$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Stanford Court

4 stars
905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Loved this hotel!

Me and my friend stayed here and it was both of our first time in SanFran. We both agreed, we'd... See full review

  • Sandy East Coast
  • Apr 17, 2014
Perfect

This Hotel was great! Clean and Comfy! I travel every week for work and this hotel was just... See full review

  • SDJFKYYZ
  • Apr 7, 2014
Take a well-deserved break and lounge at this sharp hotel
 

The Stanford Court Renaissance San Francisco Hotel has gone through a recent renaissance, and an ultramodern facelift has given it a prominent place in the city skyline. Leland Stanford's historic mansion offers a few extra bonuses for people staying here, including Aurea, the trendy restaurant and illuminated wine-centric lounge, as well as an impressive and majestic stained glass courtyard dome. The Stanford Court Renaissance San Francisco Hotel also provides complimentary shuttle service to the Financial District, perfect for business travelers.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Modern amenities and comforts guarantee a luxurious stay
  • Steps away to fine dining and world famous lounges
  • Spacious rooms and luxurious surroundings
Stanford Court Renaissance San Francisco Hotel Rooms
 The rooms at the Stanford Court Renaissance San Francisco Hotel are every bit as elegant as its exterior. This eight-story mansion offers 293 guest rooms, all equipped with modern amenities. Elegant bedding with high thread counts and large LCD TVs come as standard here, as do heated towel racks and fine toiletries. Guests who need to stay connected take advantage of the wired and wireless Internet access. All guests can use the wake-up service and get complimentary cups of coffee or tea in the morning. A $35 million USD renovation has left the Stanford Court Renaissance San Francisco Hotel with modern, comfortable furnishings throughout.
Things To Do:

  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • 555 California Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Culture Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

The Stanford Court Rooms

Standard
Relax in comfort in our luxurious guest rooms. Guests can request king, queen or double guest rooms, with a range of different views. Please specify room type and desired view when booking your room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanford Court also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.792 -122.4097
Area served
An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building
Nearby airports
SFO- 14.7 Miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for The Stanford Court

Overall score

4.3 / 5
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Zeev the Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 8, 2014

Great option in SF

To sum it up: great location, great staff, beautiful hotel. Details: Located at California and Powell, next to other 5 star hotels, so location is premium. Walking distance from Union Square. Breakfast setup is basic and somewhat pricey, but you can walk to one of the diners down the street, 2-3 blocks away. I walked to the Moscone Center and meetings at SOMA; it's a 25 min walk, and coming back it's uphill (steep!), but if you like walking like I do, it's fine. My room faced Powell and was a bit noisy but the view of city was amazing. Loved it and will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears diner is three blocks down the street. Great place, good prices, great for breakfast!

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
SDJFKYYZ
San Diego, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect

This Hotel was great! Clean and Comfy! I travel every week for work and this hotel was just perfect! No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Huntski
Blue Hill, Maine
Dec 3, 2013

Grand Old Hotel

Yummy feather beds, gorgeous two sided views from the top floor corner room, beautiful Tiffany domes, heated towel racks, terrific restaurant, oodles of outlets for our many chargers, and a congenial staff all combine to make this a delightful hotel in an ideal location in the Nob Hill area. The only negative is the lack of room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

In lieu of room service, the restaurant will package your meal so that it can be carried back to your room.

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
James Goodie
New Zealand
Jan 4, 2014

Great spot

Superb locality. I had a room with a view but the trade-off was noise from the cable cars till midnight. Wasn't too loud and hey, that's San Fran! Helpful and friendly staff also assisted the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
jean jac
sonoma county
Dec 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience

We loved everything at the Stanford Court Hotel, perfect location, beautiful room, wonderful, helpful staff, great food at a reasonable price. We will be back! Would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
LaurenG
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 18, 2014

Great stay

We loved staying at the Stanford Court! It was very clean, modern, and they had a great and helpful staff. It is on the very top of Nob Hill so be sure to take a taxi or the trolley up to the hotel, don't try walking it like we did with suitcases and a baby in tow. The rooms were great, very clean, and quiet. They provided a pack and play for our daughter. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is in a very safe and centrally located area, right next to two trolley stops. I would definitely stay here again. On the way back to the airport we had the concierge book us a town car which was well worth it. Also, be sure to stop at the concierge's desk for ideas and advice about what attractions to see and the best way to get around the city. We highly recommend buying the 3 day trolley/bus pass from walgreens. It was around $25 per person. We also did a hop on hop off bus tour that was great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Apr 30, 2011

April 2011 stay @ Renaissance

The hotel was great (staff, food, cleanliness of rooms, etc.) and the location is excellent. Walking distance to all the great sites, food, shopping and public transportation. There is free Internet in the common area but you have to pay for it in your room. The hotel also offers a complementary town car if you're traveling within 3 miles of the hotel. One caveat is that the hotel request that you reserve the room with an actual credit card vs. a debit card because the debit cards will get charged $100/day for incidentals. (movies, long distance calls, etc.) However the CC will simply be held on the account and not charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the curbside restaurant on 2400 block of California Ave. Great little restaurant.

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
SF Bay Area, CA
Mar 20, 2011

The Stanford Court is a very nice hotel

We didn't have time to hang out in the hotel or the hotel room, but we wished that we did. It was so comfortable and cozy. The room was at least as nice as nearby hotels on Nob Hill, but the rate was more reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 8, 2011

Great Quick Stay!

We were in and gone very quickly but this was a great Hotel. The Staff was professional and friendly and The beds were great!! When we woke in the morning we had an amazing view of the Bay. Overall great stay! We did not use any dining services, hence the lower scote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Rooseville,CA
Apr 12, 2010

Nice stay

Beautiful hotel with great staff. The women at the front desk was very accommodating. The room was very nicely decortated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top