$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Stanford Court

4 stars
905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
196 reviews
Excellent Nob Hill Experience

One night getaway in the City. The Stanford was clean, comfortable and in a great, safe location.... See full review

  • tmsoap
  • Jul 15, 2014
Loved this hotel!

My daughter and I stayed here while loooking at colleges. The staff was warm and attentive, and the... See full review

  • Kris in MN
  • Jul 4, 2014
Welcome to the New Nob Hill. Standing as a perfect reflection of the distinguished Nob Hill area in which it resides - elegant, timeless, celebrated, and now, with a $35 million dollar renovation, completely new is The Stanford Court, a Renaissance Hotel. Breathtaking views of the City and the Bay and luxurious surroundings are a few of the many highlights of the contemporary guest rooms at this historic San Francisco hotel. Dine under the Tiffany-style dome in Aurea, one of San Franciscos hottest new restaurants and lounges, and savor the seasonal cuisine that celebrates Bay Area and California culinary artisans. Hop on one of the three Cable Car lines that run directly in front of the hotel and be whisked away to see San Francisco's many attractions. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character, while enjoying the luxurious offerings of The Stanford Court - the New Nob Hill.

Hotel Map

37.792 -122.4097
Area served
An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building
Nearby airports
SFO- 14.7 Miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanford Court also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Stanford Court Rooms

Standard
Relax in comfort in our luxurious guest rooms. Guests can request king, queen or double guest rooms, with a range of different views. Please specify room type and desired view when booking your room

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for The Stanford Court

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zeev the Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 8, 2014

Great option in SF

To sum it up: great location, great staff, beautiful hotel. Details: Located at California and Powell, next to other 5 star hotels, so location is premium. Walking distance from Union Square. Breakfast setup is basic and somewhat pricey, but you can walk to one of the diners down the street, 2-3 blocks away. I walked to the Moscone Center and meetings at SOMA; it's a 25 min walk, and coming back it's uphill (steep!), but if you like walking like I do, it's fine. My room faced Powell and was a bit noisy but the view of city was amazing. Loved it and will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears diner is three blocks down the street. Great place, good prices, great for breakfast!

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris in MN
Eden Prairie, MN
Jul 4, 2014

Loved this hotel!

My daughter and I stayed here while loooking at colleges. The staff was warm and attentive, and the hotel was beautiful. We loved that we were right next to the Fairmnt and Mark Hopkins hotel, but were paying FAR less for our room. Convenient to so many of the great sites San Francisco has to offer, including being right on the cable car line. Outstanding value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT miss the view/food at the Top of The Mark - women, note - you will not be seated if you are wearing short shorts, otherwise its fairly casual.

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roe14
Glen Rock, NJ
Apr 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great staff

Great hotel and staff in a lovely area of San Francisco. Since it's in Nob Hill, a little difficult to walk around because of the extremely steep hills. Otherwise, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxeanne;s Café - great for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SDJFKYYZ
San Diego, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect

This Hotel was great! Clean and Comfy! I travel every week for work and this hotel was just perfect! No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jean jac
sonoma county
Dec 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience

We loved everything at the Stanford Court Hotel, perfect location, beautiful room, wonderful, helpful staff, great food at a reasonable price. We will be back! Would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacob C
Washington DC
Jul 3, 2014

excellent hotel near union sq

this hotel could not have been more perfect. its a beautiful building, professional staff, and conveniently located only a few blocks from unions square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

be careful of "short walks" as the hills in SF can be pretty intense!

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Apr 30, 2011

April 2011 stay @ Renaissance

The hotel was great (staff, food, cleanliness of rooms, etc.) and the location is excellent. Walking distance to all the great sites, food, shopping and public transportation. There is free Internet in the common area but you have to pay for it in your room. The hotel also offers a complementary town car if you're traveling within 3 miles of the hotel. One caveat is that the hotel request that you reserve the room with an actual credit card vs. a debit card because the debit cards will get charged $100/day for incidentals. (movies, long distance calls, etc.) However the CC will simply be held on the account and not charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the curbside restaurant on 2400 block of California Ave. Great little restaurant.

Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF Bay Area, CA
Mar 20, 2011

The Stanford Court is a very nice hotel

We didn't have time to hang out in the hotel or the hotel room, but we wished that we did. It was so comfortable and cozy. The room was at least as nice as nearby hotels on Nob Hill, but the rate was more reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 8, 2011

Great Quick Stay!

We were in and gone very quickly but this was a great Hotel. The Staff was professional and friendly and The beds were great!! When we woke in the morning we had an amazing view of the Bay. Overall great stay! We did not use any dining services, hence the lower scote.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanford Court

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rooseville,CA
Apr 12, 2010

Nice stay

Beautiful hotel with great staff. The women at the front desk was very accommodating. The room was very nicely decortated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top