$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
64 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and... See full review

  • fammann919
  • Oct 14, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 64
Amenities:
1.7
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
1.9
Location:
1.4
Value:
2

20% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JD1620
Business
New York City
Oct 23, 2014

Awful Experience

DO NOT STAY HERE or in any hotel in the Tenderloin. This hotel is meant for locals that pick up girls and need a quick room. Not for a two-day stay. You've been warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
imagrtguy Bangkok
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel in terrible neighborhood

First, for the pros. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk to Union Square shopping area and the Moscone Center Convention hall. This is a family managed, well maintained hotel. Free breakfast. The rooms were well equipped, with great service, and a fantastic price for San Francisco. Now the cons. Parking is $30 per day, and it took nearly 30 minutes every time I needed it to be brought. There is no self-parking. This is in an absolutely terrible neighborhood. I witnessed a mugging in broad daylight on the block, and saw someone loading a handgun a block away. The streets are full of homeless people/beggers shouting all hours of the day and night. Sirens blast by almost every hour. I never left the hotel at night, because I didn't feel safe during the daytime even. There is little to eat nearby other than Vietnamese food. The KFC/Taco Bell down the block was the filthiest restaurant I have been in ever....with poor service to match. It's a shame because this would be a very nice hotel I would highly recommend if it was in a safer neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the KFC/Taco Bell. Terrible service and absolutely filthy. The health inspector should be put in jail over this place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael the promo lifer
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Great budget hotel

Bare bones little hotel. Heater didn't work in room but they supplied portable space heater immediately. Nice little care package of complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste and usual soap waiting. Cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrCodyD
Business
Seattle
May 4, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Worst experience with a hotel ever... The room had a lot of dirt and the stuff was not friendly at all. Outside had a lot of bums that was really rude. Will not stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SFDC
Business
CA
Nov 25, 2013

Stay at Regency

I stayed at the hotel while attending SFDC Dreamforce event. The area is horrible, never being to SF I was glad that my wife and child didn't join. You almost needed a police escort to leave at night. The amount of homeless and junkies were beyond belief. The staff was nice and accomodating and the room was clean. It was older, the heat turns on like once a night or so, and the faucet didn't work well, but ok overall. While I would recommend this hotel based on the extremely friendly staff, the area is horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Night warrior
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 6, 2013

A shameful place

Cockroaches were in the room. At the entrance were two drunk kids. The place is old and not nice. The breakfast was a farce. Terrible coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZXBC
Business
California
Oct 6, 2013

Awful experience

Would not ever recommend anyone to stay here. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotel Joe
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning - broken blinds - NOISY since windows had to be left open - Transients yelling all night - Homeless on corner - No pug for lamp or microwave - light above vanity didn't work - very little English spoken at front desk - 6 blocks to BART, not close to hotel like stated - raving lunatic in the middle of Eddy St. from 5:30 AM to 7:30 AM The list goes on and on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Need a safe place to stay
Business
Baltimore, MD.
Sep 8, 2013

Horrible, Horrible mistake booking here

The Regency Inn is a terrible hotel! Staff is rude, hotel is in a very unsafe part of town, far from everything. We were stepping over homeless people sleeping in the entrance way of the hotel for gosh sake! Smells of urine. I would guess any decent review of this hotel must be written by staff and family members. I spoke to the General Manager, Rizline Tessoro, and she refused to wave their cancellation policy, even at 9:30 am for THAT NIGHT! Stay away! I am doing you a huge favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas Patron
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 3, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

I stayed here for a business trip and picked this hotel based on its alleged "3 star" rating and the price at the time was most reasonable given the American Cup was going on that week. The location of this place is terrible, right in the heart of the tenderloin and very sketchy. The first room they gave me was on the 2nd floor. It looked (and smelled) like a prison cell. They told me the room was ready but when I walked in, there were no sheets on the second bed and all of the pillows and bedding were thrown onto the other bed. The second room they gave me appeared to be better (at least cleaner), but the walls were paper thin and you could hear every single person yelling outside and every truck that drove by in the middle of the night, and there were many. The pillows and mattress were very uncomfortable. To add insult to injury, I was bitten 7 times from who knows what after sleeping in that bed. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top