$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Westin San Francisco Market Street

4 stars
50 Third Street, 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
187 reviews
Amazing SF Visit

Our visit to San Francisco was perfect! The check in process was quick and easy! Great location! See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 26, 2014
Amazing trip

The moment we arrived we knew we would have a great stay. Fruit infused water was available as soon... See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 24, 2014
Sophisticated urban oasis with sweeping views in SoMa's Museum Row

Formerly known as the Argent, the Westin San Francisco Market Street has been rebranded over the course of the last decade. The result: a sophisticated, urban oasis in the middle of what locals call Museum row, a stretch that includes the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Both the lobby and guest rooms are sleek and modern; art in public areas is from Roy Lichtenstein and other iconic artists. Ducca, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary Northern Italian food and has a lively bar scene on weekends.

Highlights
  • Impressive array of public art by artists such as David Hockney and Roy Lichtenstein
  • Within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center
  • Cocktails and Italian cuisine at Ducca, the on-site restaurant
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations -- 676 rooms, including 24 suites -- feature sweeping city views and floor-to-ceiling windows through which to enjoy them. Rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, mini bars and in-room safes. Most of the corner units are suites. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Francisco Market Street abuts a public park that sits between San Francisco's Contemporary Jewish Museum and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts. The Moscone Convention Center is within walking distance, as well.

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Grab a bite at Ducca, which specializes in Northern Italian cuisine and has a boisterous bar scene on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines, as well as televisions. The hotel also provides massage service at a modest day spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • On-site business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 9,000-square-foot Metropolitan Ballroom

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.4029
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 24.14, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 17.70, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Francisco Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin San Francisco Market Street Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

MaSo
Meet and mingle in the relaxed atmosphere of MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace while you enjoy delicious bites from sustainable sources, a local wine, or an innovative cocktail. A glass-walled private dining room is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmb
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 22, 2011

Westin Market St: A Model of Mediocrity

Recently made my routine business trip to San Francisco. I'm a huge fan of Kimpton Hotels so try to stay at the Palomar right next to my office. Sadly, due to a convention, I was unable to get a room there so I chose the Westin on 3rd & Market. While not a bad stay by any means, it simply emanated mediocrity when compared to my Kimpton stays. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant downstairs was pretty nice as well - though $19 for an omelette is ridiculous. The room was plain and uninspiring [*]. Probably not a room that would draw serious complaints - stained chair & elevator adjacency noise notwithstanding - but rooms are pricey these days and having stayed right up the street several times for a comparable price I can honestly say that I would NEVER stay at this place again, not because it was bad, but because I can do better for the same price by going Kimpton/Palomar. Hope this helps folks who are comparing two comparably priced 4-star spots in San Francisco. Though I don't have a sample of Starwood's beyond this Westin stay I can tell you that Kimpton does it better, in my humble opinion and limited experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westin Market Street
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 16, 2011

Perfect Location

I was in town for 3 days to attend a conference. This is the second time I decided to stay at the Westin Market Street. First the likes: 1. Perfect location - walking distance from the Moscone Center 2. Typical Westin ammenities such as the heavenly beds, roomy showers, nice desk and flatscreen TV. 3. Friendly, curteous staff 4. Workout room is nicer than most 5. Room service is excellent - tried several dishes Now the dislikes: 1. They charge for Internet and it is SLOW. 2. Poor cellular signal in the room 3. They wire up the snacks like I am a common thief Overall a good experience. I prefer it to the neighboring W hotel because the rooms are larger. 3. 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moscone Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central valley, ca
Apr 24, 2011

Great hotel

We attended a Braves vs Giants game and my wife and I decided to stay at the Westin....best place and was very close to the stadium. Rooms were great with an amazing view of the city. Only down fall was parking was a little pricey, 50 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MsPR
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2011

Friendly Staff and Great Location

Upgraded to corner room with great view of bay and AT&T stadium. Breakfast Buffet at hotel restaurant for $24 but worth the money and attentive staff. California Pizza Kitchen, Subway, Quiznos within steps of front door. Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and very hot showers, very large flat screen in room. Great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to shops off Powell St. You can walk to the Ferry Building as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Apr 11, 2011

Fabulous Experience

The Westin was a fabulous experience! I was in San Fran for pleasure with my mother. I think the best part of the Westin was the beds :) It sounds silly, but I slept like a baby every night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a great time at At&t Park. It's not far from our hotel. Fun times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 22, 2011

great rooms, convenient location

arriving late the staff at reception were great recommending good nearby restaurants. We took their advice and were not disappointed. Nice rooms with floor to ceiling windows giving great views. Certainly would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a couple of blocks a host of restaurants of diverse culture and all excellent and well priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andychn
Business
santa rosa,ca
Mar 8, 2011

Wesrin mkt st

Not bad. Fair restaurant with a good bar. Pricing inline with the area. Real close to lots of great stuff in particular SFMOMA, Yerba Buena Center, Masconi center and the heart of mkt st. Bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Doshi
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 5, 2011

Central Location. Nice Rooms.

Lots of good places to eat or shop within walking distance. The Moscone Center is close by if you are attending a conference in the city. The room I got was spacious and neat. However, no free internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I rely on reviews
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2011

The Westin is always a good choice!

The Westin was a geat place to stay. We reserved a traditional king room. They gave us a corner room on the 5th floor. The lay out was really different and roomy with the corner being like a 60 degree angel. There were three floor to ceiling windows surronding the room; two against the flat part of the building facing directly down a side street and one on the other side of the corner, it was nice! All the expected amenities were great! The bed was comphy cozy! No fancy interior design quality but still very relaxing and classy. Location is really nice with a lot of food choices on the same block and a pricey but very conveinient liquor store right next door. We parked right across the street in the parking garage behind office depot (kinda out of place, make a right after OD and its on your right) for MUCH cheaper then the hotel charges. Not sure about in and out priv. but if your looking to leave your ride for the weekend it is FOR SURE the cheapest! Taxi rides around town were not often more then 6 to 10 bucks and buses are in the area. Yes, if you are on the 5th floor you can hear traffic noise. But if your having enough fun, it wont matter! The one frustration was as follows; dont take anything out of the unlocked fridge full of goodies cause it automaticaly charges you! We didnt read this until after we put our own drinks in for a cool down. So I had to call the front desk to make sure I didnt get charged a crazy amount for some sparkling water. They left me on hold for I swear 10+ minutes and like 7 the second time I rang after getting sick of waiting. There were two people up there when checking in and it was just a little bit slow, but really extreamly friendly. Anyway, the Westin Union Square is real nice and a very pleasant stay! I recommend it for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Herst Parking Garage. Make a right right after office depot and the entrance is on your right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KayLuv
Business
Ontario, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price!

Great location, walking distance to Union Square and the Cable Car station, not to mention there are restaurants all around so if you're hungry you don't have to go a distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Cable Car station on Market and buy the 3 day pass or depending how long you'll be staying, it's much more easier to get around on the Cable Cars and bus transportation than driving if you don't know your way around. Also, if you have an iPhone USE THE MAPS APP, it was very helpful for me and my boyfriend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top