$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and... See full review

  • fammann919
  • Oct 14, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Hotel Map

37.7833 -122.4175
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport (SFO).
Area description
The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28 The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

1.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 58
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1.3
Value:
1.6

12% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pic the kid
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Oct 9, 2014

Hotel surrounded by homeless people. My wife was scared to death!

Blinds broken, no screens on windows, found hair on my pillow, mold on shower curtain. Not a bargain at all, place looks like it rents by the hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitorkcc
Business
Macau, Macau
Jun 5, 2014

Be careful.

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights (Tues, Wed and Thurs). Nightmare experience. There was no parking on the hotel so you either have use the valet or park on the street. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel so you have to pull forward to load or unload your luggage. I was told you may get a ticket if you stop on the bus stop. I probably got a ticket because of that. A lot of people walking around in the midnight, if you know what i mean. Not the usual neighborhood you would love to stay in. A lot of noise from drunk and cop cars. Busy districts in the early morning. I could not sleep much. Hotel was 2 blocks from city hall and few blocks from the BART. On my second night, my rental car got broken into. So I would not recommend anyone to stay in this area. There were a lot people asking for money and smokes. Finally, room was small with 2 beds, could hardly move around. Shower pressure was low. Building was old. Stairs boards are tilted which makes it hard to walk on. Elevator was old and did not work all the time. The only good things are the breakfast and the big HDTV. The TV is real good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grammy 4
Business
Monterey, California
Feb 25, 2014

Run

Rooms smelled, very loud dripping noise from water heated furnace. Ceiling leaked and holes in the walls. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tracy IM
Business
los angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Think Twice But You Still Might Do It

The biggest problem with this hotel is the location. It is surrounded by derelicts, bums, homeless, beggers, and is almost unsafe. The hotel can't really help this though. What it can control is > room cleanliness - the maid didn't even come one of the days so we eventually just requested towels. The rooms had dust and the kitchen where they served a continental breakfast had bugs > the room was comfortable having said that - but the TV was old, remote didn't work, and the room was cold - although they did provide a portable heater that corrected the problem - the elevator was really old - kids could get their fingers pinched in the metal gate closing - no safety features - the staff though made up for a lot - they were helpful, friendly and very nice to work with. Always helping us with plans, or anything we needed they got for us - had to pay for parking which I was trying to avoid by staying in an outskirts hotel. The cost was the same as staying downtown and would have been far more convenient So I wouldn't stay again which is the big determiner for me. I liked the staff - and wish they were at another hotel - really in a better location. I would probably have gone again - IF the hotel was not surrounded by tons of homeless and feel unsafe especially at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Prebook Alcatraz if that is an attraction you want to see. Book directly with them it is a fraction of the cost of other agencies which offer access to the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
almalily
Business
beijing,china
Jul 16, 2012

This hotel disappointed us a lot

This hotel disappointed us a lot. It is situated at red-light area, full of strangers wandering in the street. Prostitus sitting on the stairs of the hotel. Old elevator, small room, no space to put your cup in the wash room, of course they don't provide cups. Door is not tight, you can see outside even you lock it.Noisy due to poor wall and bad people in the street. I paid before i checked in to the agent company, otherwise i won't stay the full three days.Horrible experience.Parking is 18bucks/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a thai style restaurant is nice just a few minutes walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cocoflowers
Business
Salinas, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great hotel

Good price for a hotel in San Francisco. Hotel was very clean and staff friendly. I would recommend getting back at night in a taxi because of the homeless people on the street. It was walking distance to Union Square so that was a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobuko
Business
Hawaii, USA
Apr 15, 2012

price is ok.

price is ok but hotel is very old. staff is very nice and location is continence . but bath room is terrible. I'm no choice next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beckay
Business
Glendora, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

never again

We arrived at 9:30 am and told us to come back at 2:30 pm and our room will be ready. So we left our bags there and left to go eat we arrived back at 3:30 pm and still our room wasn't ready and told us he was going to have to put a blow up bed because he only had one bed when we specifically asked for two. We were already tired and wanted to go to our room and rest for a while then go back to where we were going. So we decided to just leave that hotel and try to find another. We didn't even stay here and my credit card was already charged before we even got there and it said it was a three star hotel online when it obviously was not it was in a ugly area and we were very upset when we got there and nothing was ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top