$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

The Westin San Francisco Market Street

4 stars
50 Third Street, 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
186 reviews
Amazing SF Visit

Our visit to San Francisco was perfect! The check in process was quick and easy! Great location! See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 26, 2014
Amazing trip

The moment we arrived we knew we would have a great stay. Fruit infused water was available as soon... See full review

  • Travel lover84
  • Aug 24, 2014
Sophisticated urban oasis with sweeping views in SoMa's Museum Row

Formerly known as the Argent, the Westin San Francisco Market Street has been rebranded over the course of the last decade. The result: a sophisticated, urban oasis in the middle of what locals call Museum row, a stretch that includes the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. Both the lobby and guest rooms are sleek and modern; art in public areas is from Roy Lichtenstein and other iconic artists. Ducca, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary Northern Italian food and has a lively bar scene on weekends.

Highlights
  • Impressive array of public art by artists such as David Hockney and Roy Lichtenstein
  • Within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center
  • Cocktails and Italian cuisine at Ducca, the on-site restaurant
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations -- 676 rooms, including 24 suites -- feature sweeping city views and floor-to-ceiling windows through which to enjoy them. Rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, signature Westin Heavenly beds, mini bars and in-room safes. Most of the corner units are suites. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Westin San Francisco Market Street abuts a public park that sits between San Francisco's Contemporary Jewish Museum and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts. The Moscone Convention Center is within walking distance, as well.

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four-Diamond Award.

Grab a bite at Ducca, which specializes in Northern Italian cuisine and has a boisterous bar scene on weekend nights.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

All guests receive complimentary access to Westin Workout powered by Reebok, a state-of-the-art fitness center with cardio and weight machines, as well as televisions. The hotel also provides massage service at a modest day spa (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • On-site business center
  • 23,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 9,000-square-foot Metropolitan Ballroom

Hotel Map

37.787 -122.4029
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 24.14, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin San Francisco Market Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin San Francisco Market Street Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

MaSo
Meet and mingle in the relaxed atmosphere of MaSo Bar, Lounge and Terrace while you enjoy delicious bites from sustainable sources, a local wine, or an innovative cocktail. A glass-walled private dining room is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Briguy1230
San Dimas, California
Apr 23, 2012

A great family trip

Had a great experience and this hotel the people are very nice theres a CPK and a Starbucks across the street so that is a plus! Umm the Vallet was great a little expensive for full size trucks but the service was absolutely awesome and ill most definitely come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Chinatown! Absolutely incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giant Jim
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 3, 2010

My Trip

Had a wonderful stay at The Westin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2010

Just Okay

The San Francisco trip was purely vacation and we managed a lot of tourist events. The hotel was nothing special, it was not all that clean. The door to the bathroom did not open all the way. The bathtub leaked just from taking a shower. The concierge was very busy, but not that friendly and did not take any extra effort to find answers to questions if he/she did not know them. The vacation was great, but I would not recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go to ALcatraz, get tickets online. You will have to purchase a package to get there otherwise. The tickets are sold out a week or more in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pdoody
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Very nice hotel, friendly staff

Hotel provided a perfect jumping off point for sightseeing around SF. Clean rooms, courteous staff, and a fantastic (if slightly pricey) breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka, KS
Jul 28, 2010

Convenient to Moscone Center

Great hotel for a conference stay. Close enough to Moscone Center to allow brisk walk to/from the conference. Within walking distance of many attractions (SFMOMA, AT&T Park, etc.) and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to pack toiletries & other sundries. Otherwise, you'll have to walk around the corner to Walgreens to buy them, because the hotel doesn't carry them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickeyp
Business
Naples, Florida
Jul 27, 2010

Great location for the price

The Westin Hotel`s location was perfect. Just around the corner (several city blocks away) is Union Square, where the cable car station is located to get you to Fisherman`s wharf. The lines to take the 45 minute ride might look daunting, but move right along. Coming back to Union Square the lines are shorter. Across the street, for any type of dinning is the Grove. Food is good, try the OJ.Next door is Peets, for pastery,coffee and the like. You will see homeless people, but they are kept away from the entrance and interior of the Hotel. The Hotel was perfect for us, spotless,super clean and new modern decor. Great view from the 20th floor. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manduchita
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 17, 2010

Magnificent!

Our stay was fabulous, we loved this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2010

Nice location, not a warm staff

I didn't feel welcomed by any of the front desk staff. No one (event the housekeeper) said hello to me in passing or even acknowledged me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2010

It was not at all what I expected!!

I booked this hotel because I have a friend in the industry that works at the Hard Rock in San Diego and when I rattled off a few names of hotels she said the Westin would be a nice place. Things started out well. The Concierge that was working on Thursday ([...]) was so nice and extremely helpful! I made my reservation on 4/21 and then called the hotel a week prior to arrival to ensure that the reservation was still there and to let them know we'd be a late arrive due to when our flight got into San Francisco etc. Upon arrival it was clear the woman behind the desk did not have a room for us. She tried to make small talk but it took over then minutes for her to find something. She also tried to put me in a disabled room which clearly both myself and my guest were not disabled in the least. After flying, riding the bart and walking from the station to the hotel as a guest you want it to go as smoothly as possible. The check-in person finally gave us the room. It was #1008. It was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in at ANY hotel. Not only was the shower curtain not put on properly the bathroom was so small two people could not fit in there at the same time. The shower itself was clearly dirty and without getting too graphic I will just leave it at that. What was out our window was a giant parking garage. Unfortunately by this time it was 10:00pm and the last thing after traveling and having to deal with the check-in process we just put our bags down and stayed in the room. The next day we had reservations over at the Exploratium very early so we had no choice but to get up and leave right away. Upon our return in the afternoon I walked past a room with an open door across the hallway from mine 1009 and the room was a regular room. As you can imagine I was greatly disappointed. I alerted one of the concierges of my disappointment. He got the Assistant Manager on duty [...]. He came out...barely looked me in the eye and just said I'm sorry you are disappointed with your room. If you had brought this up sooner then I could have done something and he left it at that. It was very clear that he didn't seem to care that I was dissatisfied and he was the encompassing reflection of the hotel and how they were going to make an attempt at fixing it. He did not offer anything. I had two of the worst night's sleep I have ever had at a hotel. I woke up sore both nights because the bed was not soft and the pillows were extremely hard. Apparently guests are allowed to have parties in their rooms until nearly 4am. Overall I am very dissatisfied with the hotel. I had heard the Westin represented class and was more of a higher end hotel however, I have had a better experience at a Holiday Inn. Maybe if something were to be done to help rectify this awful stay I would consider letting this establishment fix the experience I had however, at this point I will share with everyone I know this experience there and at this point I will avoid staying at another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akemi81
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Downtown Gem

Conveniently located near multiple MUNI/BART stops, and Union Square/SF Shopping Center. Our room had a great view of the city and Yerba Buena Gardens (we stayed on the 22nd floor). Liked the in-room Starbucks coffee and late checkout. The room was a bit on the small side, and the bed was not as comfortable as other reviewers made it out to be - just a normal bed. The maids kept turning down the a/c so the room was hot every time we walked back in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin San Francisco Market Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cyberman
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 12, 2010

Admire just the lobby

The good. I stayed at this hotel for WWDC 2010. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was always clean. The bad. The view from my room was awful. They said I would have floor to celling windows, which was true, but they did not say that the I would be looking at the office depot public parking. The hotel "nickel and dime"s you for just about everything. There is no free wireless. Not even in the lobby (which BTW is pretty much standard every where else); the price is kind of expensive at $15 per 24 hours for only about 200kbps speeds. Room service was pretty expensive also. I think I paid about $30 for a sandwich (after adding all fees and gratitude). In fact, I was kind of surprised that I did not had to pay extra for using the exercise room. Parking is also really expensive even if you are a guest, which for the price of the rooms I would expect at least a bit of discount. This is the first time that I've stayed at this hotel, and although I was a little disappointed, for the most part I was satisfied. However I am not sure if I will stay at this hotel again as I think you get more bang for your buck at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Feng restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top