the hotel itself. Common areas were adequate- I just wish I didn't have to wonder if my booking through this site led to my getting a less than plush room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Helmuth
Business
Zürich
Dec 6, 2011

Good starting point for shopping

Located close to all the nice Shopping places, facility rather below average compared to international Hotel standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cbkidder
Business
Orange, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Keep looking for a better stay elsewhere

Overall a good hotel experience. Staff is five star except for the valet team. That is such a complete circus it drags the whole rating down. The a/c unit in our room didn't work well, and it was at times uncomfortably warm. I don't want to stay there again; there are other good inexpensive motels nearby. Pros: location, on-site parking. Cons: Numerous. 1--They charge $14 a day for internet access, $18 for more than one connection. 2--The dresser and fridge in the room are unusable because they're stuffed with insanely overpriced snacks and drinks. 3--$54 a day for valet parking is excessive, and it took 45 minutes to get our car out. There was no answer multiple times at the valet extension; we left a message, told three separate guys we wanted our car, and then watched 17 different groups come out after us and get their cars before us. 4--Overpriced unimpressive menu in the hotel restaurant. 5--no jacuzzi or hot tub to relax in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself time and money by parking off-site. You can drop off your companions and luggage at the hotel and then park within a block of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Adelaide, CA
Jul 25, 2008

My review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

The Westin San Francisco is in a brilliant location as it is within walking distance to Union square and main shopping district. I have stayed in many Westin Hotels located around the world and the staff are always so helpful , however this was the eception as the front desk staff were far from helpful in fact they were just far too busy to care. This is not the usual standards of this hotel group from my eperience. Our toilet was blocked which can happen, we were charged $18 dollars when wew requested a jug of milk to use in the coffee provided in our room(charge was later removed).We were over charged for 8 additional mini bar items not used ,when we questioned these charges we were told that there is a sensor pad in the mini bar fridge that detects when you even move a bottle. (charges were again removed). These are not things i would expect from the Westin as i have always raved about how the beds, staff and service have been brilliant in other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect location and central to most of the attractions in San Francisco,or a $5.00 taxi to Pier 39 and the water front, Lombard Street, China Town etc.Coffee shop and restaurant across the road and a bottle shop and general food store on the next building. Great location !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2010

Nice location, not a warm staff

I didn't feel welcomed by any of the front desk staff. No one (event the housekeeper) said hello to me in passing or even acknowledged me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2010

Just Okay

The San Francisco trip was purely vacation and we managed a lot of tourist events. The hotel was nothing special, it was not all that clean. The door to the bathroom did not open all the way. The bathtub leaked just from taking a shower. The concierge was very busy, but not that friendly and did not take any extra effort to find answers to questions if he/she did not know them. The vacation was great, but I would not recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go to ALcatraz, get tickets online. You will have to purchase a package to get there otherwise. The tickets are sold out a week or more in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SHMEE
Business
San Diego International Airport, Airport Terminal Rd, San Diego, CA 92101, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Getaway

Lovely quick getaway. Room was nice. Food was good. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top