$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Westin San Francisco Market Street

4 stars
50 Third Street, 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Amazing SF Visit

Our visit to San Francisco was perfect! The check in process was quick and easy! Great location! See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 26, 2014
Amazing trip

The moment we arrived we knew we would have a great stay. Fruit infused water was available as soon... See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 24, 2014
Sophisticated urban oasis with sweeping views in SoMa's Museum Row

Formerly known as the Argent, the Westin San Francisco Market Street has been rebranded over the course of the last decade. The result: a sophisticated, urban oasis in the middle of what locals call Museum row, a stretch that includes the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Both the lobby and guest rooms are sleek and modern; art in public areas is from Roy Lichtenstein and other iconic artists. Ducca, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary Northern Italian food and has a lively bar scene on weekends.

Highlights
  • Impressive array of public art by artists such as David Hockney and Roy Lichtenstein
  • Within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center
  • Cocktails and Italian cuisine at Ducca, the on-site restaurant
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations -- 676 rooms, including 24 suites -- feature sweeping city views and floor-to-ceiling windows through which to enjoy them. Rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, mini bars and in-room safes. Most of the corner units are suites. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Francisco Market Street abuts a public park that sits between San Francisco's Contemporary Jewish Museum and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts. The Moscone Convention Center is within walking distance, as well.

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Grab a bite at Ducca, which specializes in Northern Italian cuisine and has a boisterous bar scene on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines, as well as televisions. The hotel also provides massage service at a modest day spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • On-site business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 9,000-square-foot Metropolitan Ballroom

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.4029
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 24.14, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 17.70, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Francisco Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin San Francisco Market Street Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

MaSo
Meet and mingle in the relaxed atmosphere of MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace while you enjoy delicious bites from sustainable sources, a local wine, or an innovative cocktail. A glass-walled private dining room is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 186
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irundik
Business
Vancouver , Canada
Mar 3, 2014

Great location

Great hotel, location, clean rooms. But for the price I paid I would expect breakfast and in room internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use cable car to go to Golden Gate Bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevo
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2014

Great stay

Westin San Francisco is a great place to stay. We have stayed there several times. Great location close to Union Square. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neal East Coast
Business
Culpeper, VA
May 5, 2014

Great combo trip-business/personal

The hotel staff were excellent and the location was perfect. The hotel is right off of Market Street, close to the public transit, within walking distance to Union Square and the piers. The concierge were helpful, providing us with useful info of places to visit. Overall, this was great business trip mixed with a little personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

#9 Fishermen's Grotto

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
May 26, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Very helpful staff, clean, quiet. Amended our room upon request to a bigger room. Great, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 8, 2008

Great location

The Westin Market Street was very comfortable, the room was spacious with a large dresser, in-room refrigerator, flat panel television and workspace. You could not ask for a better location, convenient to the MTA lines, several restaurants and great shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2008

Wonderful

We enjoyed the hotel from the moment we walked in. Very nice lobby and nice comfortable room. Not to mention the bed was VERY cozy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In the middle of Downtown. Everything you need is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 16, 2007

Foreign Dignitary

I always say that if a hotel makes you feel like a Foreign Dignitary that there doing there job.That is what Westin made me feel like and I will stay with them again later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Tx.
Jul 27, 2009

Great 25 year wedding anniversary stay

If we have the opportunity to return to San Francisco, we would stay at the same hotel. Everyone was very helpful with questinos we had, especially given this was our first visit to SF and the accomodations were top notch. The hotel is centralized to many of the local attractions. Additionaly,there was close access to the various modes of transportation and we used most of them (especailly the cable car system and buses)to get around; but we also did some walking. We had a blast; it would be hard not to in this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Sep 30, 2008

Great Location

The Westin Market Street is the perfect location to explore San Fran if you're new to the area. It's within walking distance to Union Square, the Ferry building, and many, many Museums scattered around Civic Center and SoMa. The rooms are comfortable, the views from my room (15th floor) were pleasant and the staff is always courteous. The best part I found was that it is just a block from BART making it an easy shot into SFO. No traffic to deal with! The one negative comment I have: The rooms are a little sound-challenged. I never heard occupants on either side of me but when someone was in the hallway you would defineitely hear it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manduchita
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 17, 2010

Magnificent!

Our stay was fabulous, we loved this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top