$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Stanford Court

4 stars
905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
178 reviews
Excellent

everything is perfect. Accomodating staff, big rooms, perfect location. See full review

  • Tres marias
  • Dec 5, 2014
Great Bay Area hotel

Good, friendly service and staff, beautiful rooms, great location centrally located See full review

  • Park City Eric
  • Nov 29, 2014
Welcome to the New Nob Hill. Standing as a perfect reflection of the distinguished Nob Hill area in which it resides - elegant, timeless, celebrated, and now, with a $35 million dollar renovation, completely new is The Stanford Court, a Renaissance Hotel. Breathtaking views of the City and the Bay and luxurious surroundings are a few of the many highlights of the contemporary guest rooms at this historic San Francisco hotel. Dine under the Tiffany-style dome in Aurea, one of San Franciscos hottest new restaurants and lounges, and savor the seasonal cuisine that celebrates Bay Area and California culinary artisans. Hop on one of the three Cable Car lines that run directly in front of the hotel and be whisked away to see San Francisco's many attractions. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character, while enjoying the luxurious offerings of The Stanford Court - the New Nob Hill.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanford Court also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Stanford Court Rooms

Standard
Relax in comfort in our luxurious guest rooms. Guests can request king, queen or double guest rooms, with a range of different views. Please specify room type and desired view when booking your room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for The Stanford Court

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 178
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Park City Eric
Business
Park City, Utah
Nov 29, 2014

Great Bay Area hotel

Good, friendly service and staff, beautiful rooms, great location centrally located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFVictorianLover
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 29, 2014

Lovely Stay

Location is absolutely perfect for cable car transit in any direction. Staff was absolutely focused on customer service. Room was spotless. Bed was comfy. I liked the closet/luggage rack/bathroom set up. I did not like that the TV was difficult to view from the bed, even though I am not a big TV watcher, but I suspect it could really bother some people. It was also sort of weird that At the front door, I could not really tell the hotel staff apart from the general public, so it was a little weird at first when they were trying to help me with my luggage and such. Amazingly good quality for what I paid. Could have easily paid twice as much for a room like that in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This is not really the neighborhood for night life, but that also makes it quieter and safer at night, which is good. There are some really nice restaurants, within a couple of blocks, but no theatres or clubs right there. Theatres, clubs, and shopping are a short walk away, but there is a major hill UP to get back to the hotel, so I suggest walking down and taking the cable car up, especially if you have been shopping and carrying bags, or have been out and are wearing heels!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rick the Trainer
Business
Nob Hill
Sep 24, 2014

Skip this hotel..

This hotel is not what it used to be, it has gone through a cheap looking renovation and in the process lost its edge. It felt as ordinary as the clientele who stays there. If you are a discerning person like myself then move on, this is not the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LasVegasTraveler001
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Sep 8, 2014

A GREAT Place To Stay!

From check-in to check-out, my week stay at The Stanford Court was nothing short of amazing. The staff is friendly, the rooms are a bit smaller than the average, but yet VERY clean and cozy. If you are staying in this hotel, you do NOT need a car, this hotel is very centrally located, so you'll be able to walk EVERYWHERE. Tons of restaurants and bars all within a 10 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of shopping and dining opportunities all within a 5-10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadtripper 13
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 8, 2014

Nice, but not fabulous

I spent four nights at this hotel at the end of a 14 day trip from Seattle to San Francisco. I had really been looking forward to my stay here. I had spent days researching hotels in the city and decided to pay extra to stay in this hotel, and I must admit I was a bit disappointed. In general, it was a nice hotel with a great location, but it fell short of my expectations, particularly for how much it cost. The room: The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. However, it was much smaller than I'd imagined (the pictures are very deceiving), and the decor and furnishings are rather outdated. Service/Amenities: The maid service was okay, but I was surprised they didn't replace the dirty glasses I used or the ice bucket liner. Cable was not HD quality and there was no safe in the room. There was no ice machine on my floor (7th) so I had to take the elevator down to the 1st floor. There were frequest issues with the elevators, and often only 1 out of 3 was working. Staff: The staff members I interacted with were great, and very friendly--particularly the valets. One in particular remembered me from the first day and welcomed me back every time I saw him. The restaurant staff were good and the concierge was helpful. Location: The location was fantastic! Both the California and Powell line cablecars stop right outside. Many of the muni buses stop within a block or two of the hotel (though be prepared that those are steep uphill blocks). Chinatown and Union Square are within very close walking distance, and the historic "Top of the Mark" (cocktail lounge with a 360 view at the top of the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental Hotel) is right next door. All in all, this hotel provided a comfortable night's sleep and a great starting point for my daily excursions around the city. But the size of the room, the elevator troubles and the lackluster decor and maid service did not live up to the 4-star luxury accommodations I anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave edmunds
Business
Southaven, Mississippi
Jul 30, 2014

Great wedding weekend

Perfect location for my weekend. Not very far from all I needed to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
May 3, 2014

Room with a perfect view and modern classic update

It had been a few years since I had last stayed at the Stanford Court. It has been updated with a lot of high tech touches, modern, fun decor, great open spaces in the lobby and common areas, excellent free wifi, and even Zipcars and a charging station. What else could you ask for? Well I got a room, that eventhough it was only on the 3rd floor had a view of the SF Bay, Transamerica Tower, BofA World HQ building, etc. Under my windows were the cable car tracks, and I could walk out and go to my right and catch either the California St. or Powell St. Lines. What a perfect SF experience. Thank you! I will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Stem restaurant on Market St & Yerba Buena and Sears Fine Foods for Breakfast down the street is legendary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. D 285
Business
San Jose, California
Mar 25, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Great place to stay for the weekend. A little pricey but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 3123
Business
San Francisco
Mar 13, 2014

They charged me too much for storing my luggage

Everything else was good except for that. They were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James Goodie
Business
New Zealand
Jan 4, 2014

Great spot

Superb locality. I had a room with a view but the trade-off was noise from the cable cars till midnight. Wasn't too loud and hey, that's San Fran! Helpful and friendly staff also assisted the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top